Jump to content

Dell Inspiron 1545 / Snow Leopard


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
José Pablo Leyva Hernández

José Pablo Leyva Hernández

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:México D.F
Anyone know if there is a way of installing snow leopard on a dell 1545, I have searched many posts here, and the internet, but can not find anything. Any help will help. Thank you. :censored2:

#2
xieandy

xieandy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
you need to find out exactly what hardware you have....and go from there

#3
Guest: fanculo_*

Guest: fanculo_*
  • Guests
Here: http://deviato.wordp...-inspiron-1545/

#4
José Pablo Leyva Hernández

José Pablo Leyva Hernández

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:México D.F

Here: http://deviato.wordp...-inspiron-1545/


I had seen sta page but wanted to know if you can not upgrade to Snow Leopard (10.6)

#5
sj1956

sj1956

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Anyone know if there is a way of installing snow leopard on a dell 1545, I have searched many posts here, and the internet, but can not find anything. Any help will help. Thank you. ;)



I used this [Guide] Vanilla Retail 10.6.1 with Chameleon v2 RC3 for Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L - InsanelyMac Forum
I followed the boot CD part, but after installation, I used the same CD to boot. Then I used VoodooHDA for sound. Ethernet was detected, but I didn't try wireless kexts yet. It wasn't supported out of the box. I need something for graphics though. I installed Chameleon RC3, with its boot file, and edited themes to my liking. I installed PS2 drivers from the boot disc to get the keyboard and trackpad to work. I also edited smbios.plist and com.apple.boot.plist to work on my system. Resoultion (1366x768x32) doesn't work. After that, no need for boot disc.
Hope this helped/helps. ;)

#6
myska

myska

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Female
Yes I confirm SL 10.6.2 works fine on inspiron 1545. Let me know if you need help.

#7
wmarsh

wmarsh

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 900 posts

Yes I confirm SL 10.6.2 works fine on inspiron 1545. Let me know if you need help.

How about the graphics?

Mine has ATI Mobility Radeon HD4330.
I know we have new kexts for Radeon, and netkas has been working with injectors, but I have not seen this supported yet.

#8
myska

myska

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Female
@ wmarsh
Mine is an Intel GMA 4500 MHD. Recently it's been possible to get native resolution of 1366 x 768 (http://www.insanelym...howtopic=188279). Although it's a big improvement it still not supports QE/CI though. Fortunately wireless, sound, ethernet, webcam, etc... are fully supported. As I know that many people are willing to develop these drivers, I hope that someone will end up finding a solution to this problem.

#9
LC Chumley

LC Chumley

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Yes I confirm SL 10.6.2 works fine on inspiron 1545. Let me know if you need help.


I would love to pick your brain on this. I have a recently purchased Insipron 1545 that I would like to dual boot Snow Leopard on. I have the Snow Leopard retail DVD and have tried both the Boot-132 and the Lifehacker thumb drive method to no avail. I get the 'Still Waiting for Root Device' issue. Is there any changes that I should be making to the BIOS (different from default), I thought it looked fine but I have to admit to being a hackintosh novice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#10
myska

myska

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Female

I would love to pick your brain on this. I have a recently purchased Insipron 1545 that I would like to dual boot Snow Leopard on. I have the Snow Leopard retail DVD and have tried both the Boot-132 and the Lifehacker thumb drive method to no avail. I get the 'Still Waiting for Root Device' issue. Is there any changes that I should be making to the BIOS (different from default), I thought it looked fine but I have to admit to being a hackintosh novice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


I'm quite new to this too.
First, I made this install on an external USB drive and I used this method: How to install Snow Leopard on a PC

After the install was done, I added these kexts to \Extra\Extensions:

- AppleACPIPS2Nub.kext
- fakesmc.kext
- NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
- OpenHaltRestart.kext
- PlatformUUID.kext
- VoodooPS2Controller.kext
- SleepEnabler.kext (to install after updating to 10.6.2)
- VoodooBattery.kext

Extensions folder: Here
Some of them may not be required.

Edit: By using Deviato's method with his patched Chameleon Bootloader 2 RC4, there's no need any more to add dsdt nor patched AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext and you can even run SL in x64. See here: http://deviato.wordp...r-snow-leopard/

Here is my com.apple.Boot.plist in \Extra:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>

<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>arch=x86 GraphicsEnabler=No</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>5</string>
</dict>
</plist>

I also added this specific dsdt associated with this graphic card kext so that I could get the native resolution 1366 x 768 (see this topic for more info: x4500). The dsdt has to be installed into the root of your mac drive.

dsdt + graphic kext with instructions (all credit goes to lavender.t, jasim and ahhkolaa) : Here

Then I installed Chameleon 2 RC3 RC4 to make SL bootable.

Kexts to place in \System\Library\Extensions:

Audio: Here
Wireless: Here

To add kexts to \System\Library\Extensions and repair permissions, use this: Kext Utility x64.

Then I downloaded and ran the 10.6.2 combo updater: Here

When everything was working fine, I cloned my SL partition from my USB drive, using carbon copy cloner, to a Mac OS Extended formatted partition on my internal HDD.

You can find other kexts on kexts.com if you need more.

Hope this helps.

#11
LC Chumley

LC Chumley

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

I'm quite new to this too.
First, I made this install on an external USB drive and I used this method: How to install Snow Leopard on a PC

...



Thanks! Very detailed, I'll give this a shot and let you know how it works!

#12
wmarsh

wmarsh

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 900 posts

Anyone know if there is a way of installing snow leopard on a dell 1545, I have searched many posts here, and the internet, but can not find anything. Any help will help. Thank you. :)

I can confirm SL works great on Inspiron 1545
ICH9-M works - not sure if native or from Chameleon 2 RC3 kexts
ATI Graphics remains problematic
Wireless works with modified IO80211Family.kext
Keyboard works with VoodooPS2.kext
Sound works with VoodooHDA.kext
dsdt fix is not needed
Prasys' SMBios.plist makes it show up as MacBook Air

My only issue is I have to use a mouse as I have not gotten touchpad working yet.
Will post an install guide once I get that fixed.

EDIT--here it is:
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=197713

#13
sri1225

sri1225

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

I can confirm SL works great on Inspiron 1545
ICH9-M works - not sure if native or from Chameleon 2 RC3 kexts
ATI Graphics work with netkas' Graphics Enabler and modified kexts
Wireless works with modified IO80211Family.kext
Keyboard works with VoodooPS2.kext
Sound works with VoodooHDA.kext
dsdt fix is not needed
Prasys' SMBios.plist makes it show up as MacBook Air

My only issue is I have to use a mouse as I have not gotten touchpad working yet.
Will post an install guide once I get that fixed.

EDIT--here it is:
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=197713



#14
doriean

doriean

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco
  • Interests:Modding,Robotics,Hacking,Computers,Electronics, And Everything Naruto. !
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=203728

Go Here For Everything You Need To Install Snow Leopard On The Dell 1545

#15
Mipf06

Mipf06

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Bs.As. Argentina
Hi people!! I can confirm SL works great. Inspiron 1545 is a wonderfull machine. I've dual boot. 3 partitions.

c: W 7

D: documents

E: SL

Everything working fine!!! Mac is the best!!! :D

#16
shikhar623

shikhar623

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NBA

Hi people!! I can confirm SL works great. Inspiron 1545 is a wonderfull machine. I've dual boot. 3 partitions.

c: W 7

D: documents

E: SL

Everything working fine!!! Mac is the best!!! ;)


what are QE and CI ?
is there any major loss, as these cannot be enabled on 1545?

#17
StarsEcho

StarsEcho

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Anyone know if there is a way of installing snow leopard on a dell 1545, I have searched many posts here, and the internet, but can not find anything. Any help will help. Thank you. :rolleyes:


yes its possible, kind of complicated xD but possible


first check
http://macyourpc.com...oot-132-method/

i followed that

i used the vid and sound from here
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=203728

i still have problems when turning on the pc sometimes i have to restarted about 3 times
and need to fix the key board but everything else is working gr8

#18
Stephen Howard

Stephen Howard

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Yes I confirm SL 10.6.2 works fine on inspiron 1545. Let me know if you need help.

yea i'm replying to a kind of an old post but im help my friend on youtube. he has a dell inspiron 1545 laptop and he is trying to run snow leopard. everything works except quartz extreme. we tried using the myhack installer (whick fixed the resolution problem right away for my dell xps m1530) but it didnt work. then we tried editing his com.apple.boot.plist and that also didn't work. so, any help?

#19
cvgoldensun

cvgoldensun

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Ok so I am totally n00bsome here and I just have to ask: what steps must I follow exactly to dual-boot Win7 and SL on a brand-spanking-new Inspiron 1545 with Win7 already installed?

#20
jaytiw

jaytiw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Ok so I am totally n00bsome here and I just have to ask: what steps must I follow exactly to dual-boot Win7 and SL on a brand-spanking-new Inspiron 1545 with Win7 already installed?


Ok I was in the exact same sitch as you, even bought my laptop around the same time.

I'm no good at writing guides and stuff so I'll just let you know what I did in a rough outline:

Firstly, This page helped me a lot, as did google. The following is merely my own fairly haphazard recommendations.

1. Created partition in Windows 7 about 30gb, formatted it as HTF or HTS or something.. It was whatever the one that wasn't NTFS.
2. Downloaded "SNOWLEO MAC Snow Leopard OSX86_64 For INTEL/AMD 32/64 MBR/GUID" from TPB and burnt the iso to DVD
3. Pop the DVD in, restart and boot from DVD
4. The installer should start running
5. Click on Utilities at the top then Disk Utility (I'm doing this from memory so this may be a bit different)
6. Select the partition I created and press erase
7. Continue the installation and customize it with the kexts ApplePS2 and VoodooHDA (for keyboard/mouse and sound respectively)
8. Run installer
9. Reboot computer when its done

..Right, now here's where it gets a bit murky. I rebooted automatically into Windows 7, and the only way to access snow leopard was to boot from the DVD and not press anything when the screen with the options pops up.

So, I installed "EasyBCD" on Windows and added Mac OS X to the bootloader, as "generic pc x86"
Restart computer and hey presto! Dual boot capabilities!
This is all from memory though, and may not work in places, I mostly got it running through a great 3 days of trial and error. I must have reinstalled SL a good 10 times.

Oh and if you have a Broadcom wireless card, install bcm43xx.sh and wireless should work

Good Luck!





3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy