Jump to content

Mac GTX 285 ROM


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
aqua-mac

aqua-mac

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
I want to experiment with injecting the efi data at boot, If someone has saved the rom, can they email it to me please. My email is on my website (see sig).

Many thanks in advance.

#2
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
I will buy the GTX 285 for Mac next week, tell me how to do it.


Also I am trying to install my 9800 GTX on my new Mac Pro, even as OpenCL/CUDA engine only, what should I need to do?

#3
imasmak

imasmak

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
hi aqua-mac

i have GeForce GTX 285:

but withe big problem !!!

see

GeForce GTX 285:

Chipset Model: GeForce GTX 285
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 4294965248 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x05e3
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: xx.xx.xx - internal
Displays:
Philips 190CW:
Resolution: 1440 x 900 @ 75 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Philips 190CW:
Resolution: 1440 x 900 @ 75 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported


the gtx 285 work with 10.3

but VRAM (Total): 4294965248 MB = -2048

the final cut not work with -2048

how fixt -2048

pls help me pleeeeees

#4
menaze

menaze

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

the gtx 285 work with 10.3
but VRAM (Total): 4294965248 MB = -2048
the final cut not work with -2048
how fixt -2048

pls help me pleeeeees


I'm also having this problem with my GTX285 2GB, any program or game that checks the VRAM refuses to work. Tried changing the required VRAM to zero in the plists of the programs, but that doesn't work.

I also would like to try injecting a Mac GTX285 ROM with Chameleon RC3 and hoping that it would change the amount of VRAM visible to the system to 1024 MB.

The negative 2048 is not really a videocard problem, but a OSX system bug, it's also affecting other software: http://forums.macrum...ad.php?t=756526

#5
sebhag

sebhag

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
I read up on this issue with 2gig version before i bought mine and decided to go for the 1gig version instead. Worked fine with NVenabler and Chameleon RC3 detection off under SL, FWIW.

#6
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
aqua-mac I received a week ago the GTX285 Mac Edition, tell me how to extract the ROM.

#7
A.Woland

A.Woland

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male

I want to experiment with injecting the efi data at boot, If someone has saved the rom, can they email it to me please. My email is on my website (see sig).

Many thanks in advance.


Hi, aqua-mac! You can download it from

#8
aqua-mac

aqua-mac

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
Thanks a lot A.Woland and MacGirl for your help. I should have checked back here earlier!! This should allow me to experiment.

By the way Macgirl to extract a video rom here are my instructions:



Instructions for Saving The Existing Rom on your Card

1. Create a Windows start up floppy disk.

2. Download the latest version of NVFLASH utility.

3. Copy the two downloaded files onto the floppy disk.

4. Place the Floppy into your computer, go into the bios (usually pressing the "Delete" button at startup and make sure the

computer is set to boot from your floppy disk drive.

5. The computer will boot from the floppy and you will hear the floppy disk being accessed.

6. When you get to the A: prompt, type the following;



eg ; nvflash -b save.rom



(leave a single space between as I have above or it will not work)

Remove the startup disk & reboot your computer, your rom will have been saved to the floppy disk.




Instructions for Flashing a New Rom to your Card

1. You need a Windows startup Disk again. If you have not already made one, copy steps 1 to 3 above then copy you new

Rom onto the disk as well.



2. Place the Floppy into your computer, go into the bios (usually pressing the "Delete" button at startup and make sure the

computer is set to boot from your floppy disk drive.



3. The computer will boot from the floppy and you will hear the floppy disk being accessed.



4. When you get to the A: prompt, type the following;

nvflash -4 -5 -6 -j romname.rom

(leave a single space between as I have above or it will not work. * romname, needs to be replaced with the actual name

of the rom you are flashing eg: nvflash -4 -5 -6 -j 5500.rom )

(leave a single space between as I have above or it will not work)

If you are flashing a rom such as the special roms above you will get two warnings. You will have to hit the "y" key 3

times as the device id and on some the vendor id is changed to nv The screen may go blank while the rom is flash When

nvflash has finished, remove the floppy disk and restart your computer. Your screen should burst into life.






What to do if your flash goes wrong. Even if you have no picture, you can bring your card back to life by following this procedure to the letter.



1. Don't panic.

Get access to another PC

You should have backed up your rom, Yes. Good go to step 3. Well if you didn't, go here & drill down to the

manufacturer of your card and download the bios of your graphics card:

http://www.mvktech.n...ctfolder/cat,4/



2. Rename the rom to something you remember if needed like:



romname.rom



It must finish with .rom & there must be no spaces.

Place this onto a windows boot floppy with the latest version of Nvflash.

http://www.softpedia...k/nVFlash.shtml



3. Startup your computer, there will be no picture but don't worry, you are going to do this blind.

You should hear the floppy disk being accessed & watch the light carefully. When and only when it goes out you can type

the following:



nvflash -4 -5 -6 -j romname.rom



then hit return.

You will hear the floppy disk accessing for a while and eventually the light will go out.

At this point you will press the "Y" key on your keyboard. It should BEEP. If it does not, as can happen with a really bad

flash press it again and it should BEEP.

After a few seconds, the little light on the shift key on your keyboard will start flashing. When both it and the floppy

light have gone out you are done.

You can restart your computer & hopfully the screen should light up.

#9
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Thanks for the isntructions.

So I need to remove the card from the Mac Pro and place it on my PC, or can I boot from a BootCD/USB disk on the Mac Pro?

#10
aqua-mac

aqua-mac

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
Graphics cards cannot be flashed in real macs so they have to be done in a PC, preferably with USB floppy drive.

No need to worry now though as I now have the rom. The above was just for your info.

Thanks.

#11
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Ok, also for extracting the rom need to be don only on PC?

Cause I really dont want to flash the rom because is the original Mac versión from EVGA.

#12
aqua-mac

aqua-mac

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
Yes, it needs to be done on a PC in pure DOS from a boot disk.

Are you using your Mac 285 in a Mac Pro or Hackintosh? The Mac card should also work in a PC Hack but will need the same strings or whatever method you use to achieve QE & CI.

#13
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
I am using it on a Mac Pro (2009) with a GT120 on Slot 2, for OpenCL purposes.

On the Hackintosh I am using the 9800GTX, wich on OpenGL Viewer tests is a little bit faster than the GTX285 because the procesor is faster (3GHz Core 2 Duo) than the Mac Pro (2.26 GHz 2 Quad Xeons), but I guess that OpenGL Viewer test does not take advantage of parallel processing.

#14
!!I_got_a_Hackintosh!!

!!I_got_a_Hackintosh!!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell
LMAO..... i just made a topic about the Geforce GTX 285 (Mac verison)
after i posted it i wounder wat else you guys been post in the nVidia section.... and lmao...
ther you r... lmoa :hysterical:

#15
the.mighty

the.mighty

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

I read up on this issue with 2gig version before i bought mine and decided to go for the 1gig version instead. Worked fine with NVenabler and Chameleon RC3 detection off under SL, FWIW.


how exactly did you get your gtx285 work under snow leopard?

i tried aquamacs gfx string tutorial (with chameleon rc3) but i cant get it working.

please share your way to success.

#16
applemanik

applemanik

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi, aqua-mac! You can download it from


Please uploaded to rapidshare.de

#17
lastowl

lastowl

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:dev prison
the mirror u wanted
But in theory flashing the bios of a noraml gtx 285 with a mac gtx 285 would make it work like a Original Mac gtx 285
(But there usually is side effects, also some gtx285 use a a custom pcb like sparkle making it in compatible)

Also question for aqua mac, is it possible to extract just the efi boot rom not the entire boot rom tweak it so, just boot the efi rom meaning it still uses originals bios with additional efi

#18
djohnsto77

djohnsto77

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
Can anyone update this thread with a new link, none of these seem to work...

Thanks.

#19
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
What are you trying to accomplish?

Excuse me for assuming the worst, but if you're trying to flash a PC card with a GTX 285 Mac EFI ROM for use on a PC running OS X, you're wasting your time.

#20
rominator

rominator

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 140 posts
Mac rom for GTX285 WILL NOT FIT on any standard PC GTX285. The chip has to be 256K, they all have either 64K or 128K chips.

The only difference in the BIOS that would be meaningful is the monitor definitions. You could take the PC BIOS part off Mac 285 file and change last rom indicator to "80" and fix checksum and you would accomplish same thing and avoid soldering.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy