Jump to content

[TOTALLY VANILLA] Retail Snow Leopard


  • Please log in to reply
529 replies to this topic

#81
dotjuice

dotjuice

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Managed to get in to desktop. Have a GeForce 7800 Go gfx card and the mouse pointer stutters when moving around on the desktop.


I've read every possible tutorial on the net to install Snow Leopard and this one is by far the best so far. I would like to send special thanks to the developer of this method.

I have one major problem though and can't seem to figure out what to do. I'm able to boot from the USB installer without any KP's but my monitor goes into standby as soon as the USB installer starts booting

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks

I have a Geforce 7800 GTX from a Dell XPS 600 BTW

#82
MACinized

MACinized

    Addicted to InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OSx86 Community

I've read every possible tutorial on the net to install Snow Leopard and this one is by far the best so far. I would like to send special thanks to the developer of this method.

I have one major problem though and can't seem to figure out what to do. I'm able to boot from the USB installer without any KP's but my monitor goes into standby as soon as the USB installer starts booting

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks

I have a Geforce 7800 GTX from a Dell XPS 600 BTW

restart from top. try removing NVEnabler.kext from the KEXTs folder.

[UPDATE]

there seems to be a number of users having issues w/ their graphics. updated MacLoader_SL kit (i.e. removed NVEnabler.kext). either u don't need any graphics-related kext or may just add your tested-working-kext or efi-string.

anyone interested to try NVEnabler, click here.

#83
BrumBrum74

BrumBrum74

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
Is there a way to add kexts to the system without using Update script and not touching original SL kexts? Is there a hidden place where the kexts are stored that can be shown to add kexts?

#84
MACinized

MACinized

    Addicted to InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OSx86 Community

Is there a way to add kexts to the system without using Update script and not touching original SL kexts? Is there a hidden place where the kexts are stored that can be shown to add kexts?

MacLoader uses kext cache. it is located in the Extra folder of the MacLoader volume/partition. 4_Updater just makes a cache of all kexts that are inside the KEXTs folder. so all u need to do is manage the kexts inside the KEXTs folder (add/remove). 4_Updater is not putting any extra kext in the system. that's the whole point of my goal of having a "totally vanilla" snowleo. ;) 4_Updater updates the MacLoader volume/partition & NOT the "Snow Leopard" partition.

anyway, u may also grab my mkextMaker (see sig) & then u can just replace the Extensions.mkext that's inside the Extra folder of MacLoader w/ the Extensions.mkext created by the mkextMaker. just remember that this can already be automated by 4_Updater. ;)

#85
kiu777

kiu777

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts
;))-->
QUOTE (;) @ Sep 5 2009, 03:57 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Did you run the same code twice on same HD? did you exit terminal after every .sh (just to be safe)
cause i had 0 problem with this guide though just the last update part.

I did fail the first time i follow this guide as i had no idea what to put in the
"Where do you want to setup the bootloader?"
part and had
chmod: /Volumes/MacLoader/Extra/Extensions.mkext: Not a directory
chown: /Volumes/MacLoader/Extra/Extensions.mkext: Not a directory
error
My solution was to redo everything again and it worked.[/quote]

I tried it multiple and in different ways. As I said: when I use Chameleon-2.0-RC2-r640 manual then the neccessary folders appear. But not when using the script. The MacLoader partition is deleted then an blank.

#86
Trograin

Trograin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:A lot as long as there is Eye Candy involved and maybe sci-fi, and technology..and mostly to dre...

u can remove the NVEnabler.kext inside the KEXTs folder of the MacLoader_SL kit. efi-strings can be added to the com.apple.Boot.plist that can be found inside the Extra folder of both the SnowLeoInstaller and MacLoader volume/partitions.


i don't know how it happens in your case but that blank screen w/ only blinking underscore means no bootloader is found.


if u were following this guide & u were already successful in installing snowleo, try rebooting w/ your SnowLeoInstaller. at timeout, interrupt boot then select the Snow Leopard partition (or wherever u installed snowleo) and press [ENTER]. regarding the usb-fix, i believe there's also a guide to patch dsdt provided by ApexDE.


I did manage to install, there where no problems there at all. I then rebooted With SnowLeoInstaller and interupted the boot and selected the main HD where I had putted my snow Leo on ( First boot disk Disk 0 that is). It is when Snow Leo was then starting to startup that it hangs with all the errors.

#87
Wyzco

Wyzco

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jamaica
  • Interests:Computer and Technology, And female :-)
i Booted with -v and this is the error i got, can u help me to solve it?

Attached Files



#88
MACinized

MACinized

    Addicted to InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OSx86 Community

:))--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (:P @ Sep 5 2009, 03:57 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Did you run the same code twice on same HD? did you exit terminal after every .sh (just to be safe)
cause i had 0 problem with this guide though just the last update part.

I did fail the first time i follow this guide as i had no idea what to put in the

"Where do you want to setup the bootloader?"
part and had
chmod: /Volumes/MacLoader/Extra/Extensions.mkext: Not a directory
chown: /Volumes/MacLoader/Extra/Extensions.mkext: Not a directory
error
My solution was to redo everything again and it worked.

I tried it multiple and in different ways. As I said: when I use Chameleon-2.0-RC2-r640 manual then the neccessary folders appear. But not when using the script. The MacLoader partition is deleted then an blank.

i already made a reply for u on post#72.

#89
kiu777

kiu777

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

chameleon was being installed in your system-volume (i.e. Snow Leopard). check if your "Snow Leopard" partition already has the "Extra" folder.


It has no Extra folder.

before u run "3_MacLoader", make sure to remove/unmount any other drives named "MacLoader". if u also have a folder named "MacLoader", rename it first.


There is no folder with this name and this time I renamed the "MacLoader" partition to "Loader" before starting "3_MacLoader". I even changed the system volume "Snow Leopard" to "Leo". Result was: both volumes disappear for a shot time, Loader was deleted and renamed as "Macloader" but is still empty an even Leo has noch Extras folder on it.

i'd recommend u restart w/ partitioning your target disk but u have to make sure no other volume/partition/folder is already named "MacLoader".


This time there was no "MacLoader"

or u may also try erasing/renaming your "MacLoader" partition (aka "MacLoader 1") to anything, say Booter then edit the line 43 of macloader.sh inside the ScriptFiles folder to wit:

diskutil eraseVolume "HFS+" "SnowLeoBooter" /dev/disk${DISKNUMBER}s$PARTITIONNUMBER > /dev/null
change "MacLoader" to "SnowLeoBooter" or any other name you like but give it a name w/out any [space].


I have to change the Line "MACLOADER=/Volumes/MacLoader"
and I have to use a absolutely new name.
My error was to name it MacLoader during partitioning of the drive.
Now the script runs ;-)

Now I have to restart and see..

#90
MACinized

MACinized

    Addicted to InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OSx86 Community

It has no Extra folder.



There is no folder with this name and this time I renamed the "MacLoader" partition to "Loader" before starting "3_MacLoader". I even changed the system volume "Snow Leopard" to "Leo". Result was: both volumes disappear for a shot time, Loader was deleted and renamed as "Macloader" but is still empty an even Leo has noch Extras folder on it.



This time there was no "MacLoader"



I have to change the Line "MACLOADER=/Volumes/MacLoader"
and I have to use a absolutely new name.
My error was to name it MacLoader during partitioning of the drive.
Now the script runs ;-)

Now I have to restart and see..

good luck. :)

#91
^_^

^_^

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of the raising sun

Wow, I think using this guide was easier than all of the Vanilla retail installs I did. I think this is the most vanilla install of leopard/snow leopard I've ever done.

Right now the only problems I have are I have no audio and all my hard drives show up as a yellow square.

The smallest I could get the Mac Loader partition was 1.07gb. I guess thats not too bad since I have it on a 250gb drive so loosing a gigabyte of space wont be too bad.

Its not that huge of a problem, but I cant get my Snow Leopard OS drive to show up on the desktop. The hdd I used for the installer shows up, but Snow Leopard nor MacLoader (not too concerned about this one though).

If anyone has the ALC889a audio chipset and got sound working, how did you get it to work?

Specs:
Gigabyte EP35 DS4
Q6600
6gb ram
XFX 8800gs, 384mb


Thanks for this guide, it has been the easiest and most successful guide I have ever used to install an apple OS on my computer.


mine ep35-ds4 works using voodooHDA.kext

#92
chevy2410

chevy2410

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 420 posts
Hey all,

I having some issues installing Snow Leo. So I've built the SnowLeoInstaller on a 8gb USB drive and copied over my kexts files and efi strings for graphics to com.apple.plist. I don't have any errors upon compiling my usb installer. So everything looks good to go.

After rebooting and choosing SnowLeoInstaller, the usb drive starts booting. It gets to a point where the SnowLeo install screen starts to come up, so it goes from blue to grey and then sits on the grey screen with the mouse pointer in the top left side on the screen. It doesn't go any further than that. Does anyone know what's up with that? Have I missed a step?

Thanks,
Chevy

#93
kiu777

kiu777

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts
Your wishes did not help.
I will stop experiments now. They take to much time an I have not enough knowledge about this stuff.

It will not boot, when I select the Snow Leopard volume I get a permanent spinning wheels (out of black lines) thts all.

But one question: Do you have an idea why booting with the SL usb drive (SL installer) there are no SATA drives shown?

#94
skierguy

skierguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
Okay I am having some serious problems now ;)(

I keep getting kp's on startup: pmap_remove range empty hash...

Plus it keeps resetting my bios which means I have to set it to AHCI every time before I start.

Please help!!! I can't boot up with -v -f -x -s either.

I can boot into the SL disc partition I have so am going to restore my macloader partition to the leopard version so I can boot into leopard again. :(

#95
wildleaf

wildleaf

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Thank you for this great manual. I tried but had an AHCI issue which drove me mad. ;)

My config is:
EP35-DS3L
Core Duo E7200
AHCI native mode in Bios
Currently running Leopard 10.5.7 stable

I cannot boot into the installer. Below is the KP I got everytime using -v option.
I've tried adding both AHCIPortInjector.kext and IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext without luck. I've also tried putting the LegacyAppleAHCIPort but that didn't work either.
Please help me. Thanks a lot!

Attached File  KP3.jpg   191.03KB   75 downloads

#96
Branhower

Branhower

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
I found a properly compiled dsdt.aml for the 1000he, but this just reduces the time it takes to get to the error :( . Still on "launch_msg(): Socket is not connected".

If it helps, here's a quote from a "bug" line:

"Bug: launchctl.c:3557 (23930):17: ioctl(s6, SIOCAIFADDR_IN6, &ifra6) !=-1"

And then it goes to create RAM disks, but fails with return error 0x6b.

I read somewhere that editing the contents of IntelPIXATTA.kext fixes many hard drive related issues, which it seems like this is. Any confirmation behind that? Also, I'm not sure if the 1000he uses IDE emulation or AHCI for data transfer to the hard drive. I'm assuming it's IDE, since there's an "IDE Configuration" option in the BIOS.

#97
finebykris

finebykris

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
Im having problems using your script for SnowLeoInstaller........

"Where do you want to setup the SnowLeoInstaller? => /Volumes/SnowLeoInstaller
ERROR!! /Volumes/SnowLeoInstaller cannot be found!
"

Its right there, I can see it, its mounted and visible on my desktop... can you tell me how I can get this to work?

#98
MACinized

MACinized

    Addicted to InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OSx86 Community

I might have some interesting news but need to find out why I'm getting this error.

ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::start - waitForService( resourceMatching(AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement) timed out

My installed kexts are as follows...

UUID.kext
Sleepenabler.kext
PCGenUli526xEthernet.kext
NVinject.kext
kXAudioDriver.kext
JMicronATAInjector.kext
fakesmc.kext
Disabler.kext
AppleRTC.kext
AppleIntelPIIXATA.kext

I've managed to boot into SL earlier today and all seemed fine except it would halt and ask to restart after a few minutes once booted into SL

I used this guide and changed a few things by installing all the necessary files manually into the EFI partition and making it bootable with fdisk. I'm hoping to post detailed instructions soon but until I get rid of this error I can't promise much.

If there is anyone out there that know how to get pas this problem, please let me know and I'll let you guys know how to utilize the EFI partition as supposed to creating a separate one for the "MacLoader"

Thanks

there's really nothing much to do if u want to use this method in the EFI-partition. all's needed is to mount the hidden EFI-partition, then instead of formatting it as "MacLoader", format it as "EFI". ;)

Hey all,

I having some issues installing Snow Leo. So I've built the SnowLeoInstaller on a 8gb USB drive and copied over my kexts files and efi strings for graphics to com.apple.plist. I don't have any errors upon compiling my usb installer. So everything looks good to go.

After rebooting and choosing SnowLeoInstaller, the usb drive starts booting. It gets to a point where the SnowLeo install screen starts to come up, so it goes from blue to grey and then sits on the grey screen with the mouse pointer in the top left side on the screen. It doesn't go any further than that. Does anyone know what's up with that? Have I missed a step?

Thanks,
Chevy

u may try removing first your graphics-efi-strings from Boot.plist. since u were using graphics-efi-strings, i would believe u no longer have any video/graphics-kext inside the KEXTs folder (e.g NVEnabler, NVinject, etc.).

Okay I am having some serious problems now :((

I keep getting kp's on startup: pmap_remove range empty hash...

Plus it keeps resetting my bios which means I have to set it to AHCI every time before I start.

Please help!!! I can't boot up with -v -f -x -s either.

I can boot into the SL disc partition I have so am going to restore my macloader partition to the leopard version so I can boot into leopard again. :)

u were able to install snowleo but u don't have your (patched) DSDT.aml which causes the cmos-reset.

don't use the -f boot-flag. try using -v -x32.

#99
MACinized

MACinized

    Addicted to InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OSx86 Community

Im having problems using your script for SnowLeoInstaller........

"Where do you want to setup the SnowLeoInstaller? => /Volumes/SnowLeoInstaller
ERROR!! /Volumes/SnowLeoInstaller cannot be found!
"

Its right there, I can see it, its mounted and visible on my desktop... can you tell me how I can get this to work?

type-in just SnowLeoInstaller not "/Volumes/SnowLeoInstaller". remove "/Volumes/".

#100
gerhold

gerhold

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ulm
Hi all,

first - thanks for this impressive tutorial :(

I tried to follow it and was not successful, but never mind - just start debugging now :)
When I followed the steps, all went fine (1_GetDSDT and 2_DSDTpatcher) but in the output I found two errors, which I do not understand.
Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL Optimizing Compiler version 20080926 [Oct  4 2008]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2008 Intel Corporation
Supports ACPI Specification Revision 3.0a

./dsdt_fixed.txt   222:	 Method (\_WAK, 1, NotSerialized)
Warning  1080 -						 ^ Reserved method must return a value (_WAK)

./dsdt_fixed.txt   285:			 Store (Local0, Local0)
Error	4050 -								 ^ Method local variable is not initialized (Local0)

./dsdt_fixed.txt   290:			 Store (Local0, Local0)
Error	4050 -								 ^ Method local variable is not initialized (Local0)

./dsdt_fixed.txt  3861:									 Return (0x01)
Warning  1099 -							   Statement is unreachable ^ 

./dsdt_fixed.txt  3994:								 If (LEqual (Arg2, 0x03))
Warning  1099 -						 Statement is unreachable ^ 

ASL Input:  ./dsdt_fixed.txt - 5680 lines, 189870 bytes, 2436 keywords
AML Output: ./dsdt.aml - 18094 bytes, 636 named objects, 1800 executable opcodes

Compilation complete. 2 Errors, 3 Warnings, 0 Remarks, 716 Optimizations



Compiling done, if it worked, you have now a patched DSDT in dsdt.aml
If the compiling went wrong, you could force to build it with ./DSDT\ Patcher -f (try this DSDT at your own risk)


logout

[Prozess beendet]

Can someone give me some hint about this message?


Thanks Gerhold


******************************************
GA-EP45-DQ6
Q6600
8GB RAM
10.5.8





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy