Any Echo Audio users here?

fOZf8

19 posts in this topic

Just curious if any of you (if there are any Echo users) have managed to get Echo Hardware working in OSx86...any build, release etc...I care not, I just want my Layla24 to work!

I tried forcing the drivers in, editing them even...couldn't get anywhere...I'm a bit of Mac newbie though, and really only came to take a look on this side of the computer world for Audio/Video purposes...yet, go figure, my primary Audio PC has unaccelerated video (7800gt) and a driverless audio beast in 10.4.3-10.4.6.

I'd HOPE that Echo would resolve this sometime soon, but they've been promising a new non-beta Xp driver for over a year now, literally told many users it would be out 'in about a month' over a year ago...ARG! Talk about professional support.

• 5 months later...

Hello fOZf8... I am exactly in the same situation. I have a PCI Echo Layla24 sound card that I would really want to use in mac os x but the device won't even appear in the PCI Device list in "infos on my mac".

Strange thing is that the drivers succesfully installed but nothing shows up and the console shows up but is like empty...

Just a quick note, my Echo Indigo DJ does not work under OSx86 - The support doccumentations says the OS X driver will only work under version 10.2 - guess we wait for better drivers.

EDIT -

Or since the source code for the drivers is available on the Echo website you could build your own :lol:

• 1 month later...

I have a Layla24 and have been wanting to get it working with osx86 since the beginning.

Echo has a driver for their Firewire based cards running on osx86, but not for the PCI cards.

I contacted them over 6 months ago for their driver source code, but they said they typically don't release it.

There IS an open-source driver, but it's only a skeleton driver - it requires the driver author to code platform support code.