Jump to content

OpenCL Benches: OLD


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
32 replies to this topic

#1
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
All OpenCL GPU FPS Benches : Galaxies_16K +Grass+Displacement+ AO (raytraycing CPU/GPU) + Transpose Bandwith )(new)
10.6 ONLY!


OLD THREAD, Informations now in the Main OpenCL Bench thread

Main OpenCL Thread

#2
Sherry Haibara

Sherry Haibara

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 699 posts
MacBook Pro 13", GPU GeForce 9400M

running at 6,25 fps (6-6,50). Seems a pretty heavy simulation, since the system slows down when running.

Sherry Haibara

#3
DAMNiaTX

DAMNiaTX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
mitchde, can i request benchmark application that can run all device(ALL GPU +CPU) for do one calculation ?, so we can know the maximum points in one machine ?, Or is it imposible now ?

#4
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Not impossilbe but at this time OpenCL is very new and the Benches may vary much(good)or near no (bad) between different CPU/GPUs.
So its better to run first different benches and after that look which benches are really usefull and which not.
My first o25 OpenCL Bench i, after longer tests, NOT USEFUL anymore. Not because of to less differences in the result, its the OpenCL work, which is to less real/to less complex (only an vector add).

qJulia, in theory, should perform much more real world (number crunching, weather simulation, ....) OpenCL results.

If qJulia shows good differences between cards it can later be used for such an allinone Bench.
But first we must collect the results of very different gpus.


#5
DAMNiaTX

DAMNiaTX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Not impossilbe but at this time OpenCL is very new and the Benches may vary much(good)or near no (bad) between different CPU/GPUs.
So its better to run first different benches and after that look which benches are really usefull and which not.
My first o25 OpenCL Bench i, after longer tests, NOT USEFUL anymore. Not because of to less differences in the result, its the OpenCL work, which is to less real/to less complex (only an vector add).

qJulia, in theory, should perform much more real world (number crunching, weather simulation, ....) OpenCL results.

If qJulia shows good differences between cards it can later be used for such an allinone Bench.
But first we must collect the results of very different gpus.


ok mitch_de, thanks.
:D

will post it at macrumors.

#6
macwanabe

macwanabe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
QJulia1024 Results

8800 GT 22.46 FPS

Grass 56.97 fps

#7
JBeed

JBeed

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
2.4GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, 8600M GT (256MB)

qJulia (800x800):
static shows 10 - 11 FPS
animated shows 9 - 11 FPS

Grass:
27 - 29 FPS

#8
wesux

wesux

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Sadly this fails with the Radeon 4870. ATI really need to write a new driver for this stuff. Anyway, print off from my terminal:
Creating Texture 800 x 800...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Using active OpenGL context...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Connecting to AMD Radeon HD 4870...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Loading kernel source from file 'qjulia_kernel.cl'...
Error: Failed to build program executable!

Failed to setup compute kernel! Error 1


#9
proengin

proengin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
i920 Overclocked to 4.4Ghz, 1760Mhz DDR3, PCIE-100Mhz, eVGA GTX-285 1024MB

QJulia

~98.79fps

QJulia1024

~ 46.70fps

Grass

~95.50 fps

#10
DAMNiaTX

DAMNiaTX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
mitch_de, i can't use 9600GT with this benchmark(grass, qjulia, 1024).
any suggestion....?

#11
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany

Sadly this fails with the Radeon 4870. ATI really need to write a new driver for this stuff. Anyway, print off from my terminal:

Creating Texture 800 x 800...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Using active OpenGL context...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Connecting to AMD Radeon HD 4870...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Loading kernel source from file 'qjulia_kernel.cl'...
Error: Failed to build program executable!

Failed to setup compute kernel! Error 1


I am in contact with the AMD Apple Develeoper Division to get that problem fixed. But maybe, it belongs to the OpenCL Framework / ATI OpenCL features it cant be fixed by changes in the app, only by OS X update or making changes to the OpenCL Source (the .cl file) as an workaround which isnt really the thinking of an universal OpenCL (vendor universal).



mitch_de, i can't use 9600GT with this benchmark(grass, qjulia, 1024).
any suggestion....?


First :
Snow Leopard needed. Also the 9600GT must run normal, means OpenGL must be available+working and not use only the framebuffer mode (like safe boot, only 1024x768 vga mode).


If you use 10.6 and also can run OpenGL Apps (like OpenGLExtensionsViewer):
What excat happens ?
Any messages in the console listed about the start of the OpenCL apps ?

#12
DAMNiaTX

DAMNiaTX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

First :
Snow Leopard needed. Also the 9600GT must run normal, means OpenGL must be available+working and not use only the framebuffer mode (like safe boot, only 1024x768 vga mode).


If you use 10.6 and also can run OpenGL Apps (like OpenGLExtensionsViewer):
What excat happens ?
Any messages in the console listed about the start of the OpenCL apps ?


yes, its in normal mode.

Last login: Thu Sep  3 14:38:01 on console
Rheza-Pahlevis-MacBook-Pro:~ Rheza$ cd /Users/Rheza/Desktop/OpenCl/OpenCL_Qjulia_GPU 
Rheza-Pahlevis-MacBook-Pro:OpenCL_Qjulia_GPU Rheza$ /Users/Rheza/Desktop/OpenCl/OpenCL_Qjulia_GPU/qjulia 
Creating Texture 800 x 800...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Using active OpenGL context...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Connecting to NVIDIA GeForce 9400M...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Loading kernel source from file 'qjulia_kernel.cl'...
Creating kernel 'QJuliaKernel'...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Allocating compute result image in device memory...
Starting event loop...
2009-09-03 14:41:43.701 qjulia[1130:903] Can't open input server /Library/InputManagers/MultiClutchInputManager.bundle

as u can see there, its only run in 9400m.

#13
wesux

wesux

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

I am in contact with the AMD Apple Develeoper Division to get that problem fixed. But maybe, it belongs to the OpenCL Framework / ATI OpenCL features it cant be fixed by changes in the app, only by OS X update or making changes to the OpenCL Source (the .cl file) as an workaround which isnt really the thinking of an universal OpenCL (vendor universal).


Hopefully they'll fix this, they did advertise that the 4870 would work with OpenCL but since applications, even ones compiled from Apple source crash they probably will fix this in the next major SL update. Hope the guy from the AMD division comes back with good news.

#14
erik.dv

erik.dv

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
OpenCL Qjulia GPU
MacPro 8x2.8 Ghz / GF8800 GT
50 fps

qJulia1024
MacPro 8x2.8 Ghz / GF8800 GT
22 fps

Grass
MacPro 8x2.8 Ghz / GF8800 GT
55 fps

Pretty similar to others results.

#15
giubeppe

giubeppe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Sadly this fails with the Radeon 4870. ATI really need to write a new driver for this stuff. Anyway, print off from my terminal:

Creating Texture 800 x 800...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Using active OpenGL context...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Connecting to AMD Radeon HD 4870...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Loading kernel source from file 'qjulia_kernel.cl'...
Error: Failed to build program executable!

Failed to setup compute kernel! Error 1


That test is using float3 that is not standard. Removing the definition and changing in the code not to use gl texture makes Julia running, though slowly, because memory has to moved back and forth to the graphic card, on Ati4870. The apple tests are old and not compliant with latest opencl specs (that SL comes with).
On the 4870 and Julia I get 16 fps at all times.

#16
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
ATI gpus ahave major problems with OpenCL. ATI does know that and started to get that fixed.
They also got near none of the Apple OpenCL Source to run:


form ATI OS X divison dev team:
Thank you for the quick response and I hope you extend the benchmark application since it’s a really good idea. Regarding the sample applications posted on the developer.apple.com website (eg. Galaxies, Qjulia, etc), we are aware that some fail (or even crash) on AMD hardware and working to track down all these issues. We suspect that most of these issues will be resolved for the next graphics driver update in Snow Leopard.

BTW, I ran the demos on a iMac with a Radeon 4850 and I get the following results:

============================================================
Sample Application Result
============================================================
1. Trajectories Runs
2. OpenCL Hello World Example Runs
3. OpenCL Procedural Geometric Displacement Example Runs
4. OpenCL Parallel Reduction Example Runs
5. OpenCL Matrix Transpose Example Runs
6. OpenCL RayTraced Quaternion Julia-Set Example Fails
7. OpenCL Procedural Noise Example Fails
8. OpenCL Procedural Grass and Terrain Example Fails
9. OpenCL Parallel Prefix Sum (aka Scan) Example Fails
10. OpenCL NBody Simulation Example Crash

#17
wesux

wesux

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
That's fantastic news Mitch! It'll be great to have my 4870 on the 2006 Mac Pro working with OpenCL. I was wanting to learn some OpenCL stuff but since my hardware currently isn't compatible, until they fix the drivers, I'll hopefully only be a month or two behind.

P.S. your link for the ATI Procedural Geometric Displacement FPS Bench isn't working properly.

I compiled my own copy of it so here are my results:

OpenCL Procedural Geometric Displacement
Using 4870 1GB on Mac pro (1,1) 2.66Ghz 4GB RAM

60FPS White Background & Shadow
60FPS Texture & Background
Running at 1024x768

I'm pretty happy with that since the drivers aren't complete for the 4870 yet.

#18
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany

That's fantastic news Mitch! It'll be great to have my 4870 on the 2006 Mac Pro working with OpenCL. I was wanting to learn some OpenCL stuff but since my hardware currently isn't compatible, until they fix the drivers, I'll hopefully only be a month or two behind.

P.S. your link for the ATI Procedural Geometric Displacement FPS Bench isn't working properly.

I compiled my own copy of it so here are my results:

OpenCL Procedural Geometric Displacement
Using 4870 1GB on Mac pro (1,1) 2.66Ghz 4GB RAM

60FPS White Background & Shadow
60FPS Texture & Background

Running at 1024x768

I'm pretty happy with that since the drivers aren't complete for the 4870 yet.


Do ypu have an TFT ?
because same 60 FPS
Check if yoo have beam sncy aktice.
Go to the Menu of the running Bench (right of Apple Menue entry) and to Preferences.....
There is an sync entry which should not be set
Then quit and restart the app again and look if there are changes.
The above doesnt really matter if you are on normal monitor (100+ Hz) but TFT 60Hz may limit gpu bench to 60 FPS.
If same FPS without that sync in preferences, i will post the values as they are. Sure, 60 / 60 FPS are possile :rolleyes:

#19
wesux

wesux

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I'm not on a TFT but its the 60/60 could be because I'm testing it via Apple Remote Desktop. When I got into work in two days I'll run it again, see if the results are different.

#20
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Thanks - the TFT or not difference does only affect on the Mac which on which the app is running (=ARD Client) not the ARD Host Mac which - TFT on ARD Host doesnt matter;!
An new way of number crunching: ARD OpenCL ;)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy