Jump to content

GA-EX58 and GA-X58A DSDT native power management modifications


  • Please log in to reply
1469 replies to this topic

#1221
Windows04

Windows04

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
Having some issues getting my sound to fully work on Lion DP3, since i'm using Dood's DSDT, i thought this was the right place to ask it.

I have an GA-EX58-UD5 and on my Snow Leopard I'm currently using the D option (which outputs analog 7.1) together with the updated LegacyHDA.kext from x.di (post 686). It works very well in Snow Leopard.

In Lion, when I try to use the same method, my sound is recognized in system report, but I don't get any sound options in system preferences... When I don't use LegacyHDA.kext in S/L/E (so only using the DSDT for sound), I do get 3 sound options in system preferences (headphones/line out/digital out)...

So I'm guessing it's a problem with the kext, maybe it needs to be recompiled for Lion or something (yeah, my knowledge about kexts doesn't go that far)...

Dood, x.di any ideas? Thanks ;)

#1222
@ROBASEFR

@ROBASEFR

    @ROBASEFR

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Having some issues getting my sound to fully work on Lion DP3, since i'm using Dood's DSDT, i thought this was the right place to ask it.


Look here:ALC889a/885 solutions for Lion

;)

#1223
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

Look here:ALC889a/885 solutions for Lion

I'd suggest going to the source, tmongkol's thread;
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=140941

#1224
ed_co

ed_co

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 187 posts
Nevermind.

#1225
@ROBASEFR

@ROBASEFR

    @ROBASEFR

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

I'd suggest going to the source, tmongkol's thread;
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=140941


Sorry,

You’re absolutely right, didn't knew the source!


Thank you

#1226
aschar1

aschar1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
Lion and 10.6.8 AppleHDA.Kext doesnt work with legacy kexts anymore.

Apple moved parts of the plists to 2 xml files (platforms.xml and layoutid.xml in Ressources. We cant inject into these xml files as we could with the plists.

Attached is a modded AppleHDA.kext (Lion DP3) for ALC889a. It needs DSDT modification HDEF with layout id 12. Credit goes to the King. Replace the AppleHDA.kext in S/L/E and remove the applehda legacy kext from /Extra/Extensions and create new Extensions.mkext Attached File  applehda_liondp3_layoutid12.zip   1.57MB   100 downloads.

#1227
jhrfc

jhrfc

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk
Hi all,
Just a heads up for people using these DSDT mods with Lion. Even with a modded RTC entry in DSDT, I found I got a CMOS reset on reboot, after I had slept and woke the system. However there is a thread that details this, and a fix is available by patching AppleRTC.kext which works for me in Lion DP4.

http://www.insanelym...p;#entry1689815

Cheers
Jon

#1228
Rankrotten

Rankrotten

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:UK
Updated to 10.6.8 and I seem to have lost my power management.

Running 6-8C hotter at idle and no indication of turbo ratios 1112 on bootup.

Anyone else experiencing similar?

#1229
aikidoka25

aikidoka25

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 356 posts
I have this in kernel.log after upgraded to 10.6.8
Jun 23 19:20:41 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: Turbo Ratios 0001
Jun 23 19:20:41 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun  7 2011) initialization complete

UPDATE: The sound is back after I fixed the DSDT to follow option D from post #1
there are "Sound assertion" messages but the sound seems good
Jun 23 19:55:09 GigaMacPro kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == fMikeyDriver" failed in AppleHDADriver at line 1485 goto handler
Jun 23 19:55:10 GigaMacPro kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != result" failed in AppleHDAWidget at line 3866 goto handler
Jun 23 19:55:10 GigaMacPro kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != widget->setUnsolicited ( true )" failed in AppleHDACodecGeneric at line 1153 goto handler

below is before I fixed the DSDT
and the sound is gone
un 23 19:20:53 GigaMacPro kernel[0]: ** Device in slot: SLOT-1 **
Jun 23 19:20:55 GigaMacPro kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != result" failed in AppleHDADriver at line 883 goto Exit
Jun 23 19:20:55 GigaMacPro kernel[0]: Sound assertion "!me->fKextResourceLoaded" failed in AppleHDADriver at line 858 goto Exit


#1230
aschar1

aschar1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
10.6.8 AppleHDA.kext no sound assertions for alc889a

http://www.mediafire...199sg2w2zze5df4

modded are
1. Platforms.xml in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources
2. Layout12.xml in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources
3. info.plist in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver.kext/Contents


needs DSDT edit HDEF patch with layout id 12 (0x0C)

replace AppleHDA.kext in S/L/E and remove legacy kext from extra/extensions -repair permisssions

#1231
Rankrotten

Rankrotten

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:UK

I have this in kernel.log after upgraded to 10.6.8

Jun 23 19:20:41 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: Turbo Ratios 0001
Jun 23 19:20:41 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun  7 2011) initialization complete


Right, thanks for the pointer. I also have Turbo Ratios 0001 in kernel.log and can see that speedstepping is active by looking at IO Reg's APCI_SMC_PlatformPlugin CPUPlimit which returns 0x0.

My temps are consistently 6C higher than with 10.6.7
Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: [ PCI configuration begin ]Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: Turbo Ratios 0001Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun  7 2011) initialization completeJun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: console relocated to 0xf10000000Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: PCI configuration changed (bridge=7 device=3 cardbus=0)RTC: Only single RAM bank (128 bytes)Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: [ PCI configuration end, bridges 13 devices 32 ]Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: mbinit: done (64 MB memory set for mbuf pool)Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: From path: "uuid", Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: Waiting for boot volume with UUID 95XXXD99-376E-3X11-XXXX-4XXXXXXXXXJun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: Waiting on <dict ID="0"><key>IOProviderClass</key><string ID="1">IOResources</string><key>IOResourceMatch</key><string ID="2">boot-uuid-media</string></dict>Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: FakeSMC: Opensource SMC device emulator by netkas © 2009Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: FakeSMC: Monitoring plugins support by mozodojo © 2010Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: FakeSMC: Original idea of plugins and code sample by usr-sse2 © 2010Jun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: com.apple.AppleFSCompressionTypeZlib kmod startJun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: com.apple.AppleFSCompressionTypeZlib load succeededJun 23 23:01:48 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready


#1232
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

10.6.8 AppleHDA.kext no sound assertions for alc889a

http://www.mediafire...199sg2w2zze5df4

modded are
1. Platforms.xml in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources
2. Layout12.xml in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources
3. info.plist in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver.kext/Contents


needs DSDT edit HDEF patch with layout id 12 (0x0C)

replace AppleHDA.kext in S/L/E and remove legacy kext from extra/extensions -repair permisssions

Thanks aschar1.

Updated to 10.6.8 and I seem to have lost my power management.

Running 6-8C hotter at idle and no indication of turbo ratios 1112 on bootup.

Anyone else experiencing similar?

Does adding the following to com.apple.Boot.plist give you CStates for lower CPU temperatures (see post 1, notes 5 and 21);
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>yes</string>

CSTInfo has been renamed to AICPMVers in ioreg at IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/CPU0@0/AppleACPICPU/ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin as of 10.6.8.

As for the missing turbo multipliers seen in kernel.log, looking in ioreg at IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/CPU0@0/AppleACPICPU/ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin I still see 10 values in the PState's PerformanceStateArray, so the message may be only cosmetic and not functional.

#1233
Rankrotten

Rankrotten

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:UK

Thanks aschar1.

Does adding the following to com.apple.Boot.plist give you CStates for lower CPU temperatures (see post 1, notes 5 and 21);
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>yes</string>

CSTInfo has been renamed to AICPMVers in ioreg at IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/CPU0@0/AppleACPICPU/ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin as of 10.6.8.

As for the missing turbo multipliers seen in kernel.log, looking in ioreg at IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/CPU0@0/AppleACPICPU/ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin I still see 10 values in the PState's PerformanceStateArray, so the message may be only cosmetic and not functional.


Thanks, already had
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>yes</string>
in com.apple.Boot.plist

I'm also seeing the same values in ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin, can't yet understand why temps are higher, very puzzling.
Attached File  Screen_shot_2011_06_24_at_17.39.17.png   252.33KB   72 downloads

#1234
FUT1L1TY

FUT1L1TY

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
I just checked my kernel log and found that I haven't had turbo ratios since June 17. I don't remember making any changes on that day. What's interesting is that you can see the log message changed on the 23rd when I installed 10.6.8. Any thoughts?

[codebox]Jun 17 13:00:06 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: Turbo Ratios 1112
Jun 17 13:00:06 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: initialization complete
Jun 17 13:00:06 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Jun 17 15:26:58 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: initialization complete
Jun 17 15:26:58 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Jun 17 18:25:11 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: initialization complete
Jun 17 18:25:11 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Jun 19 18:42:48 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: initialization complete
Jun 19 18:42:48 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Jun 23 16:49:38 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: initialization complete
Jun 23 16:49:38 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Jun 23 16:58:22 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun 7 2011) initialization complete
Jun 23 16:58:22 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Jun 23 17:06:24 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun 7 2011) initialization complete
Jun 23 17:06:24 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: readyGo
Jun 23 17:10:17 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun 7 2011) initialization complete
Jun 23 17:10:17 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Jun 24 22:36:26 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun 7 2011) initialization complete
Jun 24 22:36:26 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready
Jun 24 22:51:12 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement: (built 16:44:42 Jun 7 2011) initialization complete
Jun 24 22:51:12 localhost kernel[0]: AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient: ready[/codebox]

#1235
seanmcgpa

seanmcgpa

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philly

Updated to 10.6.8 and I seem to have lost my power management.

Running 6-8C hotter at idle and no indication of turbo ratios 1112 on bootup.

Anyone else experiencing similar?


Yes - spot on, 6-8C hotter here as well (eeep!)

#1236
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,323 posts
  • Gender:Male

10.6.8 AppleHDA.kext no sound assertions for alc889a

http://www.mediafire...199sg2w2zze5df4

modded are
1. Platforms.xml in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources
2. Layout12.xml in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources
3. info.plist in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver.kext/Contents


needs DSDT edit HDEF patch with layout id 12 (0x0C)

replace AppleHDA.kext in S/L/E and remove legacy kext from extra/extensions -repair permisssions

it works also on the ALC889?

#1237
Dajjal

Dajjal

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WI
@ Rankrotten

Can you post your DSDT,since we have almost the same Hardware? I seem to have some Issues which MaLd0n has been trying to help me with http://www.insanelym...p...t&p=1704721
I tried to pm but it seems your backed up........

#1238
Rankrotten

Rankrotten

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:UK

@ Rankrotten

Can you post your DSDT,since we have almost the same Hardware? I seem to have some Issues which MaLd0n has been trying to help me with http://www.insanelym...p...t&p=1704721
I tried to pm but it seems your backed up........


Here is my DSDT, let me know if you see anything interesting.
Attached File  dsdt.aml.zip   6.77KB   12 downloads

#1239
Dajjal

Dajjal

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WI
@ Rankrotten
Thanks for the file :P but unfortunately Force Sleep/Shutdown issues are still the same :) I have not checked as yet to see what's different between our dsdt's as yet though........
Are you on F5 or F6 ?

On a separate note i saw a while back you stated that you have an External @ Gsata port which works but have you noticed this? or can you check to see if it happens to you plz......

I have a WD 2TB in an External enclosure (Rosewill RX385 V2) connected at the back panel (USB/Esata) combo port via Sata connection.The drive shows up as Internal an i can Mount/Unmount it without problems......
The issue is that if i unmount then Power off the External case,then power it back on,after it mounts under system profiler it changes from

JMicron JMB363 AHCI:

Vendor: JMicron
Product: JMB363 AHCI
Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.00 Supported

TO

JMicron JMB363 AHCI:

Vendor: JMicron
Product: JMB363 AHCI
Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.00 Supported



#1240
Rankrotten

Rankrotten

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:UK
Dajjal

I'm still on BIOS F5 but will update now to F7J and report back.

My ESATA connection via back panel combo connector reports the negotiated speed at 1.5 Gigabits. I'm not running with the JMicron kext so don't know if that's an issue here. Will report back after updating the motherboard BIOS.
Attached File  Screen_shot_2011_06_28_at_23.57.52.png   40.11KB   11 downloads





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy