How can i get my Broadcom 440x ethernet Working~!!

YOUNGZi

86 posts in this topic

dell inspiron 8500 with broadcom 440x

the Broadcom BCM4400 Ethernet doesn't work at all

plugs in 10Mb hub shows connected,but disabled when plugs in 100Mb Router or Hub

anyone who solve this problem please tell me OK!!!

ps:

i am a chinese student in china,poor in english

i can't express myself clearly but

Please Please Please help me!!!

thx in advance!

correct my writing, tell me the mistake, i 'll learn english well ,thk u!

I Have a dell inspiron 1100 with a broadcom network card and while it requires some playing to get it working it does work.

Try manually entering an IP into the network settings inside System Prefs.

thx for your reply!

did it!

i entered the IP(192.168.1.113),Router(192.168.1.1) & net mask (255.255.255.0),however,it doesn't work!

i connect my inspiron 8500 with 10Mb hub it shows connected but the led of the hub doesn't light!

but it works well in the windows 2003 & vista!

FT!!!!

Hello,

I´ve also a problem with the Broadcom Build in ethernet. Driver loads as far as I can see but it doesnt work!

In Windows I checked which broadcom "chip" is used im my Laptop it´s something like 14e4 and c170. I browsed the OSX driver and found this string in the Broadcom 440x plist, so it should work. But in this case it doesnt!

Maybe the people who get the broadcom 440x to work have one of the other "chipsets" which are in the driver?!

Has sombody tried to use the Driver from Darwin CD or building it from the source which you can get at Apple´s Darwin site?

Thanks in advance

shila

• 6 months later...

My Inspiron 5150 also has a problem with the Broadcom 440x (bcm4400.ktext) in OSX x86 10.4.4.

I have been told by everyone that it should work right out of the box with OSX x86 but I believe they (everyone else) has been using OSX x86 10.4.1 or 10.4.3.