Jump to content

Apple G5 Front Panel Connector Layout


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#21
Mac OSX Coder

Mac OSX Coder

    Look a bunny!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
as long as th outside looks good!


was a while back when i started this


I yet have to take pictures of MY awesome case.

#22
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
Hey people!
I got my PowerMac G5 case a few days ago!
Could someone post how he connected the Button and the LED?
I tried it like it is described in the manual but it does not work :D
Plz help me!


cYa

#23
TorqueX86

TorqueX86

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hey people!
I got my PowerMac G5 case a few days ago!
Could someone post how he connected the Button and the LED?
I tried it like it is described in the manual but it does not work :D
Plz help me!
cYa



It wasnt working for me either, then I swapped LED and PWR and connected the Ground to the PWButton ground pin on our mobo, yeah works :)

#24
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

It wasnt working for me either, then I swapped LED and PWR and connected the Ground to the PWButton ground pin on our mobo, yeah works :(



Ok, I made a picture for the layout... Could you paint big fat red wires into the pic?

Attached Files



#25
np_

np_

  • Retired Developers
  • 339 posts

Ok, I made a picture for the layout... Could you paint big fat red wires into the pic?


here you have all pin-outs :blink:

Attached Files



#26
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

here you have all pin-outs :)


Thanks np_! my pic is based on this but it just does not work... i really don't know why :blink:
Pin 13 is LED, PIN 14 BTN and Pin 2 is Ground. But if I connect it it doesn't work... :blink:

#27
np_

np_

  • Retired Developers
  • 339 posts

Thanks np_! my pic is based on this but it just does not work... i really don't know why :blink:
Pin 13 is LED, PIN 14 BTN and Pin 2 is Ground. But if I connect it it doesn't work... :blink:



umm the LED pin (+V) remain on mobo LED ( + ) other LED pin (ground) on panel, same for PWR button

and connect panel ground ( pin 2) on mobo ground

you can see there is no +5V on panel - just ground on pin 2

EDIT - puff error !

mobo pin LED ( V+ ) go to pin 13 on panel

pin 2 on panel go to LED (ground ) on mobo + LED (ground)

this must work now

and PWR + go to panel 14

Attached Files



#28
TorqueX86

TorqueX86

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks np_! my pic is based on this but it just does not work... i really don't know why :blink:
Pin 13 is LED, PIN 14 BTN and Pin 2 is Ground. But if I connect it it doesn't work... :compress:


Thats' because you need to swap led and pwr. That did the job for me.

#29
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
Thanks np_ and TorqueX86 !!
but it does not work at all... i tried several combinations but if i connect the one pon from mobo to the panel the computer turns on!
is it normal that when i connect one pin to the case the computer turns on? but this is only with one of the two pwrbtn cables!

#30
TorqueX86

TorqueX86

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male
Nope, it's not normal, and we have the same mobo and same case, so hell, it just has to work hey :)

First of all: Did you split the pwr and led cables as 3 separate single cables?

I'll make u a l33t drawing: this is the connector on the Conroe:

O O O O O
---O O O O

O is ground

O is led

O is PWR

This works for me...

#31
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
So,
the cables are split! there are 3 cables now!
now i have the manual and the picture says:


O O O O
O O O O O

O GND
O PWRBTN#
O PLED+

So it must be like this in the G5 case:

O O O O O
-- O O O O

Or am I wrong?? :)

#32
np_

np_

  • Retired Developers
  • 339 posts
O GND -> pin 2 on case panel
O PWRBTN# -> pin 14 on case panel
O PLED+ -> pin 13 on case panel



do this for test

connect only ground from mobo to pin2 on case panel

the PLED+ to pin 13 on case panel

leave PWR button unconnected

then short (once, use paper clip ) PWR button both pins on mobo , PC must start and see if LED is "ON"

if led is ok short again pwr button pins on mobo till PC get off (keep it short till off 3-4 sec )

connect PWRBTN to pin 14 on case panel to test pwr button

and test if work

you can do same but in reverse, first test pwr button then LED and on the end both

don't worry there is nothing to burn or get broken , even if you connect all cables wrong

#33
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
HAH!!!!!
I just got it to work!!!! :D
The front panel pins are different than in the manual!!!
I will post a picture later, how I got it to work...
Thanks to np_ and TorqueX86! :)

#34
TorqueX86

TorqueX86

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male

HAH!!!!!
I just got it to work!!!! :D
The front panel pins are different than in the manual!!!
I will post a picture later, how I got it to work...
Thanks to np_ and TorqueX86! :)


Anytime mate :)

You know what would be so really cool now? To get a detailed pinout of a Firewire cable

FW plug -----> Pins on the apple front panel board

Would be awesome if someone told me which pin is which ON THE PLUG

I want to use the internal FW Plug of my firewire card...

#35
flashboy2000

flashboy2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

HAH!!!!!
I just got it to work!!!! :)
The front panel pins are different than in the manual!!!
I will post a picture later, how I got it to work...
Thanks to np_ and TorqueX86! :)



Neo, please, show me the picture. I have the same problem
many thx

#36
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Neo, please, show me the picture. I have the same problem
many thx


Oh, sorry...
Totally forgot this thread! :P
Will make one in Photoshop now! It should be up in 15 Minutes!

Edit: Ok, here it is... I hope you understand it!

cYa ~Neo

Attached Files



#37
flashboy2000

flashboy2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Oh, sorry...
Totally forgot this thread! B)
Will make one in Photoshop now! It should be up in 15 Minutes!

Edit: Ok, here it is... I hope you understand it!

cYa ~Neo

YES !!! It`s working :P many, many, many thanks !!! I`m from Russia and no one can help me....

Has forgotten: HAPPY NEW YEAR

#38
daclothe

daclothe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
I know I'm bumping a 3 year old thread, but I just wanted to say thanks for posting that most recent diagram...It worked like a charm!

#39
DukeRaoul

DukeRaoul

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Interests:Power Mac G5 reincarnated as C2D: <br /><br />GA-EP43-UD3l<br />Pentium...
-Neo's method worked fine for me on a board with no built-in firewire, except that I had to connect my "FW Ground" on the front panel to my LED ground on the motherboard to get my LED to light up on the G5 case front. The power button worked both ways, either connected to the Power Button ground or the LED ground, but the light only came on when LED ground was used.
This is on a GA-EP43-UD3L mobo.

/offtopic

Found a dude selling G5 front panel cables for 8 bucks on eBay!

http://cgi.ebay.com/...#ht_1897wt_1141

Having one of these should make it real easy to wire up all the connections, since it gives you wires directly out from the front panel with no modding necessary, except for splicing the wires from the cable to your mobo headers' wires.

#40
rjosxasus

rjosxasus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
I'm looking to find a Power Mac G5 (late 2004, A1093) Service manual. I can't seem to find it anywhere. Can anyone help? Ouch's link doesn't work anymore. thanks very much.

I'm trying to hook up the front panel Power button, USB, and headphone jack. I don't know what pin numbers are which on the pinout.

If the case is upright, and I'm looking at the socket vertically, the top left pin is what? top right? bottom left, bottom right?

Thanks so much.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy