Jump to content

ATI HD4670


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1
guest048

guest048

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
After installing kexts released few days ago for latest ati cards on my 10.5.6 i get output but it is colorful picture with all colors mixed and i cannot see anything on my desktop. Is there someone successful with HD4670? :rolleyes:

Here is what system profiler says without any kext, card is actually 512MB VRAM:

Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x9490
Revision ID: 0x0000
Kernel Extension Info: No Kext Loaded

#2
anon2122

anon2122

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

After installing kexts released few days ago for latest ati cards on my 10.5.6 i get output but it is colorful picture with all colors mixed and i cannot see anything on my desktop. Is there someone successful with HD4670? :(

Here is what system profiler says without any kext, card is actually 512MB VRAM:

Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x9490
Revision ID: 0x0000
Kernel Extension Info: No Kext Loaded


I have a Powercolor Radeon HD 4670 1GB and am experiencing a similar problem. I don't think the 4670 is supported yet, although may be wrong and would appreciate anyone who knows otherwise letting me know.

When I install the natit kexts and reboot (with my VGA monitor connected through a DVI<->VGA converter, and another DVI<->VGA converter in the other video port, I see a grey screen immediately after the grey Apple loading screen with the spinning 'wheel'. This features several graphics 'corruptions' which move when I move the mouse, which appears to me to indicate corruption of the graphics.

I have tried connecting the actual monitor to both DVI ports (with the DVI<->VGA connecter in the other port) as per the instructions, but to no avail. I would love to get this card working and would be willing to try out anything that is suggested, as this partition I am using is not my 'main' OSX86 partition and I know how to add and remove kexts etc. as necessary.

[edit] My system - Dell Dimension E520 with Core 2 Duo E6300 (1.86 GHz)
3GB DDR2 RAM
Powercolor ATI Radeon HD 4670 (1GB) - can find out the device ID if necessary (am not at my osx86 box right now)
iPC 10.5.6 ppf 3 installed (I know, I know, I need to get round to updating the ISO to PPF6, just haven't found the time yet)

Just a thought - perhaps the 'official' 10.5.7 release will add better support, or is this just a silly hope?

Thanks

#3
Woowx

Woowx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi.

I have used a ASUS EAH4350 512MB silent on iDeneb 10.5.6 without any kexts and it works fine.

All works except QE and i'm stuck at VESA resolution


I have bought a HIS 4670 ICEQ4, thinking that 4350 and 4670 can actually work together.
That aside...

Although I have not tried anything yet, i think that it will work fine w/o kexts but at VESA resolution and no QE.

Will try and report back

BTW. during iDeneb installation, i didnt select any graphics kexts.

P5q-pro
2 x 2GB 800Mhz Ram
HD4350 and HD4670

EDIT: Well, as mentioned. VESA no QE, CI in software

#4
BNO

BNO

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
The 4650 and 4670 are not supported, by the natit driver, at the moment, you can read it 2 threads below this one.

4650/4670 arent working, u dont need dvi2vga



#5
miki88

miki88

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

The 4650 and 4670 are not supported, by the natit driver, at the moment, you can read it 2 threads below this one.

But if there is all those Beta 10.5.7 builds, nobody can't extract kext from it like netkas did with 4870/4850... this led me to believe that 10.5.7 wont bring 4670 support :hysterical:

#6
guest048

guest048

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
So.... 10.5.7 is here without HD46xx support :D
this is goodbye to Hackintosh :P :(


;)

#7
guest048

guest048

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
After another 6 months i decided to give another try with mac os x because of new kexts from 10.6.2 (http://netkas.org/?p=284). So i installed snow leopard and updated it to 10.6.1 and then i installed these new kexts but it's still not working, i get black screen...

Is there anyone who successfully enabled QE/CI with HD4670 ?

#8
tempus66

tempus66

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

After another 6 months i decided to give another try with mac os x because of new kexts from 10.6.2 (http://netkas.org/?p=284). So i installed snow leopard and updated it to 10.6.1 and then i installed these new kexts but it's still not working, i get black screen...

Is there anyone who successfully enabled QE/CI with HD4670 ?


Hello guest048,

I can confirm that I have a Sapphire 4670 (1gb ddr3) on a Gigabyte P55M-UD2/i5 750/10.6.2 working with QE/CI (confirmed via ripple effects in Dashboard-add widget).

Cannot get dual monitor setup. Only VGA out works, or VGA + DVI via DVI=>VGA adaptor for mirror mode only (display connected by DVI=>VGA does not show up in displays or system profile. HDMI via HDMI=>DVI also doesn't work, you get display during PC EFI boot, but once it goes to login, only black screen.

I'm relatively new to Hackintosh so I haven't done anything special with my install, I just followed tonymacx86's blog, used his dsdt.aml, extras, etc. (http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/)

BTW - if anyone else is trying to extend their desktop, I'm currently looking into USB2.0 to VGA/DVI display adaptors, I didn't even know such things existed. Apparently, all you do is plug one end to your monitor, the other end into a USB2 port on your computer and it shows up as an extra display.

Goodluck

#9
Pilmen

Pilmen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
I have HD4670 ID 1002:9490
This method works full for me (full article http://www.insanelym...p/t203990.html) :
Chameleon RC4 is missing some framebuffer settings for 46xx cards, so we need to patch it. It appears that 46xx cards are using the Shrike framebuffer, and Chamelon RC4 inject them as Motmot, plus there is a template "bug".

- download Chameleon RC4 sources
- unrar sources
- open a terminal and go to the Chameleon sources folder
- edit the i386/libsaio/ati.c file
- Find your PCI ID (around line 200) and change Motmot to Shrike (46xx only)

For me :

221 { 0x10029490, "Motmot"} ,
Becomes :

221 { 0x10029490, "Shrike"} ,
Search the following line (line 668) :

if(framebuffer[0] == 'M' && framebuffer[1] == 'o' && framebuffer[2] == 't') //faster than strcmp
Replace by :

if(1) // FIXME
(Note : we need to find a better way to fix that, and call evprop_add_ati_template_4xxx(device); only for 4xxx cards, maybe an id range ?)

- Save changes
- Type make embedtheme in the Chameleon sources folder :

demik@rampage ~/Chameleon-2.0-RC4-r684-src
% make embedtheme

- backup your /boot file, for example :

sudo cp /boot /boot.old

- install your patched Chamelon RC4 :

sudo cp Chameleon-2.0-RC4-r684-src/sym/i386/boot /boot
- reboot, it should work with your patched bootloader

All you need SnowLeopard 10.6.2 + Chameleon-2.0-RC4-r684(with modif boot file)
Boot file in Attachment.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  boot.zip   199.78KB   572 downloads


#10
hugosanchez

hugosanchez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
hi pillmen is the boot file in your attachment the modif boot file or do i have to modify it myself? do i need other kexts than stock 10.6.2 ati kexts? it would be awesome if i could get my ati 4670 running in mac osx.
thanks for help

edit: your boot file realy did the trick. now my sapphire hd 4670 is fully working. i replaced only my boot file and kept stock 10.6.2 kexts. but my ram is only detected as 667mhz and should be 800mhz. with AsereBLN Booter Version 1.1.8 only my geforce 6600gt works but memory is detected as 800 mhz. i think it boots up faster too...do you think you can modify AsereBLN Booter to make it work with ati 4670? or do you know how i can fix memory detection?

anyways i am happy now. before i had to switch gfx card every time i switched between ubuntu and sl...pretty annoying..

#11
Pilmen

Pilmen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
I think i can't fix it. May be try some version of SMBIOS.kext or something like this.

#12
Ashand

Ashand

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
pilmen,
thanks for your explanation.
maybe you can write a small procedure to install SL with HD4670? ;) (For all people) I personally have HD4670 on my WIN machine and 8800 on SL machine.

#13
nilly667

nilly667

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
This is a no go on Mobility 4670, for me atleast, any tips for mobility?

Regards nilly

#14
hugosanchez

hugosanchez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I think i can't fix it. May be try some version of SMBIOS.kext or something like this.

too bad...my idea was to modify the boot file from AsereBLN Booter Version 1.1.8 in the same manner you modified chameleon rc4. AsereBLN Booter Version 1.1.8  is based on chameleon rc4...so there´s no chance of modif AsereBLN Booter Version 1.1.8?

anyway your boot file helps very much! thanks  :(

#15
Monkey D. Luffy

Monkey D. Luffy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Interests:I will become the Pirate King!

too bad...my idea was to modify the boot file from AsereBLN Booter Version 1.1.8 in the same manner you modified chameleon rc4. AsereBLN Booter Version 1.1.8  is based on chameleon rc4...so there´s no chance of modif AsereBLN Booter Version 1.1.8?

anyway your boot file helps very much! thanks  ;)


You can edit Asere's Bootloader in the same manner. Just download the Sources here:

http://github.com/as...AsereBLN_v1.1.8

and do the same manner as demik suggested.

Of course, in his instructions the line was 668, but in asere ati.c, I think it was line 655. Also, instead of "make embedtheme", just use "make".

I did this with asere 1.1.8 and I also did this in netkas 10.6

Also, this is how I did it with replacing line 655 in Asere ati.c: (I also copied the lines before and after, so you'll know exactly how it looks like).

Before:
verbose("boot display - %x\n", boot_display);
	devprop_add_value(device, "@0,AAPL,boot-display", (uint8_t*)&boot_display, 4);

	if (framebuffer[0] == 'M' && framebuffer[1] == 'o' && framebuffer[2] == 't') {
		devprop_add_ati_template_4xxx(device);
	} else {
		devprop_add_ati_template(device);

After:
verbose("boot display - %x\n", boot_display);
	devprop_add_value(device, "@0,AAPL,boot-display", (uint8_t*)&boot_display, 4);

	if(1) //faster than strcmp;)
		devprop_add_ati_template_4xxx(device);
	else
	{
		devprop_add_ati_template(device);

I'm not sure if it is legal to upload here but mods, please remove it if it does violate anything.

WORD OF WARNING: I'm not sure if this will work on your 4670 .. I just followed the instructions carefully and replaced Motmot to Shrike then replaced the framebuffer line .. that is it. I don't even have a 4670 to test this. Do this at your own risk. Make sure you know how to backup "working" boot file and know how to restore it. I suggest restoring it in single user mode.

This could either produce a black screen or kernel panic on X2000.kext - if it does that, you just restore your working boot file.

As far as I can tell, the Shrike method does not work on my EAH4650. It gives me a black screen. I reverted back to motmot.

All credit goes to Demik for the instructions :)

So here is the Asere1.1.8 modded shrike:

Attached Files

  • Attached File  boot.zip   79.8KB   262 downloads


#16
hugosanchez

hugosanchez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
my hd4670 works well with shrike and chameleon rc4. i think i have to test your asere modded shrike version. i never compiled anything and did not realy understand how to make my own asere shrike mod. this is really helpful. thanks man!
edit: just tested the bootfile and it works for me but i do not understand why memory is detected as 667..thought i had asere before and it worked. strange..but editing smbios.plist should resolve this. still don`t understand why memory was detected perfectly before i changed my boot file.. is it purely cosmetically?anyway everything is working just fine with my ati 4670. only dvi, no vga, hdmi not tested yet. the advantage of asere booter is now snow leo loads applelpc.kext. so i prefer using asere.

#17
Monkey D. Luffy

Monkey D. Luffy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Interests:I will become the Pirate King!
Maybe you should try Asere 1.1.9 or Netkas 10.6??

I'm not sure why you are having problems with the memory detection but that is purely cosmetic. Editing the smbios.plist should fix the problem.

Try compiling the 1.1.9 or Netkas 10.6, it is very easy, just follow what I posted above.

Good luck!

#18
hugosanchez

hugosanchez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
good to know that it is purely cosmetical, i edited smbios.plist..but then i tried to compile asere 1.1.9 but simply don´t know how. i downloaded the source and the folder is called aserebln-Chameleon-1493326. i replaced the lines in ati.c, opened my terminal, read what demik suggested but didn´t understand it well. can you help me? the folder is in root but what should i type in terminal? perhaps you can give me a quick guide if it´s not too much hassle. however thanks for helping with asere 1.1.8 so it´s not very urgent to me to have 1.1.9 but wanna know how i compile it myself. then i could switch bootfile from time to time.
thanks in advance

#19
Monkey D. Luffy

Monkey D. Luffy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Interests:I will become the Pirate King!
Did you install and update Xcode? What error are you specifically getting?

This is how I do it:

1) Download the Sources
2) Edit ati.c and change what ever needs to be changed. BTW, this is where I got the error. Check my post on chaning the line of the framebuffer.
3) Save ati.c and go back to the main folder of the sources
4) type 'make' or 'make embedtheme' - this depends on you.

I noticed before that I had errors when changing the line of framebuffer in ati.c - carefully look at my above post and copy it exactly as it is. If you are still having errors, don't even bother changing the framebuffer line. Just edit the line where you need to put Shrike > then save > then make embedtheme. In my case, changing or NOT changing the frambefuffer line (line 668 in demik guide) worked for me. The most important line that needs to be changed is the "Shrike".

BTW, whenever you are going to recompile/compile you should re-extract the asere sources package so it will be new. Don't use the extracted sources folder one you have used it already in compiling.

If you are still having problems, I could send you a compiled version.

Good luck.

#20
Umen

Umen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

For me :

221 { 0x10029490, "Motmot"} ,
Becomes :

221 { 0x10029490, "Shrike"} ,
Search the following line (line 668) :



Hi, as i understood you have attached bootloader patched only for device with id 1002:9490?

Could you, please attach bootloader patched for 1002:9488 (and maybe also for other 4xxx which need such fix)? I'm asking because i have no installed mac yet so i could not rebuild chameleon sources by myself .

Thanks in advice, i will be very grateful!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy