The most perfect mini Hack Pro ever

Badeendje

42 posts in this topic

History:

Some 2 years ago, I bought myself some mini-itx stuff, and fell in love with it!

Not only is the mini-itx platform extremely silent, but also it creates a lot of space around your desk!

At the time I used it as bedroom htpc with mediaportal, but soon enough I saw Leopard was available in distro's for the pc and thought, I got to try that!

Well as I'm a civil engineer, and use vectorworks to draw my schemes, I was already familair with MacOs, all the way back since mini-cad 7.

But this mini-itx board had this major problem, onboard gma950 with lvds, and as you might know lvds is one of the most problematic things to get working.

So I tried to install and use it on more pc's in next half a year or so, till I got to the point I understood enough and wanted to make something proper.

As I really like mini-itx I decided it'll be a mini-itx hack pro!

The Problems:

Half a year ago I decided to build a Hack Pro mini, but where to start?

Well I already knew what case I would want to use, I already had one, so that one was easy.

The motherboard proved more difficult, but after about a month I found this almost perfect motherboard.

This motherboard had one major drawback, onboard x3100, no lvds this time but d-sub only, yuck!

Luckily this board has a full Pci-e x16 slot, so the search began for a perfect gfx card.

This proved to be more challanging than I expected, and in the end only 1 card with 1 specific cooler would fit, it would cost me another 5 months to finally get ahold of one!

Now I finally got this far, I decided to order everything else, and since parts are starting to poor in, I decided to write this log as lots of people showed interest in it.

Parts:

Now up to the juicy part!

Case: Nexus Psile 10a

m370.jpg

I fell in love with this case the moment I saw it, when I saw some cheap mini-itx parts I ordered it right away!