[How-to] Vanilla 10.6 Install for Dell Vostro 410

tagavor

7 posts in this topic

I am a rookie. This is the first time in my life I’ve used a mac, and as of this writing I have been using a mac for less than 72 hours. That said, I think I can give some pointers to other Vostro 410 users to get them on their feet with a shiny new 10.6 install.

This is not so much a guide in its own right as it is a quick reference sheet to many other guides and posts which I have shamelessly gathered this information from.

Step 1: Have a running OSX install already.

You need an existing OSX install. If you don’t have one, install 10.5.6

You can install iPC OSX 10.5.6 PPF5 in about 15 minutes by using the following options in “customize install”

§ Audio: ALC888 (Legacy)

§ ICH* SATA Patch

§ DSDT SMBIOS Patch

§ UUID Fix

§ OpenHaltRestart Fix

Step 2: DSDT.aml file

Start with the most painful process first. You need to make your dsdt.aml file.

This is the key to success if you want a vanilla install where you don’t touch any of the base OSX files.

I am very confused by the DSDT, but I was able to muster one together that is actually working pretty well for me. There are many posts on DSDT on insanelymac, and remember, I’ve only been doing this for 72 hours so if my steps don’t work I probably can’t help you J

Here is the process I used:

1. Download DSDTSE from here: http://www.osx86.es/?p=610

2. Click Tools > Extract DSDT

This will pull together a DSDT for your running 10.5 system

3. Now go ahead and click Tools > Compile DSDT

4. You will get several errors. Look at the errors, then fix them one at a time by finding the errors in the dropdown on the left that says “DSDT Fixes” and manually editing your DSDT.dsl. Go ahead and recompile until you have no more errors (I had 0 errors and 2 warnings, which seems ok so far)