Jump to content

ATI Radeon 3450 works


  • Please log in to reply
93 replies to this topic

#1
cmid_sb1

cmid_sb1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Finally, after searching for months I can now get 1900x1200 resolution
on an ATI 3450 (device id 95c5) on OSX.

Here is a link to the Kext.

http://forum.insanel...t...st&id=36622

Thanks to whomever made this available.

Posted Image

#2
Evgeni Metodiev

Evgeni Metodiev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
can you post a brief how-to guide for this driver for all newbies like me??? I`ve waited for that driver for so long and now I`m so excited, but cant install it on my own :(

P.S Well, i kinda installed it (actually copied the kexts in the extensions folder, but I get white screen after booting in mac os (I see the initial screen with the apple logo, after that it flickers a few times, and the white screen settles after that) How can I solve this?

#3
Benjan

Benjan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
what else do we need? atix2000 or sth else? please let me know.
Chipset Model: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3470
Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x95c4
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-B1480A-236
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.236
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1024 x 768
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Software
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported
QuartzGL: Supported
Display Connector:

It seems that my Natit.kext loaded, but still cannot change resolution.

#4
ihave2macsbutwantmore

ihave2macsbutwantmore

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
can u write a guide? i had the same kext before but didn't work like yours. thank you in advance. cheers.

edit: by the way, still no QE/CI? :( that's sad!!

#5
ihave2macsbutwantmore

ihave2macsbutwantmore

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
up, waiting for cmid. :whistle:

#6
leonardo1

leonardo1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
me too! waiting for cmid ! thx

#7
cmid_sb1

cmid_sb1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
A couple of people have emailed me, asking for a "Tutorial". I really didn't
see the need as, it's pretty simple, but here are the steps.

I have an ATI 3450 Radeon HD (95c5). I could only get 1600x1200 resolution
on a 24" monitor that is capable of 1920x1200, and it drove me crazy!
It looks so much cleaner in 1920 vs 1600, though Quartz Extreme is not supported

1.) Goto Applications/Utilities/SystemProfiler
Click on "Graphics/Displays"
Make sure the device ID is 95c5

2.) Download this file and extract.
http://forum.insanel...t...st&id=36622

3.) All of the Kexts in the file need to be installed. The easy way is to get
"OSx86 Tools Utility", and click on "Install Kexts".

LegacyATIRadeonX2000.kext and Natit.kext

4.) Edit the file

/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist

and make these changes:

<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>"Graphics Mode"=1920x1200x32</string>

5.) Reboot, and your all set.

#8
ridgeline

ridgeline

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Coral, FL
Okay guys, I am glad to see there is forward movement on the ATi front please note this is a standard ATi not a mobility.....

#9
dazzz

dazzz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi cmid and all ;)

I am really interested in how you got this HD 3450 card working as a lot of post's are saying its not possible and I may need to look at buying another graphics card.

I have iDeneb V1.3 10.5.5 leopard

I have tried running -x -v.. although it keeps rebooting whilst loading and I cant catch anything it is failing on.

What do I need to select in the intial setup as additional to install? (customize)??

At the end of the day I just want to get this working. All I want to do is really run logic 8 pro :P

My system is as follows:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (2.30ghz)
ASUS M2V Motherboard with VIAK8T890/VT8237A chipset
ASUS EAH3450 (ATI HD3450 chipset)

Any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks - Daz

#10
Martin Dobrev

Martin Dobrev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi guys,
I have a Radeon HD 3470 Card. Is there any chance that this method will work for me also? I have struggled for a long time until I got my LAN and Audio working. The only thing that I need is the Video working...
Please, if anybody knows something about this, tell me
Thanks in advance

#11
jabasc

jabasc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
To the people who got this card working, does it work with two monitors?

#12
Martin Dobrev

Martin Dobrev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I just tried and installed the LegacyATIRadeonX2000.kext and Natit.kext on my HD 3470
I was also able to change the resolution as described, but unfortunately the best I could get is 1152x864 :)

#13
Boombeng

Boombeng

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

I just tried and installed the LegacyATIRadeonX2000.kext and Natit.kext on my HD 3470
I was also able to change the resolution as described, but unfortunately the best I could get is 1152x864 :)


Hi Martin,

Is it a mobility one ?
thx

#14
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,874 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Beside that i understand ist better to get any res / no QE/CI displayed as nothing, i didnt would say, as thread tite tells : 3450 works !
It works limited if no QE/CI and/or OpenGL apps may get problems !

#15
Boombeng

Boombeng

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Beside that i understand ist better to get any res / no QE/CI displayed as nothing, i didnt would say, as thread tite tells : 3450 works !
It works limited if no QE/CI and/or OpenGL apps may get problems !


Agree with you Mitch_de

#16
ridgeline

ridgeline

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Coral, FL
quick question are you guys removing all other ATi kext and only having this installed or just adding this to the extensions folder?

#17
Martin Dobrev

Martin Dobrev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Hi Martin,

Is it a mobility one ?
thx



No, it is not a mobility one.

quick question are you guys removing all other ATi kext and only having this installed or just adding this to the extensions folder?


This was the first kext I installed manually.

#18
kpitstupidsimple

kpitstupidsimple

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
I've just installed this on my studio 1537, with a mobility HD3450 (0x95c4 I believe). after adding the vga line (1920x1200x32)to com.apple.boot.plist and rebooting, system profiler shows it as this:
Chipset Model: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3470
Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x95c4
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-B1480A-236
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.236
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1600x1200
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Software
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported
Display Connector:

Before installing the kexts and changing the plist, it was:
Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Kernel Extension Info: No Kext Loaded
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1024 x 768
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Software
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported

I'm still not getting 1920x1200, which for now would be more than enough to satisfy me with the hd3450 situation. Is this possible?

Hopefully the SP info can help the devs :wallbash: (I'm more than willing to post any other information, just tell me what)

#19
ridgeline

ridgeline

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Coral, FL

I've just installed this on my studio 1537, with a mobility HD3450 (0x95c4 I believe). after adding the vga line (1920x1200x32)to com.apple.boot.plist and rebooting, system profiler shows it as this:

Chipset Model: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3470
Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x95c4
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-B1480A-236
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.236
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1600x1200
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Software
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported
Display Connector:

Before installing the kexts and changing the plist, it was:
Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Kernel Extension Info: No Kext Loaded
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1024 x 768
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Software
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported

I'm still not getting 1920x1200, which for now would be more than enough to satisfy me with the hd3450 situation. Is this possible?

Hopefully the SP info can help the devs :) (I'm more than willing to post any other information, just tell me what)


The kext is only showing what you are telling it to. this is not really a working driver for mobility cards at this point, you were able to change resolution using the boot.plist method becasue you upgraded your LCD when you ordered your system.

There is a new update coming out soon.... that will have more graphic driver info and at that point I am hoping myself or LastExile can come up with something.

#20
kpitstupidsimple

kpitstupidsimple

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
I know it's not a real driver, but I would be very content until the next update with having WUXGA but no QE. I just don't see why I'm getting 1600x1200 instead of 1920x1200, when i'm passing 1920 to com.apple.boot.plist?

(BTW, The LCD upgrade is MORE THAN worth the $150 upgrade.)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy