Installing iPC 10.5.6 and what is EFI (v9)? (I'm a newbie..)

tomchook

3 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I was hoping some of you could clarify some things for me.. I have 2 laptops. MSI Wind and HP Pavillion dv9000 series. I managed to install OSx86 on the MSI Wind with the ISO I found which was specifically made for the Wind, so I installed it and it works perfectly.

I would like to install the iPC 10.5.6 release ( http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=142502 ) on my HP laptop, but before I have some questions..

First of all, here are the specifications of my HP: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/documen...product=3668106

So when I install iPC:

* Which kernel should I choose? (9.5.0 Voodoo kernel seems the latest, but will it be good for me?)

* My graphic card is NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS (250MB dedicated). Which driver should I choose? NVinject 0.2.1 256MB, NVdarwin 256MB or NVkush? I heard that specifically with my card there are some issues so which one would be the best for me?

* Which Chipset drivers should I choose? I can see that I have North Bridge: Intel Crestline-PM PM965 and South Bridge: Intel 82801HBM IC8-DO

* About the Sound drivers, I know that I have ALC268, but what is ALC268 comatron? How do I know which one to choose?

* My ethernet driver is Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (PHY: Realtek RTL8211/8212). I can't see it on iPC's list. What should I choose/do?

* About the wireless drivers, I have Intel 3945, but how come it appears in this list if the drivers are not developed yet? http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=84072 (notice the latest posts) So what should I choose here? Just leave this section blank?

* What should I choose for USB drivers and Power managment?

* In the "Fixes and Patches" should I just mark everything? I guess I want everything to be fixed and patched...

* Why would I want an alternative bootloader? Which would should suit me better?