Jump to content

SoundMax AD198x - AC97 Sound


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
126 replies to this topic

#101
katmail

katmail

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
HDA SoundMax user try by using Rammjet Method
Others have succeed


How to get HD audio working - sound for ya!!!

1. Delete AppleHDA.kext:
• In Terminal, type:
• sudo rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext
• sudo rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions.mkext
• sudo rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions.kextcache
2) Edit AppleAzaliaAudio.kext:
• In Terminal, type: sudo pico /System/Library/Extensions/AppleAzaliaAudio.kext/Contents/Info.plist
• Search for (use hotkey= ctrl + w):?<key>IOHDAudioCodecVendorID</key>
• change the string to:?<string>0x11D41986</string>
• Exit pico
• sudo pico /System/Library/Extensions/AppleAzaliaAudio.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleAzaliaController.kext/Contents/Info.plist
• Search for (use hotkey= ctrl + w):?<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
• change the string to:?<string>0x32881106</string>
• Exit pico
3) Clean up the system:
• In Terminal, type:
• sudo diskutil repairpermissions /
• sudo kextload /System/Library/Extensions/AppleAzaliaAudio.kext
• kextcache -k /System/Library/Extensions/
4) Then, reboot and enjoy sound out of two channels.



#102
gu3d3s

gu3d3s

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Location:Fort-CE-BR

Hi everyone! First of all I apologize for my bad english.
I have asus p4c800 deluxe with soundmax AC97 (ICH5, string is "24d58086") integrated audio and I can hear good stereo sound and mic works too,



Hi, i have a same hadrware soud, but here mic dont work, you install any kext for your mic work?

please help me!

#103
katmail

katmail

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
Hi Guedes Jr
It has been reported that the Mic i/p is possible in Intel D865perl only through the Front Panel Audio Connector

I read about it ..hope it help

Katmail

Attached Files



#104
gu3d3s

gu3d3s

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Location:Fort-CE-BR
hi katmail,

thantks for you atention!

i will look for this infermations, and try find a front conector for my m.board. but this pictures showed, is a jumper for D865perl. if yes, you can send to me a .pfd copy of manual.

thanks fiend and forgive me for my English!

[]'s

#105
PolishOX

PolishOX

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 240 posts
Not many people have working sound input except a few supported motherboards...

And almost no laptops have working sound in without an external usb audio device...

#106
Horizon135

Horizon135

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
My mobo P5GV-MX.

My sound card is Soundmax ich6

VEN_8086 DEV_2668

e/mail: horizon135@hotmail.com

Please help me!!

Thanks!

#107
3x5a3d

3x5a3d

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
does this driver work with the 1988b sound card? (asus m2n-e motherboard sound)

edit: just a word to say that it works with the M2N-E motherboard sound!

Asus M2N-E On-Board Sound: AD1988b
SoundMAX: VEN_11D4&DEV_198B
M$ High Definition Audio: VEN_10DE&DEV_0371

/System/Library/Extensions/AppleAzaliaAudio.kext/Contents/Info.plist
<key>IOHDAudioCodecVendorID</key>
<string>0x11d4198b</string>

/System/Library/Extensions/AppleAzaliaAudio.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleAzaliaController.kext/Contents/Info.plist
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x037110de</string>

:sorcerer:

#108
semon

semon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
hello, i used Ramjet method with the azalia kext to try to make my Ad1981 working... (11D4, 1981 and 27D8, 8086) it is now detected, i can change the volume with the buttons on my keyboard (i'm on a nc8430 laptop) but no sound is going out through the speakers... Also the LED on the mute button is always on... Anyone have a clue on how i can have sound ?

#109
programgeniusyu

programgeniusyu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgrade, Serbia
OK... I`m all over... I`m for the first time, in my all life, try to make Windoze out from myComp, i successeed so far... and stuck with sound...

on other HD 250Gb i have
:-( vista rc2 64bit, and on thee other HD 250Gb :-)
MAC OS X 10.4.8. Intel....

I figured out with your help and help of others (sorry for my Eng.) install and graphic and network and USB... aaaaahhhhh... dayssss..... BUT!!! Need Help on

SoundMax Integ. Digit. Aud. ICH7
ADI 1986A
ven ID 11D4
Dev ID 1986
Sub sys 1043818F
Rev_1005

If Any ....... PLEASEeeeeee...>!!!! Help me.... I want mic and soround... Here is my files....

Attached File  myMAC.jpg   153.34KB   309 downloads

Attached File  AppleAC97Audio.kext.zip   87.74KB   133 downloads

#110
programgeniusyu

programgeniusyu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgrade, Serbia
ooooo brother..... I try and try,... ad still no sound..... :-(

#111
philippe94

philippe94

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Hello, all of U

I can guarantee, IT WORKS !! That's G-R-E-A-T !!!

First, my config:

Asus K8V-X SE (K8T800 // North Chipset = VIA VT8383 Apollo K8T800 - South Chipset = VIA VT8237)
AMD 64 (ClawHammer Cache Level 2 = 512 // Socket 754 // Instructions Set =x86, x86-64, MMX, 3DNow!, SSE, SSE2 MhZ)
MSI NX6200AX (NVIDIA GeForce 6200) (256 MB)
1024 DDR SDRAM (400 MhZ PC3200)
Soundmax Integrated Devices AD1888
HP PSC 1350 (works fine!)
2 DDs (Maxtor 80 Go = XPSP2 (2 partitions, one for data NTFS) // Seagate 80 Go, 3 partitions = 1. Vista Utlimate, 2. Mac OSX 10.4.8 (JaS DVD), 3. one partition FAT32 for datas
2 optical drives : NEC DVD_RW ND-3500AG (fully working!), DVD-16X DVD-ROM BDV316E (not test yet)
USB 6 ports = works
Firewire IEEE 1394 compatible NEC OHCI works !
And VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter => works /w Pinxue kexts (thanks!)

Let's me tell u, now:
One day I decided to installa OSX x86, so I download the JaS 10.4.8 DVD and brun it and ... Go. No problem with installation but after the first boot = no sound and no network. Tnhe network case, easy with Pinxue kexts and some commands in the terminal. But for the sound, it was a big, big problem for me. But the solution was so easy, so easy.

I have the AppleAC97AudioVia.kext with my Vendor // Device ID (11063059) which is already downloaded. But with the AppleAC97Codec198x.kext, what am I suppose to do?? Edit and enter my ID Vendor?? Try, but nothong happened. Need help, simply.

So, I search on the web. I tried some methods, but no results, no sound. One week, without sleeping. Then, today, I read (not for the first time, 'course) the Info.plist in it. And I try to search by Google (Oh, dear friend Google! I love U!!) with this key = ADS74! And I find this forum (I knew it before, but??).

I read and I try without believing. After the commands, no sound.
I reboot and ... and .. and .. sound works !!! GREAT !!
With 5 words (my Soundcard is an Analog Devices AD1888 and the Codec ID is 41445368h,so I write ADS68 in Info.plist first in the line, before the other ADSxx), I have sound.
That's Incredible, but sound works.

GREAT THANKS FOR THAT, LUCOSE!!

#112
chuuey

chuuey

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts

ooooo brother..... I try and try,... ad still no sound..... :-(

I'm not sure about that card of yours, but i have a similar one, 1988b and I edited the AppleAzaliaAudio.kext to get any sound, since Tarugas patch doesn't work for my card yet, you need to edit the info.plist in main AppleAzaliaAudio and in it's plugins file called AppleAzaliaController, it gave me 2 speakers output, no mic or any other i/o 's. Good luck

#113
Panchus

Panchus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I tryed Katmail method but I get this error when I put:

• sudo kextload /System/Library/Extensions/AppleAzaliaAudio.kext
• kextcache -k /System/Library/Extensions/

I dont Know why....

katMail? any advice?

thanks

Attached Files



#114
katmail

katmail

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
Hi Panchus

Try to refer this link

http://forum.insanel...&...st&p=232935

refer your error

Try type in Terminal for permission errors


sudo chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions
sudo rm -R /System/Library/Extensions.kextcache
sudo rm -R /System/Library/Extensions.mkext

and do a reboot

Hope it help

regards

#115
Kashif Riaz

Kashif Riaz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi,

i can see the volume bar, but no Sound, cannot play no video files either !!! vlc player chrashes

after reading this forum, i found out that you have to do some thing in terminal application & edit some .kext file ?? can some one please help me with that ? i mean atleat my sound, PLEASEE

my System Specs are


Description: SoundMAX Digital Audio
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24D5&SUBSYS_01D51028&REV_02
Manufacturer ID: 65535
Product ID: 65535

I have deleted all ATI files as well, but still no sound, but a working bar, please can some one get my sound back, i will not give up on mac,Never, one way or another i will get my sound on mac, by the way i have jas 10.4.7 , thanks

#116
Dennny

Dennny

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
i have soundmax hd soundcard manufacture id-65535 product id -65535 adi 1986a 6 channel audio hdaudio/func_01ven_11d4dev the motherboard is a asus-p5pl2 everything works i upgrade to 10.4.9 fix the usb the only thing i cant never get to work is the audio can someone help me thanks

#117
ergosteur

ergosteur

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brampton, Ontario, Canada
hi
i have a asus p5l-mx with a soundmax AD1986A onboard. the Analog devices website http://www.analog.co...AD1986A,00.html says that the 1986a has "HD Audio and AC '97 Compliant CODEC". does this mean it can use either AC97 or Azalia/hi-def drivers? could i go through the procedures in this thread to get my mic in working (sound out works following realtek 8xx procedure). in Windows, I have it installed as Intel High Definition audio.

#118
Andreas Syrigos

Andreas Syrigos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Greetings to all.

I have a Toshiba Tecra M2 laptop with OS X 10.4.8 loaded on top. Everything working fine apart from the sound :)
It has a SoundMax AD1981B according to Device Mgr under WinXP and Ellata. Vendor id is 8086 and device id is 24C5.
I have updated the appropriate files, Info.plist file under AppleAC97AudioIntelICH.kext with 24c58086 for ICH4 and under AppleAC97CodecAD198x.kext with ADS74 according to the AD1981B.pdf I got from www.analog.com

Forced a kextload -t AppleAC97CodecAD198x.kext and didn't see any errors. It loaded successfully and kextstat reported it.

Then did the right clean up:

sudo chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions
sudo rm -R /System/Library/Extensions.kextcache
sudo rm -R /System/Library/Extensions.mkext

and do a reboot hoping my sound would work. After the reboot I went to System Preferences -> Sound but there is no Output Sound device :P

Starting to debug this and did a kextstat again. I got this:

[codebox]asyrigos$ kextstat |grep 97
53 1 0x2c689000 0xd000 0xc000 com.apple.driver.AppleAC97Audio (1.0.0) <52 11>
54 0 0x2c696000 0x4000 0x3000 com.apple.driver.AppleAC97AudioIntelICH (1.0.0) <53 16 11>[/codebox]

This is showed after the reboot but if I run it 10 mins after the reboot these disappear! Is it cause they are not used?

Anyway I did also an ioreg -l and didn't get any AC97 info. Just this:

[codebox] | | +-o ASND@1F,5
| | | {
| | | "device-id" =
| | | "vendor-id" = <86800000>
| | | "IOName" = "pci8086,24c5"
| | | "subsystem-vendor-id" = <79110000>
| | | "Power Management protected data" = "{ theNumberOfPowerStates =$
| | | "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/ASND@1f0005"
| | | "acpi-reg" = <00fd0000>
| | | "reg" = <00fd00000000000000000000000000000000000010fd0001000000$
| | | "revision-id" = <03000000>
| | | "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
| | | "class-code" = <00010400>
| | | "IOInterruptControllers" = ("8259-pic")
| | | "subsystem-id" = <46020000>
| | | "Power Management private data" = "{ this object = 02c20780, in$
| | | "compatible" = <"pci1179,246","pci8086,24c5","pciclass,040100">
| | | "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<0b00000007000000>)
| | | "name" = "pci8086,24c5"
| | | }
[/codebox]

Any idea how to debug this further?

Thanx

#119
Andreas Syrigos

Andreas Syrigos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Bump for the question above, in case anyone can help???

Any debug info would be appreciated!

#120
fabeffex

fabeffex

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
i have same problem and same device of Andreas Syrigos...please help!

Andreas Syrigos: i thinks the problem is that the AD1981B need to enable external amplifier...i must do it in linux for have a sound....but in this forum no one can how fix this problem.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy