Jump to content

10.6 on a notebook HP nx7400


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
alex romania

alex romania

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
http://h20000.www2.h...odTypeId=321957 - The hardware

I'm running 10.5.8 Leopard without much issues, well it does crash unless i set cpus=1.

The problem is i cannot seam to install SL(i keep getting KPs at boot), so i think im not using the right kext, can someone with more experience point me to what i should be using ? to boot up at least, rest i think i can find on my own.

#2
alex romania

alex romania

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Now i dont have KPs but after it loads it just hangs like that in the pic. I cant say i notice any errors while it boots up.

Attached Files



#3
raykreisel

raykreisel

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
I would suggest to boot with "-v" so you can see where the boot is stopping.

It might also be an issue with your Intel GMA 950 graphics card. To get around this.
You could boot single user and verbose "-s -v".

then once you are in the single user shell

mount -uw /
mkdir /gfxbackup
cd /System/Library/Extensions
cp -r AppleIntelGMA* /gfxbackup
rm -r AppleIntelGMA*
exit

that will then boot using the VESA graphic drivers which should work without a problem, so that at least you can finish the install and setup. The original drivers will be in /gfxbackup

There is an alternative GMA 950 driver here

#4
alex romania

alex romania

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Hi thanks for the reply, it just dosen't load the right kext, so a boot issue, seams it works only if i load the needed kext in the /System/Library/Extensions, or more likely im doing something wrong :) the Intel card was not a issue with efi string.

#5
alex romania

alex romania

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Now it works and it does pretty well. I had to install it within my other OS X (10.5.8), made my DSDT.aml by using the windows iasl which for some reason got a working dump and the os x iasl did not, also i had to use the kext script to fix the mkext's (-s didn't work even), one thing worth mentioning is network card i use, the BCM4401 or so :) which has a driver, but sometimes it just hangs, i found that a good method to fix this by powering off the notebook and removing the battery for a few seconds, thats about it. Must but with a single Core (cpus=1), EFI string for Intel video card and last im using the Chameleon RC 3 .

To be fixed still: WiFi

#6
alex romania

alex romania

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
http://www.mediafire.com/?jljzdoitjm5 - Custom boot321 cd which i made/edit to work on NX7400. At the Chameleon boot replace the CD with the Retail DVD(or a restored partition be it on a hdd or usb) and you are set to go, have fun :D


p.s also contains my "fixed" DSDT.aml with most patches but still you cant use two Cores (it boots with cpus=1)

#7
armacell

armacell

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
Is the sleep working okay(cpu fan shutdown, disk shutdown, wake ...)?
And how is the 950gma performing? I am running leopard(not retail) and i have pluged in 22" monitor. I feel some low framerate and lag on Expose, how is it in snow?

#8
alex romania

alex romania

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Well i dont really like how is working since i can only use a core, else the cpu was working okish with intelspeedstep. The GMA was as good as one can be i suppose :wacko:

#9
ydes

ydes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
hello,
i also have nx7400 working with 10.5.8 but with only one core :-(

do you think that there is a fix for cpus=1 ? (fixing DSDT? using another kernel maybe?)

#10
fdwa1998

fdwa1998

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Any own have solution for the wireless cared

#11
Al-Baby

Al-Baby

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
HP NX7400 works with 2 CORES and Snow Leopard. Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Alex- Using your special NX7400 boot CD -I have managed to not only operate almost perfectly with my NX7400 with snow leopard and BOTH CORES!!!
The only thing that does not work is sleep -everything else operates just like my Macbook Pro.
-Alex the problem you had with your CD was that in the com.apple Boot.plist there was a small error: -arch=1386 it should be arch=i386

I used Chameleon RC3 and the Kext's,com and simbios.plist's from Alex's CD.
I then added ADi1981 driver and PS2 to the System /Library/ Exten. Then upgraded to 10.6.2.
Laptop with 1680X1050 screen and fast speed (2GHz Xbench =135) is just great!
Thanks to Alex and all the many geniuses who have allowed us to enjoy this.

If someone would tell me how to upload the software I used? -I would do this.

#12
ricki

ricki

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:peckham
what software did you use?
put them in .rar or zip file then email to fiftypence50@yahoo.co.uk


thx

#13
Al-Baby

Al-Baby

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

what software did you use?
put them in .rar or zip file then email to fiftypence50@yahoo.co.uk


thx

Here it is:-
Attached File  NX7400.zip   1.73MB   467 downloads
In addition I used the Chameleon 2 RC3 as boot loader

#14
SzTibor

SzTibor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Here it is:-
Attached File  NX7400.zip   1.73MB   467 downloads
In addition I used the Chameleon 2 RC3 as boot loader


Hi,

Can you please add a howto for newbie's on the steps to follow for having installed SL or Leopard on nx7400.
Basically what i understood is:
1. Using Alex's boot CD start the laptop
2. Using an SL/Leopard image start the installation
3. ???
4. ???
etc. ???

Many thanks for your effort.

Hi,

Can you please add a howto for newbie's on the steps to follow for having installed SL or Leopard on nx7400.
Basically what i understood is:
1. Using Alex's boot CD start the laptop
2. Using an SL/Leopard image start the installation
3. ???
4. ???
etc. ???

Many thanks for your effort.


And another question would be whether MAC update is working/is allowed to do it with this configuration? If so how can i reinstall the system specific things (DSDT.aml???) after such an update?
Sorry but i'm not an expert by far, but i managed to do such a "project" with a Dell mini 10 and i so much "fall in love" with Mac that i decided to try to do the same for my old nx7400 as well if possible.

Many thanks in advance for your answer.

#15
HruschevNS

HruschevNS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi to all!

About my installation SL 10.6 Retail on HP NX 7400 (with 2Gb RAM)

1. I install the SL 10.6 use this instriction !!! I stop at phase two (Before install PCI EFI) !!!(http://www.insanelym...p...470228&st=0)

2. Install Chamelion 2 rc3 on the patiotion where the SL was installed

3. Download "nx7400.zip" (in post upper, thanks to Al-Baby) and place the kext into folders and do REPAIR PERMISION on KEXT Utility

4. After boot not working: Lan (Broadcom 440) and wi-fi(Intel 3945 chipset). I install the kext for Broadcom from here (http://www.insanelym...p...c=201034=) from first post

5. Update to SL 10.6.3 from apple updater

After install i have the problems (not FIX):

1. The LAN was working but not stable, when i launch Safari or Mail the connection hangs.

2. HOT CPU (Thermal kext eas installed)

3. Not work with 2 cores, same problem as om 10.5.8

P.S.: Sorry for my bad English )

#16
tontate

tontate

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

HP NX7400 works with 2 CORES and Snow Leopard. Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Alex- Using your special NX7400 boot CD -I have managed to not only operate almost perfectly with my NX7400 with snow leopard and BOTH CORES!!!
The only thing that does not work is sleep -everything else operates just like my Macbook Pro.
-Alex the problem you had with your CD was that in the com.apple Boot.plist there was a small error: -arch=1386 it should be arch=i386

I used Chameleon RC3 and the Kext's,com and simbios.plist's from Alex's CD.
I then added ADi1981 driver and PS2 to the System /Library/ Exten. Then upgraded to 10.6.2.
Laptop with 1680X1050 screen and fast speed (2GHz Xbench =135) is just great!
Thanks to Alex and all the many geniuses who have allowed us to enjoy this.

If someone would tell me how to upload the software I used? -I would do this.


I don't think you're running on two cores. The com.apple.Boot.plist file is configured for cpus=1. Try changing it to cpus=2 and you'll get to enjoy all the unstability as previous.

Regardless I'm happy to be using a retail install of snow leopard even if it's only with a single core.

#17
ESPN

ESPN

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

http://www.mediafire.com/?jljzdoitjm5 - Custom boot321 cd which i made/edit to work on NX7400. At the Chameleon boot replace the CD with the Retail DVD(or a restored partition be it on a hdd or usb) and you are set to go, have fun :)


p.s also contains my "fixed" DSDT.aml with most patches but still you cant use two Cores (it boots with cpus=1)

Hi. I used this CD for my nx7300, but get this:
Posted Image
I installed very easy iDeneb 10.5.8, but with installation SL I've got many troubles.
Help appreciate.
Sorry my english, I am from Sibiria ))

#18
DaveVegas

DaveVegas

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Switzerland
Hey guys. Thank you guys very much for making it reality for me to install vanilla on my nx7400. I managed to do everything right. After I change the DVD to my Retail SL i get this error: Cant find mach_kernel

What should I do now?

Cheers

#19
oms

oms

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Finally got 10.6.4 working on NX7400 so I wanted to post how I got there maybe it will help someone else.

Here is the procedure I used to get things to work.

1. I downloaded and installed Snow_Leopard_10.6.1-10.6.2_SSE2_SSE3_Intel_AMD_by_Hazard
and installed with 10.6.2 upgrade.

2. Install Chamelion 2 rc4 on the partition where the SL was installed (Part of Hazard install)

3. Download "nx7400.zip" (in post upper, thanks to Al-Baby) and place the kext into folders and did REPAIR PERMISION on KEXT Utility

4. After boot not that much was working just had vga screen and no network at all.

5. Update to SL 10.6.4 with MacOSXUpdCombo10.6.4.dmg and ##### following upgrade procedure at:
http://tonymacx86.bl...ac-os-x-on.html

6. After upgrade the Intel GMA 950 graphics card was working correctly.

7. Bought WG111v3 at Best Buy for 39.00 and loaded Netgear Wlan Client Utility from
http://kb.netgear.co...etail/a_id/2640 . and followed the procedure from
http://wiki.osx86pro...10.6.3#Wireless

Below are still some issues:

1. On board Broadcom never got to work.

2. Cpu gets extremely hot.

3. Still could not get to work with cpus=2

Thanks for all the posts here an other locations to get this working could not have done it without the forums.
You guys are great.

#20
Al-Baby

Al-Baby

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Finally got 10.6.4 working on NX7400 so I wanted to post how I got there maybe it will help someone else.

Here is the procedure I used to get things to work.

1. I downloaded and installed Snow_Leopard_10.6.1-10.6.2_SSE2_SSE3_Intel_AMD_by_Hazard
and installed with 10.6.2 upgrade.

2. Install Chamelion 2 rc4 on the partition where the SL was installed (Part of Hazard install)

3. Download "nx7400.zip" (in post upper, thanks to Al-Baby) and place the kext into folders and did REPAIR PERMISION on KEXT Utility

4. After boot not that much was working just had vga screen and no network at all.

5. Update to SL 10.6.4 with MacOSXUpdCombo10.6.4.dmg and ##### following upgrade procedure at:
http://tonymacx86.bl...ac-os-x-on.html

6. After upgrade the Intel GMA 950 graphics card was working correctly.

7. Bought WG111v3 at Best Buy for 39.00 and loaded Netgear Wlan Client Utility from
http://kb.netgear.co...etail/a_id/2640 . and followed the procedure from
http://wiki.osx86pro...10.6.3#Wireless

Below are still some issues:

1. On board Broadcom never got to work.

2. Cpu gets extremely hot.

3. Still could not get to work with cpus=2

Thanks for all the posts here an other locations to get this working could not have done it without the forums.
You guys are great.

If you want to keep CPU cool use -f at boot time-Seems to work most times -brings temperature down from 83 to below 60-But I do not know why it works.
I have NX7400- with OSX 10.6 and both cores working





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy