EVGA 680i sli with 10.5.7 and vanilla kernel 9.7 (working)

MadFalcon

27 posts in this topic

--EDIT-- THE mini GUIDE IS A COUPLE OF POSTS DOWN... :D

Hey fellow osxerz,

I'm fairly new to the whole osx86 scene. I've been doing research for a couple of weeks now on installing osx86. I managed to get a fully working 10.5.6 install on my vmware with 1920x1200 res n networking. No sound though. Finally I decided to bite the bullet and install osx on my evga 680i sli motherboard.

After much research I found out that 680i just isn't fully compatible and is a pain apparently to get working..

After learning a lot from the vmware install. I decided to apply the knowledge n install it myself and I have to tell you. It couldn't be easier to setup and get working. I only have one problem and that has to do with multicore recognition. I know multicore works. You just have to have a processor that is compatible with the vanilla kernel. So my rig is using CPUs=1 in order to boot.

I wanted to use vanilla kernel for full compatibility with mac software. I'm using the installation for mac and iPhone development. It's possible to get all cores working by using a modified or patched kernel. I know of no good 9.7 based kernels.

In any case my installation of full 10.5.7 is working wonderfully with the exception that I'm using only one core. Again it will not be a issue if u use a processor that's being used by apple or by using a modified kernel.

My system specs are:

motherboard: evga 680i sli with d33 bios

video: 8800gtx overclocked

ram: 6 gb @ 800mhz

sound: onboard alc885 chip, fully working with all inputs and outputs and front panel headphone etc etc

processor: qx6700 2.66ghz oc to 3.21ghz

so if anyone has questions or needs a step by step of what I did, post back and I'll let ya know.

The update to 10.5.7 was so simple it's not even funny I didn't backup or anything.