Jump to content

Dell XPS M1530 / M1330 AppleHDA Solutions (Sigmatel STAC 9228)


  • Please log in to reply
200 replies to this topic

#101
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
I got the Digital Mic working BUT (yes BIG but) I am using only one node pin config (node 19) and of course one input on the Pathmap and no outputs (zero).

I am testing different port connections so far port 0 thru 6 and 12 to 15 works. If I put port 9 as pin config of vista has on the registry the sound input is lost.

Next step is adding an output node and see if conflict with Internal Mic.

#102
gbonilla

gbonilla

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, California
Oh wow, nice find! Well hats off to you I think it's just up to M1330 and M1530 users to test it all out now.

I'll be trying to get the DSP working to get the mic slider.

#103
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
I put the dsp line of the ALC888 on the Mic and IntSpeakers, on the Speakers it adds some volume, which I think is great.


Here is a link of the Internal working:
Attached File  Picture_1.png   900.03KB   111 downloads

I am ussing this pin config:
<01371c90 01371d03 01371ea6 01371f50>
wich traduces into:
0 13 71c 9 0  node 19 association 9 sequence 0
0 13 71d 0 3  node 19 Color Unknown Misc Reserved
0 13 71e a 6  node 19 Mic In Other Digital
0 13 71f 5 0  node 19 port 5 Location 0


#104
binovino

binovino

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello everybody,

I've yet to hear any sound out of internal speakers or either of the phone jacks while in Leopard. I've tried all kinds of AppleHDA.kext's linked through these forums. I know things are very experimental right now, but am I just missing something?

I'm really quite new to OSX, so forgive me my ignorance.

Thanks a lot for all the information in these forums!

Binovino

Edit: system info
................................................................................
..................
Dell XPS M1330
Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 (2.5 GHz 6M L2 800MHz FSB)
Intel HDA / Sigmatel 9228...........................(not working)
128 MB NVIDIA GForce 8400M GS............(working, thanks!)
BroadCom 59xx/Intel 4695 .............(no worky)
OS: Mac OS X 10.5.5 (iATKOS 5)/

#105
binovino

binovino

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hello everybody,

I've yet to hear any sound out of internal speakers or either of the phone jacks while in Leopard. I've tried all kinds of AppleHDA.kext's linked through these forums. I know things are very experimental right now, but am I just missing something?

I'm really quite new to OSX, so forgive me my ignorance.

Thanks a lot for all the information in these forums!



I forgot to set permissions correctly on HDAEnabler.kext :(

Sorry for the wasted post!

Bino

#106
gbonilla

gbonilla

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, California
MacGir,l see I tried adding the DSPline and for some reason my kext sound no longer loaded.

#107
talisman

talisman

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts

I got the Digital Mic working BUT (yes BIG but) I am using only one node pin config (node 19) and of course one input on the Pathmap and no outputs (zero).

I am testing different port connections so far port 0 thru 6 and 12 to 15 works. If I put port 9 as pin config of vista has on the registry the sound input is lost.

Next step is adding an output node and see if conflict with Internal Mic.



which input node are you using....?? 19 27 7 ?

#108
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
I used 19-27-7, 19-28-8, and 19-29-9 and all work but only with node 19 alone.

I tried several combinantions anytime I add some Output node sound can't be detected or no sound from speakers.

Right know I also testing 2 imputs and Internal Mic is working, see pic:
Attached File  Picture_1.png   901.68KB   57 downloads


These are the combinations:

Speakers + Mic = no sound devices recognized
Headphone + Mic = no sound devices recognized
Line Out + Mic = no sound devices recognized

Speakers + Headphone + Mic = Mic not working
Speakers + Line Out + Mic = no sound devices recognized
Headphones + Line Out + Mic = no sound devices recognized
Speakers + Headphones + Line Out + Mic = Mic not working

Speakers + Headphones + Line Out + Mic + External Mic= Mic not working, External Mic works

Mic + External Mic= Mic works and External Mic works

Somehow Nodes of Speakers and Internal Mic are linked somehow, but pin configs of vista or Linux does not work becuase every time I user port 9 on any of theste 2 nodes sound is lose or no devices recognized.

I will try some more combinations :wacko:

#109
gbonilla

gbonilla

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, California
Hmm this could be a long shot but can you try and place them on two different pathmapIDs and create two separate pathmaps?

#110
Urthwhyte

Urthwhyte

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
Awesome work macgirl und gbonilla, looks like we'll have all this stuff working within the next few weeks!

#111
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets

Hmm this could be a long shot but can you try and place them on two different pathmapIDs and create two separate pathmaps?

That cross my mind but how I to do it? Make 2 layouts, each one with the same codec ID but with different Pathmap IDs?

Anyway, in one of the test I routed node 14 to node 4 so External Mic (right jack) becomes line out, so for those who want 3 outputs to get 5.1 it can be done now,
so node 10 = left jack, node 15 = center jack and node 14 = right jack.

Next step should be a live swapable pin configs so ext mic can be line out, etc.

I dont understand why Speakers don't work when they are the only node in the layout and patmap, they only work when another node is present in the layout/pathmap.

#112
talisman

talisman

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts
Apologies people... I should be working on this right now.. but am currently getting killed at work.... will be with you all in a week... and my guess is that you will have it all figured out by then!!

#113
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Here are the kexts for working Digital Internal Mic on XPS M1x30, they need the stock AppleHDA.kext (aka vanilla also)

here is a picture of the layout and pathmap:
Attached File  Picture_1.png   70.77KB   120 downloads

Attached File  FixSigmaTel_STAC9228_only_mic.zip   5.42KB   84 downloads

#114
Urthwhyte

Urthwhyte

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
Two things, can you post stock AppleHDA.kext as well and does this also have working internal speakers/headphones?

#115
Yehor Lvivski

Yehor Lvivski

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
No sound at all after adding this Fix* kexts and vanila HDA

I get this in system.log

Jan 15 22:54:46 yehor-lvivskis-xps-m1330 kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == fExternalControlArray" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-162.1.37/AppleHDA/AppleHDAFunctionGroup.cpp" at line 767 goto Exit
Jan 15 22:54:46 yehor-lvivskis-xps-m1330 kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == entry" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-162.1.37/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 2645 goto Exit
Jan 15 22:54:46 yehor-lvivskis-xps-m1330 kernel[0]: Matching service count = 0
Jan 15 22:54:46 yehor-lvivskis-xps-m1330 kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != result" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-162.1.37/AppleHDA/AppleHDAWidget.cpp" at line 2508 goto handler
Jan 15 22:54:46 yehor-lvivskis-xps-m1330 kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != widget->setUnsolicited ( true )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-162.1.37/AppleHDA/AppleHDACodecGeneric.cpp" at line 850 goto handler


#116
Urthwhyte

Urthwhyte

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
@Yehor: If you go into System Preferences>Sound Settings>Input Tab do you see the Internal Mic listed? If so, when you speak or otherwise make noise, does it register in the little blue bars at the bottom?

#117
Yehor Lvivski

Yehor Lvivski

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
@Urthwhyte, there are no input or output devices

#118
Urthwhyte

Urthwhyte

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

@Urthwhyte, there are no input or output devices


Did you try a permissions repair after installing the kexts, and are you 100% sure that the AppleHDA.kext you're using is authentic 10.5.6? Failing that, is there anyone with an M1330 who can test and see if it works, as that may lend credit to Macgirls idea that the m1330 and M1530 pathmaps differ.

#119
Yehor Lvivski

Yehor Lvivski

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
well after several reboots I got mic working :) WOOOOOOT

my AppleHDA shows it's 1.6.2a37 as far as i remember it's vanila

BUT i have lost my Hardware information :blink: it shows only "There was an error while gathering this information."

#120
talisman

talisman

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts

well after several reboots I got mic working :rolleyes: WOOOOOOT

my AppleHDA shows it's 1.6.2a37 as far as i remember it's vanila

BUT i have lost my Hardware information :P it shows only "There was an error while gathering this information."


Try putting in the config data





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy