Jump to content

Airport-like app for Ralink 2870


  • Please log in to reply
134 replies to this topic

#101
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Okay, let me put it this way. In this new answer, I'm saying the exact same thing but not explicitly. Maybe that's more pleasing to you.

 

Yes, it will work if it uses a Ralink/Mediatek chip that's supported by the drivers discussed in this topic.



#102
Tetonne

Tetonne

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts

can someone confirm it's working on 10.9? add share the full working pack ;)

 

The driver is ok for me on 10.8.5

 

but prefpane doesn't detect the wifi usb.



#103
nsomnac

nsomnac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hi TaDem,

 

Can you provide the instructions you followed to get it to work in Mavericks?  I'm not able to make it work... :-(



#104
@ROBASEFR

@ROBASEFR

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Thanks aqua-mac

Works great on 10.9 Mavericks GM with my Aztech WL552USB !!!

I followed onelove steps installtion method and I had to replaced the kext with the offical Ralink\MediaTek driver

from here:

http://www.mediatek....dows.php?sn=502

USB(RT2870/RT2770/RT3X7X/RT537X) V4.2.6.0

 

I extracted the pkg and took out the driver and replaced onelove's kext, at  ralinkinstalltion/root/System/Library/Extenstion/

for anyone intersted in the driver only, i uploaded it in this link

https://dl.dropboxus...Driver.kext.zip
 

 

 

The only thing needed to make this better, is to fix the preference panle restart when using RalinkWireless, im gussing as @Gwion Smith said it's 32-bit.

screenshots below

 

 

 

Hi TaDem,

 

 

Where did you get de configuration utility v.2.8.7 from ?

 

My DWA-140 (B1) can work on OSX 10.9, but only manually launch each time after boot with the 4.1.6 kext from OSX 10.6. Wifi connection says "no matérial present" !

 

Thanks reply

 

Update: Found just a beta for Mavericks:

 

RT2870USBWirelessDriver.kext for Mavericks (10.9) driver version v4.2.9.2

 

http://www.osx86.net...-mavericks-109/

 

Going to try !



#105
@ROBASEFR

@ROBASEFR

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Working very well in Mavericks !

 

Attached File  Capture d'écran 2013-11-03 12.07.05.png   30.38KB   27 downloads



#106
DevZone

DevZone

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

WORKS IN LION with newer next  :P

attachicon.gif Bildschi...01.54.31.png

I have a Sitecom 608 branded usb wifi stick, added Ralinks official latest drivers ( 32+64bit ) and used their "utility". Sadly this has issues with Lions Fullscreen mode featue, the utility activates itself, pops up in front of a app and disconnects the connection.

So until ralink makes a Lion compatible utilty I searched for som small ap that will just let me choose my profile. I found this topic here and lucky I am - it works in Lion (GM).

the prefpane is 32bit only, but that is no real problem - it just asks you to launch in 32bit mode.

need to delete the original ralink utility from Startupitems, else the both confuse each other.

SL/LION working KEXT 32/64 inlcluded for Rt2870, Rt2770, Rt3X7X , Rt537X

attachicon.gif SL_Lion_...B_RT2870.zip

 

 

Kext  4.2.7.0 / 4.2.9.2

UI DLink 2.6.2.0 (64bit, lock 1 channel, bad icons)

64bit but perf-panel support only "1 channel"

 
Software Supported: Mac OS X 10.8.X or 10.7.X or 10.6.X or 10.5.X 
 

ftp://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Wireless/DWA-140/Drivers/Rev.B3/Mac%20OS_b3/4.2.7.0/

 

6bd1fa7040c1.png

c7932cc5ec3e.png

ad1d944fe080.png

Attached Files



#107
Toucanet

Toucanet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts

Hi. I have the wifi working with the official ralink/mediatek driver and a patched kext compatible with Mavericks.

The problem is that when I boot my computer the Ralink Wireless Utility app opens. How can I hide this utility at the startup ? And have an have an airport like app?



#108
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Login Items preferences, under User Accounts.

 

If there was an airport-like app, it would be available here in this topic. You are stuck with that ugly thing.



#109
Toucanet

Toucanet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts

unfortunately this doesn't work. It still opens at the boot. I want it hidden. Last year with ML I solved the problem but I don't remember how. 



#110
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

I'm guessing that you used the hacked version of the app that was posted earlier in this thread.



#111
Toucanet

Toucanet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts

I have installed the official driver from ralink website, but this installer in Mavericks doesn't install the kext file and so I placed it manually with Kext Utility. 

Now I have the WiFi working but every time I boot my Hackintosh, Ralink Wireless Utility windows appear, and so I have to close it manually and this is really boring. And in addition to this I would like an airport like app that give me also the wifi signal icon in the bar at the top right instead of the ralink icon.

 

Can anyone help me?



#112
@ROBASEFR

@ROBASEFR

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

It works for me when you edit de Favorites wifi network in WirelessUtility.app (from Bearextender install B037!)

 

Or with DWA-140WirelessUtility.prefPane from Devzone v 2.6.2[

 

attachment=132115:Capture d'écran 2013-11-17 18.27.30.png]

Attached Files



#113
Toucanet

Toucanet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
Can you be more clear? I am a newbie And I don't know english very well.
Thanks ;)

#114
avin7000

avin7000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi guys. I just bought EDUP - N8531 USB WiFi for my Dell XPS L501x which is running Mavericks. After googling I came to know it has Ralink 5370 chipset. 

 

1. First I installed the package from here link and rebooted. It installed Ralink which shows up in my top bar. It has two options, Turn on Internet Sharing and Open Wireless Utility. When I click on Open Wireless Utility nothing happens. Also in the launchpad there is new icon 'WirelessUtility' when I open it nothing happens. 

 

2. I uninstalled that package and installed this kext : link with Kext Wizard. I rebooted my machine, went to Settings > Network, I thought it would show wifi, but it did not. 

 

3. Now I re-installed the official drivers and installed the kext manually [hoping this would override the kexts installed by the package]. Still same problem as in 1, nothing happens when I open up 'Wireless Utility' 

 

4. I uninstalled the package  and then I downloaded the zip file from this post, installed the prefane. and also the application. And rebooted. When I open that 'RalinkAirport' from application, it says connecting on the top bar, and then vanishes. In Prefane, in 'Link state' it says 'No device'

 

What to do guys? Any help appreciated. Thank you!



#115
SuccDfrutt

SuccDfrutt

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italia

hi guys i have installed for edup ep-n8531  a new driver but don't have coonection 

can help me?

 i have unistall use kext utility and reinstalled the old version but don't woks!!
what is the problem?


#116
@ROBASEFR

@ROBASEFR

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

New Mediatek (RALINK) RT5870 drivers here: MT7610U for MAC 10.7/10.8/10.9

 

http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads/

 

Contains version 4.2.9.10 driver and WirelessUtility 5.0.0.0.1

 

:thumbsup_anim:



#117
avin7000

avin7000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male

Whats the advantage over older one?



#118
Gwion Smith

Gwion Smith

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hey peoples. Here's a modified version of the Ralink Airport app, modified to work with the dwa-140 prefpane. If you want to try it out, goto /S/L/PrefPanes and delete the DWA-140WirelessUtility.prefpane; then copy the WirelessUtility.prefpane supplied to /S/L/Prefpanes. Finally put the wireless utility app wherever you like and add it to login items, and there you go, ralink wifi that vaguely resembles airport. 

NB, i created neither of the two programs supplied, although i modified that whose copyright apparently resides with aqua-mac. The other one, i.e the prefpane appears to belong to D-Link, in which case the copyright of such resides with them.

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  Work.zip   476.68KB   232 downloads


#119
Hervé

Hervé

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rennes, BZH of course!

New Mediatek (RALINK) RT5870 drivers here: MT7610U for MAC 10.7/10.8/10.9

 

http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads/

 

Contains version 4.2.9.10 driver and WirelessUtility 5.0.0.0.1

 

:thumbsup_anim:

No longer available on Mediatek's web site for some reason (bugs?), so here it is. I can confirm that it works in SL 10.6/L 10.7/ML 10.8/Mav 10.9 for wireless adapters based on 150Mbps 802.11b/g/n MT7601 Ralink/Mediatek chip (I used a Lafalink LF-D12, PCI ids 148f:7601).

Attached File  RTUSB_D2870-4.2.9.10_UI-5.0.0.01.dmg   6.07MB   242 downloads

 

NB: the Wireless Utility/adapter's configuration appeared buggy and would not initially connect to my own wireless network. Turned out it was due to the default channel I was using on the router (channel 1). 'changed it to 6 and everything popped to life! So, do test with various channels before stamping your adapter or the driver as defective...

 

Edit 05 Aug 2014:

--------------------

Works too in Yos but app is quite buggy (Yos is unsupported at the moment I suppose) so dongle must have previously been connected to target wireless network to expect auto-connection and that can take several long seconds! Manual attempts to connect will fail (no browsing, no profile, etc.). So, to be used with caution under pre-release 10.10...



#120
nemof2010

nemof2010

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In My moon bounce on the moon
  • Interests:technology
not working in yosemite it just picks up the card but i cant open anything to find my network

Edit fixed it by using the pref pane setups





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy