OSX 10.5.5 (iDeneb 1.3) Kernel & Boot Options

chaosinmind

7 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am very new to OSX and the x86 project in general. I was able to install and boot OSX on the following setup without any errors first try:

* GIGABYTE GA-EP43-DS3L

* Core 2 Duo E7200

* 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2

* ATI 2600XT 512MB

Almost everything worked out of the box. Video, Lan, DVD Drive. The only thing that does not work is my on board sound which I am researching on different threads. But that's not my problem....

My first question is:

Every time the system boots, I have to add the -x boot flag or it will just sit at a screen with my mouse in the upper left hand corner and never prompts me to log on. I know I can add this as a default boot option after palying around with the OS, but I don't even know what -x does. Why do I have to type -x and does it affect the functionality of my system? Also, Is it possible to change the kernel or something to allow it to boot without the flag?

My second question:

On iDeneb 1.3, I did not have the option to install the vanilla kernel in the custom options at install. Just 9.5.x patched by someone. Where can I obtain the most recent vanilla kernel? Ive ran a search but had no luck.

My first question is:

Every time the system boots, I have to add the -x boot flag or it will just sit at a screen with my mouse in the upper left hand corner and never prompts me to log on. I know I can add this as a default boot option after palying around with the OS, but I don't even know what -x does. Why do I have to type -x and does it affect the functionality of my system? Also, Is it possible to change the kernel or something to allow it to boot without the flag?

-x Is "Safe Boot" you might have some Extension that the system does not like... Have you loaded any drivers other than what was installed with the DVD? Did you choose a Sound driver?

My second question: