SMB shares/ mounting?

itjstagame

5 posts in this topic

I'm completely new to MacOS and OSX, I just got it installed on my Thinkpad T60 2623-DAU, albeit with a number of remaining issues.

But I'm up and running, and updating and using safari with an ethernet cord and anxious to test movie playback and mess with the Time backup feature on a network drive.

But Snow Leopard will not connect to my samba shares. I see many threads with issues when people switched to Tiger to Leopard, all of a sudden smb passwords did not work correctly. I have not seen any with any useful solution.

I can use smbclient from the mac perfectly fine, but there's no smbmount option, using finder and browsing to a server of smb://mycomp/datashare/ it prompts for username and password and keeps saying invalid when I know they're valid (cause they work for everyone else including smbclient).

Has anyway had this issue and got around it?

I solved this, there were a couple 'solutions' that were mentioned, one being that a password of all numbers would work, but for me it was only my Debian shares and it was my smb.conf setting of 'security=share' that I guess OSX has trouble with.

Setting it to security=user allowed OSX to authenticate at a user level correctly (or something). Security=share seems useful only if you want anonymous guest access on a share, none of mine were like this, they all required logins anyway with 'guest=no'.