Jump to content

[GUIDE] Making a DSDT.aml for Dell XPS M1330, XPS M1530, and XPS M1730


  • Please log in to reply
1780 replies to this topic

#261
Neonkoala

Neonkoala

    Neon Prowess

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
Oh if anyone found sleep wasn't working even with correct DSDTs etc then try enabling the "Start up automatically after a power failure" box in Energy Saver. Weirdly fixed it for me.

#262
jkbuha

jkbuha

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts

Immo, have your tried changing the SystemIO address to 0x0430 within the PMRS declaration?
This might get your M1330 to shutdown. Just a thought??

Cheers!!


Hi ab,

Thanks for the idea. Tried mapping the PMRS declaration to 0x0430 from 1030, no joy.
Also tried to add your original DSDT comments in the Else clause, nada.

After some further research on my part it appears that the correct SystemIO address for the m1330 is in fact 0x1030 as all the pr functions seem to be mapped to x1000 anyway. It might have something to do specifically with how the Nvidia card shuts down. On this note, do all the 1530s reported working correctly here have a 8600GT (256MB) or do some also have the 8400GS (128MB) similar to the m1330's default config?

Fingers crossed...

cheers
jkbuha

#263
DarwinX

DarwinX

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 619 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida

Oh if anyone found sleep wasn't working even with correct DSDTs etc then try enabling the "Start up automatically after a power failure" box in Energy Saver. Weirdly fixed it for me.


Sleep only works for me with the latest SleepEnabler.kext despite Brett's identically matched DSDT.aml The power failure start up feature is conspicuously missing from my Energy Saver preference pane. The aforementioned factors seems to be mutually related, or not. AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement kext disabler in my /e/e/ might be the cause, as I am still using it to decrease CPU temperatures which are quite high otherwise (C 50) under normal system load. Please advise. :D

#264
immo

immo

    Insanely Looking for Time to Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 276 posts
  • Gender:Male

Sleep only works for me with the latest SleepEnabler.kext despite Brett's identically matched DSDT.aml The power failure start up feature is conspicuously missing from my Energy Saver preference pane. The aforementioned factors seems to be mutually related, or not. AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement kext disabler in my /e/e/ might be the cause, as I am still using it to decrease CPU temperatures which are quite high otherwise (C 50) under normal system load. Please advise. ;)


If you put in the disabler, then sleep WILL NOT work. As mentioned in the guide this must be removed as well as the SleepEnabler. Are you sure the machine is cooler with the disabler in? The disabler would be blocking speed step from working, causing your machine to be at full speed the whole time (unless you are using a different power manager like VoodooPower, which should also be removed). Also, 50C does not sound that high to me....

Immo

Hi ab,

Thanks for the idea. Tried mapping the PMRS declaration to 0x0430 from 1030, no joy.
Also tried to add your original DSDT comments in the Else clause, nada.


Thanks for trying that Jkbuha. Didn't get around to it yet. And thanks for the idea Ab.

Immo

#265
ab___73

ab___73

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts

Thanks for trying that Jkbuha. Didn't get around to it yet. And thanks for the idea Ab.

Immo


Another way of forcing a shutdown of a computer is using the _GTS (Going To Sleep) method.
Method (_GTS, 1, NotSerialized)    {       If (LEqual (Arg0, 0x05))        {            Store (Zero, SLPE)	    Sleep (0x10)        }    }

I've kept my original _PTS method and added the _GTS method and it shuts down on my M1530.
Might be worth a try with a M1330?

The ACPISpec v3 states the following:
Chapter
7.4 OSPM usage of _GTS, _PTS, _TTS, _WAK, and _BFS
OSPM will invoke _GTS, _PTS, _TTS, _WAK, and _BFS in the following order:
1.OSPM decides (through a policy scheme) to place the system into a sleeping state.
2._TTS(Sx) is run, where Sx is the desired sleep state to enter.
3. OSPM notifies all native device drivers of the sleep state transition
4._PTS is run
5.OSPM readies system for the sleep state transition
6._GTS is run
7.OSPM writes the sleep vector and the system enters the specified Sx sleep state.
8.System Wakes up
9._BFS is run
10.OSPM readies system for the return from the sleep state transition
11._WAK is run
12. OSPM notifies all native device drivers of the return from the sleep state transition
13._TTS(0) is run to indicate the return to the S0 state.


Cheers,
AB

#266
Brett Whinnen

Brett Whinnen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bne, AU
Great tip AB. Here is the modified DSDT.aml for the AnyCPU M1530 using the _GTS method to allow shutdown.

Attached File  DSDT.aml.zip   9.44KB   112 downloads

This works perfectly with my M1530 and retains the OE _PTS method.

Thanks,

Brett

#267
jkbuha

jkbuha

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts

This works perfectly with my M1530 and retains the OE _PTS method.

Thanks,

Brett


Thanks, ab & Brett, but still no joy. _GTS method still doesn't shutdown the 1330.
This issue is weird. I've never come across a problem which separates the 1530 and the 1330 like this.

jkbuha

#268
DarwinX

DarwinX

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 619 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
It runs on average 20C cooler! I achieve sleep with the SleepEnabler.kext, and much cooler system. 50C and up is hot, even to the touch. So, having the disabler kext along with the sleep enabler achieves the same results as not having those and running much hotter temps. I'm at 32C right now and the laptop even feels much cooler. AICPM kext handles my system quite poorly, not to mention I've already experienced a total system failure while running in the 70's. Luckily, Dell replaced it under warranty, yet it is no longer covered, so I must be careful.


If you put in the disabler, then sleep WILL NOT work. As mentioned in the guide this must be removed as well as the SleepEnabler. Are you sure the machine is cooler with the disabler in? The disabler would be blocking speed step from working, causing your machine to be at full speed the whole time (unless you are using a different power manager like VoodooPower, which should also be removed). Also, 50C does not sound that high to me....

Immo



#269
Neonkoala

Neonkoala

    Neon Prowess

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
I noticed with AICPM.kext disabled the clock on each core was fixed at 1200MHz, half of its full speed which would probably account for your cooler temperatures.

#270
dlach

dlach

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts

Thanks, ab & Brett, but still no joy. _GTS method still doesn't shutdown the 1330.
This issue is weird. I've never come across a problem which separates the 1530 and the 1330 like this.

jkbuha


This smells like a difference in southbridge. Does anyone know if the 1330 uses the exact same southbridge as the 1530? If the register offsets or definitions were different it would account for it not working.

#271
immo

immo

    Insanely Looking for Time to Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 276 posts
  • Gender:Male

It runs on average 20C cooler! I achieve sleep with the SleepEnabler.kext, and much cooler system. 50C and up is hot, even to the touch. So, having the disabler kext along with the sleep enabler achieves the same results as not having those and running much hotter temps. I'm at 32C right now and the laptop even feels much cooler. AICPM kext handles my system quite poorly, not to mention I've already experienced a total system failure while running in the 70's. Luckily, Dell replaced it under warranty, yet it is no longer covered, so I must be careful.


Why not try installing CoolBook to find out how fast the CPU is running? Maybe it is running at half speed like Neonkoala says. Mine actually rests a little above 50C in OS-X or Windows when it's not doing much. Coolbook will also tell you if your speed step is working with the power management in. Mine idles at 800MHz (full speed 2.4GHz). If you goof up your smbios.plist for example, the speed stepping won't work.

I've had one of these replaced also. GPU was getting over 100C!

Immo

#272
Klaas1979

Klaas1979

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Has anybody the VoodooPS2Controller working under M1330? I can only use the Synaptics Touchpad with SuperHAIs kext. When I am using the VoodooPS2Controller the keyboard is working fine buth the mouse pointer is stuck in the upper left corner. I can use a PS2 mouse though.

Installation:
  • I installed it on the EFI partition (Extra/Extensions) as far as I read in the forums it should work from here?
  • I have no kextcache (because the kextcache command does not work for me, problem with locking if using -U problem with non existing Extensions.mkext?!)
  • I am running in 32bit mode to use the VoodooHDA.kext under 64bit the prefpane was not working for me. Can I use the recompiled VoodooHDA from the linked thread for VoodooPS2 so that I can use 64bit mode?
Did I miss anything in the guide where to place it or do I have to add anything to the smbios.plist or the Boot options?

Regards Klaas

#273
jkbuha

jkbuha

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts

This smells like a difference in southbridge. Does anyone know if the 1330 uses the exact same southbridge as the 1530? If the register offsets or definitions were different it would account for it not working.


Everest under win64 reports that my M1330 has a PM965 with a Southbridge 82801HBM (ICH8-DO)
Does anyone who has a 1530/1330 have anything different?

Here's also an extract from the Everest ACPI dump if anyone has some insight ;)

Node #000: Address = FFFFFA800705D0C0 Name = _GPE
Node #001: Address = FFFFFA800705D140 Name = _PR_
Node #002: Address = FFFFFA800705D1C0 Name = _SB_
Node #089: Address = FFFFFA8007061C58 Name = _S0_
Node #090: Address = FFFFFA8007061D68 Name = _S3_
Node #091: Address = FFFFFA8007061E78 Name = _S4_
Node #092: Address = FFFFFA8007061F88 Name = _S5_
Node #093: Address = FFFFFA8007062008 Name = WAKE
NNode #097: Address = FFFFFA8007062320 Name = PWRE
Node #100: Address = FFFFFA8007062788 Name = _PTS
Node #101: Address = FFFFFA8007062848 Name = _WAK
Node #102: Address = FFFFFA80070629D8 Name = NWAK

Cheers
jkbuha

#274
Brett Whinnen

Brett Whinnen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bne, AU
Output from lspci -nn from my M1530 A12 BIOS

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub [8086:2a00] (rev 0c)
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port [8086:2a01] (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:2834] (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 [8086:2835] (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 [8086:283a] (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:284b] (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 [8086:283f] (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 [8086:2841] (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 [8086:2847] (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:2830] (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:2831] (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:2832] (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 [8086:2836] (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller [8086:2815] (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller [8086:2850] (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller [8086:2829] (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller [8086:283e] (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600M GT] [10de:0407] (rev a1)
03:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller [1180:0832] (rev 05)
03:09.1 SD Host controller [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter [1180:0822] (rev 22)
03:09.2 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller [1180:0843] (rev 12)
03:09.3 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter [1180:0592] (rev 12)
03:09.4 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller [1180:0852] (rev 12)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller [11ab:4354] (rev 12)
0b:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n [14e4:4328] (rev 03)

I don't actually run Windows on this laptop at all so cannot use Everest to get any h/w details either.


On another topic, are there any M1530 users out there still using Leopard that can run up on the Voodoo kernel (9.4 or 9.5)?

Basically what I'd like you to do is to boot up in Chameleon with the voodoo kernel sitting in /voodoo_beta1 (for 9.4) and use the following boot options:

voodoo_beta1 kprintf=1 -v

When you've booted grab a capture of the dmesg (or the /var/log/kernel.log) and send it to me.

I don't have any Leopard s/w laying around and voodoo kernel doesn't boot on my laptop with SL.

I've been playing about with c-states again lately, and want to look at the memory ranges the SSDT tables are loaded into and more specifically the CST0 and CST1 components.

Thanks,

Brett

#275
ab___73

ab___73

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts

I've been playing about with c-states again lately, and want to look at the memory ranges the SSDT tables are loaded into and more specifically the CST0 and CST1 components.

Thanks,

Brett


I'm sorry if i picked you up wrong but these are the original OEM memory address locations of the SSDT tables.

Name (SSDT, Package (0x0C)
{
"CPU0IST ",
0xDFE72CB4,
0x000002C8,
"CPU1IST ",
0xDFE72F7C,
0x000000C4,
"CPU0CST ",
0xDFE7264A,
0x000005E5,
"CPU1CST ",
0xDFE72C2F,
0x00000085
}

So
CPU0CST = Address Location, 0xDFE7264A length 0x05E5
CPU1CST = Address Location, 0xDFE72C2F length 0x0085

If i could run the kernel with the kprintf=1 boot option the output would definitely confirm this.

I'm interested where are you going with this?

Cheers..
AB

#276
Brett Whinnen

Brett Whinnen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bne, AU
Yes have the original locations in one of my previous DSDT's where I put SSDT in there as well.

I wanted to see if they are loaded into the same spot or if we need to modify the addresses they are referenced from based on where they are loaded if we do it via DropSSDT=Yes. I'm just trying things from a different angle from the bits I was looking at yesterday...

The thing of note and I was playing with this all yesterday is that yes we get the LPC loaded, as we have a pci8086:2815 which is exactly what a MacBookPro3,1 has I've yet to locate a lspci -nn output from a MacBookPro4,1 or a ioreg for that matter. But even though the LPC kext is loaded it is not properly initiialized, which means the C-states will not be started (regardless of whether we have them loaded or not). I ended up changing the device ID of the LPC yesterday to a number of different ones, even so far as trying to set it to the pci10de:0aae which is the LPC for a MacBookPro5,1 that most of us use (mainly due to P-States number issues).

One thing I couldn't do above was to set the vendor from 8086 to 10de, so will investigate further on that one.

The other option I'm looking at is to calculate up 10 p-states to allow the MacBookPro4,1 to load without modifying the resource under ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin to be 6 p-states...

#277
jkbuha

jkbuha

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
[codebox]00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub [8086:2a00] (rev 0c)
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port [8086:2a01] (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:2834] (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 [8086:2835] (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 [8086:283a] (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:284b] (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 [8086:283f] (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 [8086:2841] (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 [8086:2845] (rev 02)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 [8086:2849] (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:2830] (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:2831] (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:2832] (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 [8086:2836] (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller [8086:2815] (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller [8086:2850] (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller [8086:2829] (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller [8086:283e] (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation G86 [GeForce 8400M GS] [10de:0427] (rev a1)
03:01.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller [1180:0832] (rev 05)
03:01.1 SD Host controller [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter [1180:0822] (rev 22)
03:01.2 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller [1180:0843] (rev 12)
03:01.3 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter [1180:0592] (rev 12)
03:01.4 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller [1180:0852] (rev 12)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5906M Fast Ethernet PCI Express [14e4:1713] (rev 02)
0c:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n [14e4:4328] (rev 03)[/codebox]

Here's mine from my M1330 - slightly different but not that much...
Could it be the different Nvidia graphics card (and memory?)

Cheers
jkbuha

#278
ab___73

ab___73

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts

Yes have the original locations in one of my previous DSDT's where I put SSDT in there as well.

I wanted to see if they are loaded into the same spot or if we need to modify the addresses they are referenced from based on where they are loaded if we do it via DropSSDT=Yes. I'm just trying things from a different angle from the bits I was looking at yesterday...


Hi,

The M1530 has 1 "visible" SSDT located at 0xDFE7217E, this is ACPI table 7. This SSDT table then loads the "invisible" SSDT tables using the array of memory locations per my previous post.

Extract from the XSDT dump:
[024h 036  8]       ACPI Table Address   0 : 00000000DFE7389C[02Ch 044  8]       ACPI Table Address   1 : 00000000DFE73B00[034h 052  8]       ACPI Table Address   2 : 00000000DFE73C00[03Ch 060  8]       ACPI Table Address   3 : 00000000DFE73BC0[044h 068  8]       ACPI Table Address   4 : 00000000DFE73C9C[04Ch 076  8]       ACPI Table Address   5 : 00000000DFE73200[054h 084  8]       ACPI Table Address   6 : 00000000DFE737C0[05Ch 092  8]       ACPI Table Address   7 : 00000000DFE7217E


When using the DropSSDT=yes boot option the loading of the "visible" SSDT table is skipped, so the OS never sees any of the SSDT tables.

I've confirmed this by modifying the boot file to debug and output the "visible" SSDT memory address locations.

I've attached the "debug" chameleon boot file it's based on RC4 source code (again thanx to the chameleon team for releasing sources).

Backup you existing bootfile:
sudo cp /boot /boot.bak
then extract and copy the extracted boot file to your / directory.

Once you have seen what you need to see restore your boot file

sudo cp /boot.bak /boot

Please only use this if you know what you are doing.

Hopefully this helps someone.

Cheers,

AB


Attached File  boot.zip   200.51KB   3 downloads

#279
dlach

dlach

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts

Yes have the original locations in one of my previous DSDT's where I put SSDT in there as well.

I wanted to see if they are loaded into the same spot or if we need to modify the addresses they are referenced from based on where they are loaded if we do it via DropSSDT=Yes. I'm just trying things from a different angle from the bits I was looking at yesterday...

The thing of note and I was playing with this all yesterday is that yes we get the LPC loaded, as we have a pci8086:2815 which is exactly what a MacBookPro3,1 has I've yet to locate a lspci -nn output from a MacBookPro4,1 or a ioreg for that matter. But even though the LPC kext is loaded it is not properly initiialized, which means the C-states will not be started (regardless of whether we have them loaded or not). I ended up changing the device ID of the LPC yesterday to a number of different ones, even so far as trying to set it to the pci10de:0aae which is the LPC for a MacBookPro5,1 that most of us use (mainly due to P-States number issues).

One thing I couldn't do above was to set the vendor from 8086 to 10de, so will investigate further on that one.

The other option I'm looking at is to calculate up 10 p-states to allow the MacBookPro4,1 to load without modifying the resource under ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin to be 6 p-states...


I've been thinking about the c-state addresses as well. I've been toying with Andy V's branch of Chameleon which lets you load the SSDT tables individually. I'd had no success with another platform on which I had working c-states with the SSDTs embedded in the DSDT. I was getting the same LPC error with separate tables that we get on the m1530 with SSDTs embedded and it got me wondering. I've since found out that if you don't load embedded SSDTs you have to change the addresses they are expected at, see the thread HERE. Planning on digging some more this weekend.

#280
Brett Whinnen

Brett Whinnen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bne, AU
I've been doing some tidying up on the DSDT, mainly cosmetic changes to match names of devices to those from the MBP5,1. But that got me thinking, the MBP5,1 uses an nVidia based main board, complete with MCP79 controllers etc. I was also looking at the MBP3,1 and it is closer, in fact it uses the very same LPC controller as ours and a great deal of other devices match up in both name and address.

So what I want to find now is the ioreg output (prefer a .ioreg file but a .txt will do) and DSDT from a MacBookPro4,1. If anyone has seen one in their travels or can get hold of one please pass them onto me. I've seen almost every model but not that one! Most annoying.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy