Hackintosh Build Using Intel Core i7 920. Reccomendations and Review please

37 posts in this topic

Hey guys I am fairly new to the hackintosh world, however not new to computers, hardware etc. I have been doing some research over the past weeks and have come up with a build I would like to get feedback on. For this rig I'm looking to do some moderate video editing, and normal day to day programing, etc.

Essentially I am interested in having final cut pro work, wireless, sound, video etc.. Oh the dreamm!!

This is the build I have come up with, I will be ordering soon, so anything you think I may be forgetting cable wise to changing out a processor or video card due to incompatibility would greatly be appreciated... I'm looking to keep this system under 1200, since I'm a broke college kid living in Nyc

If you think that some of this is overkill for what i'm trying to do please tell me. A

Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Retail

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Graphics Card: SAPPHIRE 100225L Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR4 PCI Express 2.0 x16

DOES THIS WORK WLELL FOR DUAL DISPLAYS?

Western Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

LG Black 22X (CAV) DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 22X (CAV) DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - OEM

XCLIO Windtunnel Fully Black Finish 1.0 mm SECC Chassis ATX Full Tower Computer Case

OCZ StealthXStream OCZ700SXS 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

Thanks in advance, I appreciate the advice and critiques. :unsure:

hi nyufilm88,

everything you listed looks compatible, there shouldn't be any problems.