Jump to content

The Holy ALC663 Problem Solving Thread


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#1
Turanli

Turanli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
This thread is no longer being maintained and hasn't been for a while (Apple hardware).

The purpose of this thread is to gather all knowledge about the Realtek ALC663 which hopefully will result in a fully functioning "driver" for this soundcard.

This thread will also contain codecdumps, codecgraphs, kexts, plist and pinconfigs.

I will update this thread everytime we get some new knowledge about the soundcard furthermore I will line up some questions that I have about this card which maybe some of u guys can answer, this will hopefully help us all.

All RS links are Direct Download � No waiting no rs premium needed ;)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The ALC663 Repository:

Codecdump - Mandriva:

HEX - http://rapidshare.co...359362/dump.txt

DECIMAL - http://rapidshare.co...tedDumpfile.txt


Codecgraph:

[Open with Firefox] - http://rapidshare.co...98/G50V.txt.svg


Pin config[Asus G50V - Vista]:

01171cf0  01171d11 01171e11 01171f41 01271cf0 01271d11 01271e11 01271f41 01371cf0  01371d11 01371e11 01371f41 01471c10 01471d01 01471e13 01471f99 01571cf0  01571d11 01571e11 01571f41 01671cf0 01671d11 01671e11 01671f41 01771cf0  01771d11 01771e11 01771f41 01871c40 01871d98 01871ea1 01871f01 01971c41  01971d09 01971ea3 01971f99 01a71c4f 01a71d30 01a71e81 01a71f01 01b71cf0  01b71d11 01b71e11 01b71f41 01d71cf0 01d71d01 01d71e83 01d71f59 01e71c20  01e71d01 01e71e43 01e71f99 02171c1f 02171d44 02171e21 02171f01


Modded Azaliaaudio � The only working solution atm:

http://rapidshare.co...xts_for_663.zip

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Questions:

Azalia Capable?

Yes � also stated on asus.com and Toasted Logic managed to get sound output on his internal speakers on his Asus M70VM-X1 with my modded AzaliaAudio but this is fare by satisfying because it is required to boot windows and then OSX before it is enabled.


The ALC663 has hardware conflicts?

The ALC663 does not have hardware conflicts with the Wifi/BT Switch.


Azalia itself works but the mixer is only enabled if u boot windows � reboot � boot OSX [Stated by andybe], Can someone confirm this?

�?

- Can u trick the Bios to think that you are booting windows so it enables the mixer. Is this what you use the DSDT.aml for?

�?


Is the Pin config on different Laptops using ALC663 similar?

Almost but they are different ;) - Here I have compared My Laptop with ToastedLogics - The differences are marked red:

Posted Image

Which working soundcard in osx is similar to the alc663 when we look at the inputs/output jacks and ports? �?

What is a legacy driver and will this work with the ALC663?

�?

How can you see which kexts are loaded when OSX is running [Like process manager on windows]

�?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dev Team de la ALC663 � With this thread I would like to start a little group where we on msn or something else can talk about the ALC663 and how to solve our problem:

[IMPORTANT]

Everyone who wants to participate on this project should have a description of their system like i have on my signature, so we know which OS version, which Laptop model and which soundcard version you have.

MSN:
Turanli � cemturanli@hotmail.com
dandaman1976 � joe_koolz@hotmail.com

Peace out guys, let's together make this soundcard working!

#2
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA

The purpose of this thread is to gather all knowledge about the Realtek ALC663 which hopefully will result in a fully functioning "driver" for this soundcard.

This thread will also contain codecdumps, codecgraphs, kexts, plist and pinconfigs.

I will update this thread everytime we get some new knowledge about the soundcard furthermore I will line up some questions that I have about this card which maybe some of u guys can answer, this will hopefully help us all.

All RS links are Direct Download No waiting no rs premium needed :o

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The ALC663 Repository:

Codecdump - Mandriva:

HEX - http://rapidshare.co...359362/dump.txt

DECIMAL - http://rapidshare.co...tedDumpfile.txt


Codecgraph:

[Open with Firefox] - http://rapidshare.co...98/G50V.txt.svg


Pin config[Asus G50V - Vista]:

01171cf0  01171d11 01171e11 01171f41 01271cf0 01271d11 01271e11 01271f41 01371cf0  01371d11 01371e11 01371f41 01471c10 01471d01 01471e13 01471f99 01571cf0  01571d11 01571e11 01571f41 01671cf0 01671d11 01671e11 01671f41 01771cf0  01771d11 01771e11 01771f41 01871c40 01871d98 01871ea1 01871f01 01971c41  01971d09 01971ea3 01971f99 01a71c4f 01a71d30 01a71e81 01a71f01 01b71cf0  01b71d11 01b71e11 01b71f41 01d71cf0 01d71d01 01d71e83 01d71f59 01e71c20  01e71d01 01e71e43 01e71f99 02171c1f 02171d44 02171e21  02171f01


Modded Azaliaaudio The only working solution atm:

http://rapidshare.co...xts_for_663.zip

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Questions:

Azalia Capable?

Yes also stated on asus.com and Toasted Logic managed to get sound output on his internal speakers on his Asus M70VM-X1 with my modded AzaliaAudio but this is fare by satisfying because the soundcard conflicts with some other hardware components in OSX which disables the sound.


The ALC663 has hardware conflicts?

AzaliaAudio solutions has hardware conflicts with the Wifi/BT Switch. When Bluetooth is shown as broken on the bar sound doesn't work neither.


Azalia itself works but the mixer is only enabled if u boot windows reboot boot OSX [Stated by andybe], Can someone confirm this?

?

- Can u trick the Bios to think that you are booting windows so it enables the mixer. Is this what you use the DSDT.aml for?

?
Is the Pin config on different Laptops using ALC663 similar?

Almost but they are different :) - Here I have compared My Laptop with ToastedLogics - The differences are marked red:

Posted Image

Which working soundcard in osx is similar to the alc663 when we look at the inputs/output jacks and ports? ?

What is a legacy driver and will this work with the ALC663?

?

How can you see which kexts are loaded when OSX is running [Like process manager on windows]

?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dev Team de la ALC663 With this thread I would like to start a little group where we on msn or something else can talk about the ALC663 and how to solve our problem:

MSN:
Turanli cemturanli@hotmail.com

Peace out guys, let's together make this soundcard working!


Ok i am willing to help anyway i can, being i have the asus m70vm-x1 as well. joe_koolz@hotmail.com

#3
andybe

andybe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Ok, I was testing this driver here. This change not what I said at first. (Boot Windows then OSX Warmstart Soundcard enabled).
My clean Azallia only got this:

AppleAzalliaAudio
Contents/Info.plist
..
<key>IOHDAudioCodecVendorID</key>
<string>0x10ec0663</string>
..
This is the Codec

PlugIns/AppleAzaliaController.kext/Contents/Info.plist
..
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x293e8086</string>
..
This is the audio bridge ich9

ALCinject.kext/Contents/Info.plist
..
<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
<string>pci8086,293e</string>
</array>
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x00008086&amp</string>
..
only the bridge.

The warmstart has todo with the bios. needs init.

This has nothing todo with an bluetooth device. - I got no bluetooth here.

I got an ASUS Pro72V

Sata - Works USB - Works Sound (Warmstart - Azallia) only output NVIDIA GeForce 9650M GT (1GB - Display 1440x900 QE/CI) - works
PS2 Works, needs my german layout patch - not tested this time. (Boot for test over usb only!)

#4
Toasted Logic

Toasted Logic

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL

The warmstart has todo with the bios. needs init.

This has nothing todo with an bluetooth device. - I got no bluetooth here.


Ok, good find. I can attest that this is true. The Azalia driver has nothing to do with our finnicky bt/wifi switches. The system (for whatever reason) cannot init our sound card, so as a quick workaround simply boot to the vista login screen and hit restart. When OSX starts your sound will work.

#5
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA

Ok, good find. I can attest that this is true. The Azalia driver has nothing to do with our finnicky bt/wifi switches. The system (for whatever reason) cannot init our sound card, so as a quick workaround simply boot to the vista login screen and hit restart. When OSX starts your sound will work.

yes, confirmed as well, and my install is 2 hard drives in my asus, 1 for stupid vista and the 2nd drive is mac xxx_10.5.6 with shut down issues...

at least it works this far...

#6
Turanli

Turanli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
How come i cant get any kind of sound out of my god damn computer with the Azaliaaudio i modded my self -.-, really pisses me off!

#7
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA

How come i cant get any kind of sound out of my god damn computer with the Azaliaaudio i modded my self -.-, really pisses me off!



I know, very odd indeed, just to be clear on the software, from my test it works for me using iatkos 10.5.5 and xxx 10.5.6 again, the only way that i got it was to DELETE the appleHDA.kext, install your mod with kext helper, reboot the machine - then restart it again and boot into vista log in screen, restart vista to boot BACK again to mac, and then sound...

#8
Turanli

Turanli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

I know, very odd indeed, just to be clear on the software, from my test it works for me using iatkos 10.5.5 and xxx 10.5.6 again, the only way that i got it was to DELETE the appleHDA.kext, install your mod with kext helper, reboot the machine - then restart it again and boot into vista log in screen, restart vista to boot BACK again to mac, and then sound...


do u install the ac97 thingy too?

#9
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA

do u install the ac97 thingy too?

yes correct i did...

#10
andybe

andybe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Look at the linux code, yes codecs from same chipset can be different

linux source 2.6

hope this makes it clear. :)

here is the datasheet from realtek

Attached Files



#11
dragon-tmd

dragon-tmd

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Can't get it to work. Did as described (Ideneb 1.3 10.5.5), but still no sound, not even the loudspeakersymbol ...

#12
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA

Can't get it to work. Did as described (Ideneb 1.3 10.5.5), but still no sound, not even the loudspeakersymbol ...

what is your laptop?

i have not tested this with ideneb, only iatkos and xxx10.5.6

must delete the apple HDA kext too...

#13
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA
the hot start - method for win vista to mac to make sound work DOES NOT work with installing windows 7 - DAMN... what the hell?

EDIT: Nevermind - had to remove the applehda kext.

did some update and it put it there...

btw: windows 7 beta better then windows vista.///

#14
Turanli

Turanli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

the hot start - method for win vista to mac to make sound work DOES NOT work with installing windows 7 - DAMN... what the hell?

EDIT: Nevermind - had to remove the applehda kext.

did some update and it put it there...

btw: windows 7 beta better then windows vista.///


Its pretty weird :s... I am running Win 7 and Mac OS X, and when i reboot windows there is no sound when it boots with the Asus Logo thing(You don't hear any boot sounds as you did before).

Omg i really need the sound working... cant even get it working with the azalia script i modded myself... the thing u guys use to get sound :S...

#15
eberan

eberan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
Just thought I'd chime in and say I'm in the same boat as you guys. My laptop, asus n80vm/x83vm-x1 has alc663. Havent tried anything seriously yet...but will!

#16
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA

Its pretty weird :s... I am running Win 7 and Mac OS X, and when i reboot windows there is no sound when it boots with the Asus Logo thing(You don't hear any boot sounds as you did before).

Omg i really need the sound working... cant even get it working with the azalia script i modded myself... the thing u guys use to get sound :S...



Ok tur, I am in the same boat, now, i was tired of my shutdown issues, so i reinstalled my osx, with windows 7 installed as well, NO MATTER WHAT I DO _ NO SOUND, nothing, all atempts that use to work for me, have no effect, no warm start, no reboot, no removing the applehda kext, zippo ziltch - all we have now is the pretty icon, nothing else... AHHHHHHHH!

#17
Turanli

Turanli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Ok tur, I am in the same boat, now, i was tired of my shutdown issues, so i reinstalled my osx, with windows 7 installed as well, NO MATTER WHAT I DO _ NO SOUND, nothing, all atempts that use to work for me, have no effect, no warm start, no reboot, no removing the applehda kext, zippo ziltch - all we have now is the pretty icon, nothing else... AHHHHHHHH!


Is there any way you can trick the bios to think that you are booting windows or how is the sound mixer activated? Sound works in linux so it isn't impossible...

Can someone explain me what the DSDT does?

#18
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA

Ok tur, I am in the same boat, now, i was tired of my shutdown issues, so i reinstalled my osx, with windows 7 installed as well, NO MATTER WHAT I DO _ NO SOUND, nothing, all atempts that use to work for me, have no effect, no warm start, no reboot, no removing the applehda kext, zippo ziltch - all we have now is the pretty icon, nothing else... AHHHHHHHH!



EDIT: Just strange, i was able to get it working again, with windows 7 installed. I installed perian 1.1.3 , rebooted, reinstalled the orginal modded kexts for azzilla, made sure i deleted the extenstion.mkext and also made sure applehda was also not installed, then did the warm start boot into windows 7 login screen, saw it - then rebooted into mac and presto.

this is also on a different build, ipc 10.5.6 vanilla - with ppf 1 and 2 applied to the iso.

so this alc663 kext works, for iatkos, 10.5.5 > 6 and ideneb 10.5.5 & 6, XxX 10.5.6 and finally ipc 10.5.6.

So far interms of stable os ipc is champ - iatkos is fast, but had shutdown issues with it, again this applies to asus m70vm-x1.

#19
dandaman1976

dandaman1976

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA
http://translate.goo...e...i&rls=en-us

thats a russian site who talks about the 663, someone down the page posts the attached kexts, and i am not sure they are the holy grail of what we need...

I registered with that site just to download them, they are attached... any one wanna try?

Attached Files



#20
tomtefar

tomtefar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts
Just got external mic working on the ALC663/ICH9 (Asus laptop with M50Vn motherboard) by fiddling with AppleHDA.kext from 10.5.4 (running 10.5.6).

I've had the small speaker in the menu for some time as well as "Internal Speakers", "Headphones" and "Digital Out" under Output as well as "Internal microphone" and "External microphone" under Input in System settings/Sound but I can't get any sound (and the output volume slider is disabled). Did anyone get that far with the AppleHDA.kext for ALC663 ?? Any pointers?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy