lifehacker guide

sneezymarble

26 posts in this topic

I've been using various Hackintosh distributions for several years with a lot of success, and have been avoiding the retail installations because the whole process seemed daunting. However, I decided to give this recent lifehacker guide a try. It wasn't clear to me from the outset that it would work on different hardware than the hardware the author used, but after following the instructions I was able to complete a retail installation of Snow Leopard without any installation trouble at all. My specs are as follows:

GA-P35-DS3L

Core 2 Duo 3.2GHz

8GB DDR2

8600GT

500GB SATA HD

The actual installation went smoothly. I've only noticed two problems since booting into SL. First, sound isn't working. Second, it appears that Quartz Extreme isn't working as it isn't reported in "System Profiler" under the "Graphics/Display" section. Other than those two things, everything seems to be working perfectly.

Anyone else use this guide? If so, how have things gone? Also, anyone have any ideas about how to get QE and sound working with this setup?

Edit: The article is here in case you missed it in the body of the text: http://lifehacker.com/5351485/how-to-build...start-to-finish

it works, but i cant get the HDD to boot, only the USB boots SL properly. When applying the method to make the USB bootable to the HDD youve installed SL too, it does boot but i get KP at the desktop.

I dont want to use the USB anymore, i want it just to be the HDD alone booting, im close, but somethings missing.

I put all the files from the Extra folder on the USB on to the HDD with SL on it, it went further than previously, up to the desktop, but i got a KP there.

I did this with the exact hardware configuration (except different brand of RAM), and had no problems with SL. It was so simple I was shocked. It only took me 30 mins to setup bios, install SL, and be browsing firefox in SL. Crazy easy.