Jump to content

GRUB2 as the only boot loader: it's possible!


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#41
srs5694

srs5694

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Woonsocket, RI

I install Leopard (not Snow) with a GUID partition table -- basically, fire up the install method, plop in the install disk, and when it comes to interrupting the process to go to Disk Utility, I "partition" with 3 partitions -- one for the Linux, one for the swap, and one for the hfs+.


One comment: With GRUB2 on GPT, you're best off creating a small (~100KB, yes *K*) BIOS Boot Partition. This partition holds some GRUB2 code; if it's absent, GRUB2 uses sector block lists to point to files on a regular filesystem, but that approach is less reliable than setting aside a BIOS Boot Partition. I don't believe that Apple's Disk Utility can create this type of partition, but both GNU Parted and GPT fdisk can. If you use these tools, though, you're advised to follow Apple's GPT partitioning recommendations; Disk Utility does this automatically, but most other tools don't. The issue of the space between partitions is the most important one; OS X 10.6 won't install unless it sees that space around its target partition. Currently, the EFI System partition is unused on most Hackintoshes, although I believe Boot Think uses it. It might be used in the future, so I'd recommend keeping it.

I partition manually, and there's all these partitions (like 6 of them or something, a few small GUID ones or whatever). I leave the hfs+ partition and a 130 something megabyte partition on the far side of (end of the disk) that says empty space, but I delete everything else in front of it, leaving the swap.


The Ubuntu installer is probably setting up separate partitions for various parts of itself. On such a tiny install, this is inadvisable. It might be setting up a BIOS Boot Partition and/or an EFI System Partition, too. (Actually, Disk Utility sets up an EFI System Partition, but doesn't tell you about it.) You could of course prepare the partitions beforehand using GNU Parted or GPT fdisk.

I re-create the Linux (I chose xfs) partition,


Why XFS? Its strength is handling big files, and on such a tiny installation, you won't be using big files. You'll probably get better performance from ext3fs, ext4fs, or ReiserFS.

Installed grub2 to /dev/sda and completed the Linux install process -- reboot, and voila -- there it is -- Grub's menu says "Mac OS X (on /dev/sda2)" as a selection, select it and I'm in. No messing with the menu.lst, it's automatically detected.


Are you saying that you didn't see any hint of Chameleon prompts when you selected OS X in GRUB? If so, then the default configuration in Ubuntu 9.10 must be akin to the one I described in the first post of this thread. It's also possible to boot indirectly, via Chameleon. That method appears to be more reliable at the moment, although it's vulnerable to certain types of damage that wouldn't affect a direct-load from GRUB.

#42
Jonas Grey

Jonas Grey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thanks, srs5694. That's some awesome advice.

It works. It is "-v", though. First, I tried to change the OSInstall.mpkg to allow installation to an MBR. I already had Ubuntu installed at that point, but it changed my MBR to a GPT, and I couldn't boot into Linux or OS X at that point.

So I reinstalled Linux and moved some partitions around.

The final setup I chose was this -- starting from the head of the disk:

14.8 KB Free Space (OS X put that there, I left it)
128 KB reserved BIOS boot partition (technically partition #4)
Space for Ubuntu (I settled on JFS) -- (partition #1)
Swap -- (partition #2)
128MB Free Space
OS X (hfs+) -- (partition #3)
2.1MB Free Space (OS X also put this here -- as I've learned, it's definitely a good idea)

Probably could have put the 128MB sectors in there between each partition, as well as the 200MB one up front, but I'm dealing with a 16GB SSD, so I just put the free space in front of the OS X partition. I just didn't have the room, because I sized the hfs+ partition counting on an MBR and I didn't feel like messing with it, and my swap was already down to 512MB. If I had to do it all over again, I'd probably put all of those things in. Hopefully, it'll be OK.

The free space in back and the BIOS boot partition seem like the most important things.

I used the Ubuntu 9.10 minimal install, with the expert install option from the menu, and everything proceeded as normal, I chose GRUB 2 when it asked me, and specified "/dev/sda" when it asked me where to install GRUB.

I was happy to see that the partitioner it uses had an entry for the type of partition used for the BIOS boot partition.

But it does boot up in a verbose mode, though -- some people may want the grey Apple screen with the spinning logo, but OTOH, for some reason, that screen actually makes me kind of nervous because I don't know what's going on.

Thanks again for that awesome advice, this really helped clear things up for me. Couldn't have done it without you.

BTW I used the Netbookmaker 0.8.3 on a Retail copy, FWIW.

So what I'd do to tweak it in the future is plan on a GPT and calculate the partition sizes accordingly so all of the recommendations can be adhered to, and I would also install OS X first, then Linux. Maybe partition the Linux areas in OS X at first, leave them as free space, then fine-tune the partitions once I'm in Ubuntu -- that's a fairly nice helpful, accurate partitioner they have there.

#43
nekkro-kvlt

nekkro-kvlt

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
I tried all possible combinaisons and it's not working...
I got chamelon installed on the first partition of my second hardrive, ubuntu see it as sdb2, i mounted it under ubuntu, I got a /boot file, but i tested set root=(hd1,1), (hd1,2), hd1,3... multiboot, chainloader +1/+1 and it never work...
Anyone got an idea ? thanks

haha it worked with jsut this:

menuentry "osx" {
set root=(hd1,1)
exit
}

chameleon load

#44
piczu

piczu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
os-prober gnerated menuentry for osx. Everything works but no video. I have black screen and monitor says its error.

#45
ckhk212

ckhk212

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
menuentry "Mac OS X (32-bit) (on /dev/sda2)" {
		insmod hfsplus   
		set root='(hd0,2)'
		search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 196bcb9970cacb3a
		insmod vbe
		set do_resume=0 
		if [ /var/vm/sleepimage -nt10 / ]; then
		   if xnu_resume /var/vm/sleepimage; then
			 set do_resume=1
		   fi
		fi
		if [ $do_resume == 0 ]; then
		   xnu_uuid 196bcb9970cacb3a uuid
		   if [ -f /Extra/DSDT.aml ]; then
			  acpi -e /Extra/DSDT.aml
		   fi
		   xnu_kernel /mach_kernel boot-uuid=${uuid} rd=*uuid
		   if [ /System/Library/Extensions.mkext -nt /System/Library/Extensions ]; then
			  xnu_mkext /System/Library/Extensions.mkext
		   else
			  xnu_kextdir /System/Library/Extensions
		   fi
		   if [ -f /Extra/Extensions.mkext ]; then
			  xnu_mkext /Extra/Extensions.mkext
		   fi
		   if [ -d /Extra/Extensions ]; then
			  xnu_kextdir /Extra/Extensions
		   fi
		   if [ -f /Extra/devprop.bin ]; then
			  xnu_devprop_load /Extra/devprop.bin
		   fi
		   if [ -f /Extra/splash.jpg ]; then
			  insmod jpeg
			  xnu_splash /Extra/splash.jpg
		   fi
		   if [ -f /Extra/splash.png ]; then
			  insmod png
			  xnu_splash /Extra/splash.png
		   fi
		   if [ -f /Extra/splash.tga ]; then
			  insmod tga
			  xnu_splash /Extra/splash.tga
		   fi
		fi
}

I just recently upgrade my Ubuntu to 10.04 and now my grub2 allow me to boot my Mac WITHOUT darwin. But somehow there is no display on my laptop, but there is output for my external monitor. WEIRD... anyone know y

#46
samp0

samp0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:finland
Hi,

I have tried to read this topic and find a solution to my problem with with grub2 multiboot. I currently have 3 hdd and 3 operating systems: win7, ubuntu 9.10 x64 and osx. Actually I got 4 os because I got both Snow Leopard and Leopard through Chameleon R4 bootloader. SL is vanilla version with right E/E and S/L/E installed after iAtkos7 Leopard.

Here my fdisk -l list where you can see what hdd's I got.
[codebox]Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x7c155af2

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 13 102400 7 HPFS/NTFS
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 13 6494 52058112 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 6494 12996 52224000 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda4 12996 60802 383998976 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000baf86

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 9135 30402 170825319 af HFS / HFS+
/dev/sdb2 * 1 8892 71418880 83 Linux
/dev/sdb3 8892 9135 1951744+ 5 Extended
/dev/sdb5 8892 9135 1951744 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sdc'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.

Disk /dev/sdc: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc223d2ae

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 1 26 204819+ ee GPT
/dev/sdc2 26 30427 244193292 af HFS / HFS+
/dev/sdc3 * 30443 60785 243726308 af HFS / HFS+
[/codebox]
Like you can see I got Windows 7 (sda2) and all ntfs other ntfs partitions in first sda/hd0 disk.
In second disk sdb/hd1 I got Timemachine BU-disk (sdb1) and Ubuntu (sdb2) and swap.
Third disk sdc/hd2 got SnowLeopard 10.6.3 (sdc2) and Leopard (sdc3).

I can boot to Win7 and Ubuntu through grub easily but not to osx. :) If I change that sdc/hd2 as first boot disk I am able to boot up Win7 and both of osx through Chameleon bootloader.

Now I want to get my grub to work as only bootloader because it seems to be "the easiest" way to get multiboot work. Chameleon is not an option because sleep ain't working with win7 when I start it through Chameleon.

Here is my /boot/grub/grub.cfg and like you can see it is generated automatically. I tried to add couple osx entries manually without success.
[codebox]#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by /usr/sbin/grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s /boot/grub/grubenv ]; then
have_grubenv=true
load_env
fi
set default="0"
if [ ${prev_saved_entry} ]; then
saved_entry=${prev_saved_entry}
save_env saved_entry
prev_saved_entry=
save_env prev_saved_entry
fi
insmod ext2
set root=(hd1,2)
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61
if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
set gfxmode=640x480
insmod gfxterm
insmod vbe
if terminal_output gfxterm ; then true ; else
# For backward compatibility with versions of terminal.mod that don't
# understand terminal_output
terminal gfxterm
fi
fi
if [ ${recordfail} = 1 ]; then
set timeout=-1
else
set timeout=10
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=white/black
set menu_color_highlight=black/white
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_os-prober ###
menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda1)" {
insmod ntfs
set root=(hd0,1)
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set a6fa52fbfa52c769
chainloader +1
}
menuentry "Mac OS X (on /dev/sdc2)" {
insmod hfsplus
set root=(hd2,2)
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 18294667071f4c98
insmod vbe
do_resume=0
if [ /var/vm/sleepimage -nt10 / ]; then
if xnu_resume /var/vm/sleepimage; then
do_resume=1
fi
fi
if [ $do_resume == 0 ]; then
xnu_uuid 18294667071f4c98 uuid
if [ -f /Extra/DSDT.aml ]; then
acpi -e /Extra/DSDT.aml
fi
xnu_kernel /mach_kernel boot-uuid=${uuid} rd=*uuid
if [ /System/Library/Extensions.mkext -nt /System/Library/Extensions ]; then
xnu_mkext /System/Library/Extensions.mkext
else
xnu_kextdir /System/Library/Extensions
fi
if [ -f /Extra/Extensions.mkext ]; then
xnu_mkext /Extra/Extensions.mkext
fi
if [ -d /Extra/Extensions ]; then
xnu_kextdir /Extra/Extensions
fi
if [ -f /Extra/devtree.txt ]; then
xnu_devtree /Extra/devtree.txt
fi
if [ -f /Extra/splash.jpg ]; then
insmod jpeg
xnu_splash /Extra/splash.jpg
fi
if [ -f /Extra/splash.png ]; then
insmod png
xnu_splash /Extra/splash.png
fi
if [ -f /Extra/splash.tga ]; then
insmod tga
xnu_splash /Extra/splash.tga
fi
fi
}
menuentry "Mac OS X (on /dev/sdc3)" {
insmod hfsplus
set root=(hd2,3)
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 11f705d93d3c7cac
insmod vbe
do_resume=0
if [ /var/vm/sleepimage -nt10 / ]; then
if xnu_resume /var/vm/sleepimage; then
do_resume=1
fi
fi
if [ $do_resume == 0 ]; then
xnu_uuid 11f705d93d3c7cac uuid
if [ -f /Extra/DSDT.aml ]; then
acpi -e /Extra/DSDT.aml
fi
xnu_kernel /mach_kernel boot-uuid=${uuid} rd=*uuid
if [ /System/Library/Extensions.mkext -nt /System/Library/Extensions ]; then
xnu_mkext /System/Library/Extensions.mkext
else
xnu_kextdir /System/Library/Extensions
fi
if [ -f /Extra/Extensions.mkext ]; then
xnu_mkext /Extra/Extensions.mkext
fi
if [ -d /Extra/Extensions ]; then
xnu_kextdir /Extra/Extensions
fi
if [ -f /Extra/devtree.txt ]; then
xnu_devtree /Extra/devtree.txt
fi
if [ -f /Extra/splash.jpg ]; then
insmod jpeg
xnu_splash /Extra/splash.jpg
fi
if [ -f /Extra/splash.png ]; then
insmod png
xnu_splash /Extra/splash.png
fi
if [ -f /Extra/splash.tga ]; then
insmod tga
xnu_splash /Extra/splash.tga
fi
fi
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/11_linux ###
menuentry "Ubuntu, Linux 2.6.31-20-generic" {
recordfail=1
if [ -n ${have_grubenv} ]; then save_env recordfail; fi
set quiet=1
insmod ext2
set root=(hd1,2)
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-20-generic root=UUID=c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-20-generic
}
menuentry "Ubuntu, Linux 2.6.31-20-generic (recovery mode)" {
recordfail=1
if [ -n ${have_grubenv} ]; then save_env recordfail; fi
insmod ext2
set root=(hd1,2)
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-20-generic root=UUID=c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61 ro single
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-20-generic
}
menuentry "Ubuntu, Linux 2.6.31-14-generic" {
recordfail=1
if [ -n ${have_grubenv} ]; then save_env recordfail; fi
set quiet=1
insmod ext2
set root=(hd1,2)
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-14-generic root=UUID=c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-14-generic
}
menuentry "Ubuntu, Linux 2.6.31-14-generic (recovery mode)" {
recordfail=1
if [ -n ${have_grubenv} ]; then save_env recordfail; fi
insmod ext2
set root=(hd1,2)
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-14-generic root=UUID=c8bb670b-35e3-493c-bde8-9f9555942b61 ro single
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-14-generic
}
### END /etc/grub.d/11_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/12_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

menuentry "Chameleon1" {
set root=(hd2,1)
exit
}

menuentry "Chameleon2" {
set root=(hd2,1)
multiboot (hd2,1)/boot
}

menuentry "Mac OS X Chameleon" {
insmod hfsplus
search --file --set=root /boot
multiboot /boot
}

menuentry "Mac OS X Chameleon" {
insmod hfsplus
set root=(hd2,2)
multiboot /boot
}

menuentry "MacOS X, chameleon, multi" {
insmod hfsplus
set root=(hd2,2)
multiboot /boot
}

menuentry "MacOS X, chameleon" {
insmod hfsplus
search --file --set=root /boot
multiboot /boot
}

menuentry "MacOSX" {
insmod hfsplus
# Set the root device for Mac OS X's loader.
set root=(hd2,2)
# Load the loader.
chainloader /usr/standalone/i386/boot.efi
}

menuentry "MacOSX" {
insmod hfsplus
# Search the root device for Mac OS X's loader.
search --set /usr/standalone/i386/boot.efi
# Load the loader.
chainloader /usr/standalone/i386/boot.efi
}
### END /etc/grub.d/12_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
[/codebox]

Long story but really hoping that someone could give me answer how to get my grub working like real multibootloader should!

Please help me,
-samp0

#47
oldtopman

oldtopman

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A galaxy far far away...
Yeah it took me a while to figure this one out. You need to edit /etc/grub.d/40_custom, then type "update-grub" and it will be added to the end of the file automatically.

#48
samp0

samp0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:finland

Yeah it took me a while to figure this one out. You need to edit /etc/grub.d/40_custom, then type "update-grub" and it will be added to the end of the file automatically.

Sry that grub.cfg was old one where my custom entries were missing. I edited my earlier post with my current grub.cfg. Like you can see I got several different entries but none is working. :)
Maybe the problem is in my partition table(hd2 is gpt) or in something else which I don't get...

#49
PacketCollision

PacketCollision

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I just thought I'd chime in with my success story. I'm still using 10.5.x on a Dell XPS 1340 laptop, and the HD is GPT partitioned. I installed the Ubuntu Lucid beta with GRUB2, overwriting my Chameleon install. It automatically populated the menu with entries for OSX, and it boots perfectly, video and all. It uses my DSDT file, and loads kexts in /Extra with no additional configuration.

#50
DuoWing

DuoWing

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hey guys, new here. I actually just started using Ubuntu about a week ago and I'm learning a whole bunch of new stuff. I quickly got accustomed to Grub 2 and how to edit the menus, etc. I decided I wanted to try and do an OSx86 triple boot between Ubuntu, OS X, and Win 7. After several tries I managed to get everything working except for OS X. I stumbled across this thread after a google search and I have to say that first post really helped me out. So far it seems like I actually have less trouble booting into OS X than I did before. For some reason when I boot via Grub 2 it will actually shutdown and restart OS X correctly as well. I don't know if you guys figured it out or not, but I noticed that you can have Grub 2 load it with commands such as -x, -v, and -f.

I just have it set like this:

menuentry "MacOS X (32-bit)" {
set root='(hd0,4)'
insmod video
insmod vbe
gfxmode="1440x900x32"
xnu_kernel /mach_kernel rd=disk0s4 -v -f
if [ /System/Library/Extensions.mkext -nt /System/Library/Extensions ]; then
xnu_mkext /System/Library/Extensions.mkext
else
xnu_kextdir /System/Library/Extensions
fi
}

I had tested it by just throwing -x in there and it booted up in safe mode no problem. Or leave it and just hit the e key on that menu item in Grub 2 and add in whatever command you want it to boot with. Even if you guys have already come across this, I at least wanted to say thanks for the help!

#51
Azimutz

Azimutz

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almadan - Pt.
  • Interests:At the moment, OSx86.. In general, music, audiophile, computers.. to much to mention...
Hi DuoWing, thanks for the feedback. I haven't posted because i didn't have time to test grub and my previous setup wasn't helping, but i've been following the topic. I changed the setup recently and will test it again soon so, it's nice to read positive and useful feedback.
Just one thing.. do you need the -f flag to boot? If not, don't use it for normal boot.

#52
Methanoid

Methanoid

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Brittania
GRUB2 is okay but BURG is better (and pretty like Chameleon) :)

http://www.insanelyw...i...f=17&t=2897

#53
drbrando007

drbrando007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

GRUB2 is okay but BURG is better (and pretty like Chameleon) ;)

http://www.insanelyw...i...f=17&t=2897


Yeah, well, I just got a stock install off a retail 10.6.3 DVD, with minimal adulteration necessary. I read the topic you submitted, and, uh well...we're doing just fine over here, thanks.

#54
piczu

piczu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
Is it possible to use grub2 with boot file (ATI driver for my card included)?

#55
oldtopman

oldtopman

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A galaxy far far away...
Nope.

#56
Bobert01

Bobert01

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
i'd just like to confirm to the original poster of this topic that yes GRUB WORKED FOR ME DOING WHAT YOU DID !!!!!!


what i did was basicly the exact same code into the .cfg file or whatever extension it is and then i just pointed it to my mac osx partition and it booted but using verbose mod ... things was after doing that i installed some ati drivers oh dear lol i was wondering how i could fix it now an some how uninstall the ati drivers and go back to how it was.... just before adding the ati drivers ...

ive tried going to S/L/E and deleting the new drivers and then booting from both Hazard and iATKOSs3 and reparing disk permissions there that way as the thing isnt booting osx for me .. to no avail sadly i just get a input not supported screen floating around the screen

someone please help !


nvm i did a reinstall with hazard 10.6.2, now working on updating it ..

#57
Anheuser

Anheuser

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

why do you guys assume GRUB2 can boot vanilla kernels?


I currently use only
/Extra/Extensions/fakesmc.kext
/Extra/Extensions/OpenHaltRestart.kext
/Extra/DSDT.aml

Booting from grub is a beatiful thing. Well, if you like watching text fly by.

The only reason I boot from Chameleon right now is to get my cpu and motherboard info mac friendly.

#58
BlackSheep VS RustyNail

BlackSheep VS RustyNail

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 363 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria
With grub-efi-amd64 I get an error on my GPT partitioned disk:

multiboot info does not include the chosen boot device

My custom grub config looks like that:

#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply
# type the menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful
# not to change the 'exec tail' line above.
menuentry "OS X Mountain Lion" {
insmod hfsplus
insmod part_gpt
search --file --set=root /boot
multiboot /boot
}

also chainloading from windows bootx64.efi with chain0 fails ; )

update (attached photo of grub2 booting the usual OS X detection methods):

Posted Image

#59
alaskantraveler

alaskantraveler

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Arizona Desert
  • Interests:Single Carburetor GoldWings
    BlackPowder Revolvers
    PC based OSX

    AMD...
If you install Windoze first, then your OS-X and use a chameleon installer package, Chameleon will also pick up the Windoze boot partition, and if you set your wait time to 4 or 5 seconds, press F8 during that time, Windoze shows up as one of the selections. (click on the reserved one and hit enter.)





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy