Jump to content

borisbadenov ATI X1000-series Solution


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1380 replies to this topic

#81
ohpossum

ohpossum

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
I am going to be very surprised if this works for anything put an x1600 (and probably not all x1600s). I bet ATINDRV has some binary checks for the correct dev_id and its only got timings for a few versions of x1600.

Perhaps I'm wrong, but isn't ATINDRV's lack of support the whole reason for Callisto? Are they not both low level framebuffers? I'm still trying to get my head around the whole IOKit architecture...(I'm not a developer and don't pretend to be one. I'm just trying to understand how all this stuff works)

I'm still baffled on how a kext that shouldn't even load could make so much difference.

Could someone who has this working do a kextstat and post whether ATINDRV is loaded?

#82
Deetman

Deetman

    OSx86 Project Web Guy

  • Retired
  • 88 posts
$ kextstat | grep ATI
55 0 0x2f2ba000 0x32000 0x31000 com.apple.kext.ATINDRV (4.2.6) <54 53 11>
65 0 0x2f3a4000 0x48000 0x47000 com.apple.ATIRadeonX1000 (4.2.6) <54 53 16 11>

#83
borisbadenov

borisbadenov

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Location:Hyde 2612

$ kextstat | grep ATI
55 0 0x2f2ba000 0x32000 0x31000 com.apple.kext.ATINDRV (4.2.6) <54 53 11>
65 0 0x2f3a4000 0x48000 0x47000 com.apple.ATIRadeonX1000 (4.2.6) <54 53 16 11>




Here is mine

~ boris$ kextstat | grep ATI
52 0 0x23eb4000 0x32000 0x31000 com.apple.kext.ATINDRV (4.2.4) <51 50 11>
66 0 0x297c7000 0x49000 0x48000 com.apple.ATIRadeonX1000 (4.2.4) <51 50 16 11>

#84
ohpossum

ohpossum

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts

Here is mine

~ boris$ kextstat | grep ATI
52 0 0x23eb4000 0x32000 0x31000 com.apple.kext.ATINDRV (4.2.4) <51 50 11>
66 0 0x297c7000 0x49000 0x48000 com.apple.ATIRadeonX1000 (4.2.4) <51 50 16 11>


Crazy,

4.2.4 is 10.4.5 and 4.2.6 is 10.4.6

EDIT: I got ATINDRV to load at boot. It still makes no sense that the damn kext would load during boot, but wouldn't load by hand later???? The "bar-code" vertical lines people have described is probably incorrect timings (or incorrect everythings) for the particular non-x1600 video card. If you get the vertical lines, reboot into single-user and do a kextstat, ATINDRV should be there. The fact that the driver doesn't even recognize the card even in working systems says something to how single-purposed it may be. Getting correct communication to cards that are waaaay off from an x1600 will be....maybe impossible??

I hope I get proved very very wrong :D

op

EDIT2: Has anyone tried dual-link yet?

#85
RobNyc

RobNyc

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC
  • Interests:Living Life, Going Out Places, Dancing, Music, Girls, Computers/Technology/Electronics, Philosop...
With Callisto b003 + modified Callisto.kext from omni made on May 17, 2006 while I was testing some stuff for him for the X1kseries cards.

System profiler detects my 512mb *NOW* and it says the proper name *THANKS* to callisto/omni.

Radeon X1600 PRO (AGP):

Chipset Model: Radeon X1600 PRO (AGP)
Type: Display
Bus: PCI
VRAM (Total) : 512 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x71c2
Revision ID: 0x0000
Display:
Display:
Resolution: 1024 x 768 @ 60 Hz
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Not Supported
Main Dsiplay: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported

Jas 10.4.6

#86
Deetman

Deetman

    OSx86 Project Web Guy

  • Retired
  • 88 posts
RobNyc, the difference here is that the method boris came up with will allow FULL support of the X1600 Pro including Core Image and Quartz Extreme. As of right now, callisto does not offer this.

#87
oldschool

oldschool

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Location:Third rock from sun.

System profiler detects my 512mb *NOW* and it says the proper name *THANKS* to callisto/omni.

Radeon X1600 PRO (AGP):

Chipset Model: Radeon X1600 PRO (AGP)
Type: Display
Bus: PCI
VRAM (Total) : 512 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x71c2
Revision ID: 0x0000
Display:
Display:
Resolution: 1024 x 768 @ 60 Hz
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Not Supported
Main Dsiplay: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported

Jas 10.4.6


I have read so many of your postings...
This posting is a joke. Is this what you want to have?
A 512MB g-card without QE and CI and only 1024 x 768 @ 60 Hz ?

Let me tell you here are many people who get a fully supported and working X1600.
You must have made something wrong or havent understood how it works...

Rgds.

#88
mmk

mmk

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
In both cases you can get QE/CI with the same drivers: ATIRadeon9700*
The difference is that omni wrote a framebuffer driver, while the boris method makes use of the current framebuffer driver.

Why it works?
Well, normally, there should be an IOAGPDevice provided by IOPCIFamily.kext. And IONDRV should then proper detect an ATY card, matched after "display". The, IONDRVFramebuffer matches ATY... and QE/CI (from ATIRadeon9700GA) matches IONDRVFramebuffer. In between there are also an IOATINDRV, IONDRVDevice ... at least they are on a old ibook.

the boris method skips the part with ATY... so IONDRVFramebuffer matches directly "display"... and then GA uses IONDRVFramebuffer.... and voila....


Summarize:

Apple:
IOAGPDevice -> ATY -> IONDRVDevice -> IONDRVFramebuffer -> GA + display

boris method:
IOPCIDevice ----------------------> IONDRVFramebuffer --> GA + display

omni method:
IOPCIDevice -> VID -> JUPITER -> CallistoHAL -> CallistoFB -> GA + display


If I am not so accurate .... excuse ;) I am not an expert .... :)

#89
tokra128

tokra128

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
I was using for install latest Jas 10.4.6 dvd, and it is working perfect with my x1600xt

#90
s800

s800

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
So, it's a little hard to tell from this thread- anyone have the 1600XT working over DVI?

#91
RobNyc

RobNyc

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC
  • Interests:Living Life, Going Out Places, Dancing, Music, Girls, Computers/Technology/Electronics, Philosop...

yeah already tried, and even a long time ago ;) grey screen no mouse
there must be a hack if it doesnt work on X1800....

RobNYC does it work with the X1600 AGP?? :) if yes i know im gonna buy that :)



To answer your question. I just mv /System/Library/Extensions/Callisto* / ..
Did the steps boris gave, and it took a minute or 2 in the loading screen (never took longer than 5-10secs) before. Then I got a blink, then it all was working like magic. Native resolution, almost default, 19" lcd/widescreen 1440x900, but everything is good no qe/ci no name detection like callisto does either but this will be done in the future i hope, hopefully now these 2 ati guys can team up

#92
mmk

mmk

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
I must agree with ohpossum ... I don;t think it will work for other cards except X1600's, except maybe with some binary hacking ...

I think that first the ones with AGP cards have to find a way to get IOAGPDevice working (from IOPCIFamily.kext)....
Then hacking ATINDRV.kext... but I guess that this is not a new idea ;) ...

So I reckon there is little chance.
Go omni! :)

#93
kday

kday

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Location:Dallas, TX

I must agree with ohpossum ... I don;t think it will work for other cards except X1600's, except maybe with some binary hacking ...

I think that first the ones with AGP cards have to find a way to get IOAGPDevice working (from IOPCIFamily.kext)....
Then hacking ATINDRV.kext... but I guess that this is not a new idea ;) ...

So I reckon there is little chance.
Go omni! :)

Yea, I messed around with it for quite a while and I agree. It probably won't work with non x1600 cards.

Also what would it take to correctly get rid of this mouse tearing? The Framebuffer used to draw the mouse, correct?

#94
Deetman

Deetman

    OSx86 Project Web Guy

  • Retired
  • 88 posts
Here are a few clarifications about what I have:

1) I am using an AGP X1600 Pro 256MB made by Sapphire, followed the exact procedure boris described.
2) There is absolutely NO mouse tearing
3) Everything appears to be FULLY supported, except System Profiler does not recognize the card as it would in an official machine
4) I don't have a DVI cable for my LCD, but if I did it would most likely work.

If you have any more questions, post them and I'll get to it tomorrow probably.

#95
mmk

mmk

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
Can someone with a working RadeonX1600 can please put the output of:
ioreg -l -w 0

Thanks.

#96
RobNyc

RobNyc

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC
  • Interests:Living Life, Going Out Places, Dancing, Music, Girls, Computers/Technology/Electronics, Philosop...
Here's mine

I been seeing a lot of question on 10.4.6..

I have it working under Jas 10.4.6 folks..
Sapphire Radeon X1600 Pro 512mb AGP (only 256mb detected though)
LCD/Widescreen is finally detected via VGA = Acer AL1916W and I finally have a proper native widescreen resolution 1440x900
But for some reason I didn't get qe/ci like others.

A suggestion, opening a temporary irc channel for ATI-X1000 would be good for fast answers and keeping this thread with the tools.

Attached Files



#97
VN Man

VN Man

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts

the x1600xt sapphire pci-x is supported?

function only in 10.4.4 .....?

in 10.4.3 function?



It work in my system 10.4.6 -

One other thing that people should do is to remove the "Graphics Mode" in the com.apple.Boot.plist...

If you see nothing then switch to safe mode and change resolution there.

For me (Sapphire x1600xt PCIe), I have to switch to DVI as VGA ouput was disabled after modified kexts...

#98
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
RobNYC u dont get CEQI cause i bet uve modified the X1000GA.plugin ahaha remove CAllistoFB to it and switch back to IONDRVFramebuffer

enjoy

#99
Cue

Cue

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Congrats to borisbadenov for this :guitar:

Does this mean you can get TV-Out to work with this method or is it just for full resolution support?

#100
mmk

mmk

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
Probably TVOUT will not work, because the card is not fully recognized ...





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy