Using UIButton to trigger view change

tzr15

7 posts in this topic

I am a rookie and I need help. I can easily create new apps with one view in one window. And I can populate that view with whatever I want and tie the features (buttons, text fields , etc) to IBActions in my class files. What I can not do, is use multiple views in one nib file or multiple nib files.

Here is what I am trying to do. (My actual app is more involved, but if I can get a template going that does the following, I can can expand it from there:

Start App

First window/view appears and has one UIButton.

I press that button and the the next view now appears.

Done

It should be simple, but it isnt. I can not use navigation bars or tab bars. I need to use a UIButton. I know that the UIButton needs to connect to an IBAction that has the code to remove the current view and add the new subview. But here are my questions...

Do I start with Window based template or view based template? View based says its for one view, I will have multiple, so I am guessing I want window based.

If I go with window based, do I need to create any new classes, like a viewcontroller? If I tr using addsubview or removefromview commands in the main.m, it doesnt recognize them. If I use a new viewcontroller.m class that is a sub o UIViewController then the commands are ok.

In Interface Builder do I also create a UIViewController?

What do I link my File's Owner to?

What links do I need?

I can get everything to compile fine. Once I add more than one view to my nib, it starts crashing.

I can get it all connected and no crashes, but then when the app starts, it never loads the first view.

So could someone please help me template out a starter app that does this and tell me what to do in IB to tie it all in, or maybe Ican skip IB and go progrmatically?

Start App

First window/view appears and has one UIButton.

I press that button and the the next view now appears.

Done

Thanks,

Rob