FX5200 Works ! 10.5.5 and 10.5.6

CPT_MAC

60 posts in this topic

:(

First, I am not an expert and credit goes to some here in insanlymac members who pointed me to the right direction.

My goal was to have better graphic, DVI, and hopefully dual screen (dual screen not tested jet) on my intel Atom 330 rig. I think the FX6200 card would be better, because you can skip Uinstall part and go direct to the "Sanya method".

I am using the IPC 10.5.6 distribution. The card was recognized with the universal kext under Video nVida.

It's the one for the old Graphic cards below FX6000, the complied package. Forgot the exact name, but you can't miss.

Than the card will be recognized, but no CI/CE. Next step is to open the "Uinstall" you find in the program folder.

There is also a very good instruction how to use the program. Next you follow this instruction and make you own EFI string. It is quite simple with the guide. After reboot you will have ci/CE working.

If you are using 10.5.5 you are done. But I don't now if the program "Uinstaller is part of the 10.5.5 distribution.

If you are with the IPC 10.5.6 you will have in some windows scrambled graphics. To sort this out I found the guide attached as PDF.

I used the following method from Sanya:

Repair "System Preferences Blacked-Out GUI Corruption"

(Only for 10.5.6 install - not occurring in 10.5.5)

Restore the Coregraphics.framework from 10.5.5 WITH PACIFIST

to /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/ then Reboot

using Sanya's Method (Thanks Sanya!) ----

GeForce 5200 FX:

Chipsatz-Modell: GeForce 5200 FX

Typ: Monitor

Bus: PCI

VRAM (gesamt): 128 MB

Hersteller: NVIDIA (0x10de)

Geräte-ID: 0x0322

Versions-ID: 0x00a1

ROM-Version: nVida FX5200 PCI OpenGL Engine [EFI]

Monitore:

17'' LCDMonitor:

Auflösung: 1024 x 768 @ 85 Hz

Farbtiefe: 32-Bit Farbe

Core Image: Hardware-unterstützt

Hauptmonitor: Ja

Synchronisierung: Aus

Eingeschaltet: Ja

Quartz Extreme: Unterstützt