Jump to content

I think i find the T61 graphics problem


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
clockrun

clockrun

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
I got a fresh "Stock 10.5.4" install on a T61 model 7663-BR1, and installed 82566mm driver and batterymeter driver, the final thing i want to do is to enable QE/CI on the NVS140m chipset. I extract the video rom from Lenovo Bios, but it do not contain any NVCAP value in it. Somehow, there is another file named Display0.rom, can be scaned by NVCAP_Maker.app, but i got a strang value:
040000000000ff00000000000000000700000000

After trying a lot of NVCAP value, i read a thread of a user who use NV140m on DELL D830 successfully enabled QE/CI, I decide to use original kext without any injector. and then i found:
when i delete the GeforceGA.plugin, system can boot, some graphics kext can be loaded, but with no QE/CI and Resolution support. In About this Mac, it said

Display:

Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 32 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0429
Revision ID: 0x00a1
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1280 x 800
Depth: 32-bit Color
Core Image: Software
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Not Supported



then i use "ioreg -l -w0" to locate the problem, several lines attract me:

| | | +-o .Display_boot <class IONDRVFramebuffer, registered, matched, active, busy 0, retain 10>
| | | | | {
| | | | | "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport"
| | | | | "IOPMStrictTreeOrder" = Yes
| | | | | "IOMatchCategory" = "IOFramebuffer"
| | | | | "IOAccelRevision" = 2
| | | | | "IOFBGammaWidth" = 8
| | | | | "IOFBTransform" = 0
| | | | | "IOFBWaitCursorPeriod" = 33333333
| | | | | "IONameMatched" = "display"
| | | | | "IONameMatch" = "display"
| | | | | "IOFBWaitCursorFrames" = 15
| | | | | "IOFBCursorInfo" = ()
| | | | | "IOProbeScore" = 20000
| | | | | "IOAccelTypes" = "IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/AGP@1/IOPCI2PCIBridge/VID@0/NVKernel"
| | | | | "IOFBGammaHeaderSize" = 12
| | | | | "IOAccelIndex" = 0
| | | | | "graphic-options" = 0
| | | | | "IOFBConfig" = {"dims"=<ffffffffffffffff0000000000000000>,"IODisplayConnectFlags"=0,"IOFBModes"=({"AID"=870640396,"DM"=<000500002003000000000000000000000300000000000000000000000000000000000000>,"DF"=3,"ID"=100}),"IOFB0Hz"=Yes}
| | | | | "IOPowerManagement" = {"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2,"DriverChangePowerState"=1}
| | | | | "IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"
| | | | | "IOCFPlugInTypes" = {"ACCF0000-0000-0000-0000-000a2789904e"="GeForceGA.plugin"}
| | | | | "IOFramebufferOpenGLIndex" = 0
| | | | | "IODisplayParameters" = "IOFramebufferParameterHandler is not serializable"
| | | | | "IOFBMemorySize" = 33554432
| | | | | "IOGeneralInterest" = "IOCommand is not serializable"
| | | | | "IONDRVFramebufferGeneration" = <0100000001000000>
| | | | | "IOClass" = "IONDRVFramebuffer"
| | | | | "IOFBGammaCount" = 256
| | | | | }



| | +-o AGP@1 <class IOPCIDevice, registered, matched, active, busy 0, retain 10>
| | | | {
| | | | "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
| | | | "#address-cells" = <03000000>
| | | | "IOName" = "pci-bridge"
| | | | "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0","IOPCIMessagedInterruptController")
| | | | "IOPCIExpressLinkCapabilities" = 33631489
| | | | "class-code" = <00040600>
| | | | "IOPowerManagement" = {"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2}
| | | | "revision-id" = <0c000000>
| | | | "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>,<0000000000000100>)
| | | | "built-in" = <00>
| | | | "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"
| | | | "device-id" = <012a0000>
| | | | "vendor-id" = <86800000>
| | | | "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/AGP@10000"
| | | | "ranges" = <0000008200000000000000d00000008200000000000000d00000000000000003000000c200000
00000000e0000000c200000000000000e00000000000000010000000810000000000200000000000
100000000002000000000000000100000>
| | | | "name" = "pci-bridge"
| | | | "IOPCIExpressLinkStatus" = 4353
| | | | "reg" = <0008000000000000000000000000000000000000>
| | | | "compatible" = <"pci8086,2a01","pciclass,060400">
| | | | "IODTPersist" = <780afb2dc00afb2d>
| | | | "#size-cells" = <02000000>
| | | | "IOPCIConfigured" = Yes
| | | | }



personally i believed this is the problem, where the graphics card were recognise as using an AGP bus but not PCI bus. Then I try to upgrade my iopcifamily.kext from 2.4.1 to 2.4.4, but it could not help.

I will continue my research, anyone who can give me some advice?? Thank you very much.

Attach is my ioreg result

Attached Files



#2
kytzu

kytzu

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Gender:Male
good news, thread bookmarked :(

what I just discovered is that T61 140M is incompatible with 10.5.5 Nvidia drivers (I had to use Geforce* and NVD* kexts from 10.5.3 to make the upgrade functional). Since they are changed, it can be a chance to make it work by "tunning" the new drivers also.

#3
macfan888

macfan888

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
Guys, Keep up with the good work! There will be a solution!

#4
krueger

krueger

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi guys!

A week has past since this discovery!

Is there any news on the subject???

Cheers,

Fred

#5
oldirty

oldirty

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I found this on linux kernel site that might be useful for NVS140 solution:

http://www.kernel.or.../git-acpi.patch

Search for this: video.c~git-acpi drivers/acpi/video.c

Lots of values for video card that you might be able to decipher. Thanks

#6
clockrun

clockrun

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
I was totally wrong.
Sorry i haven't update this post in time.

The new discovery is, the problem could due to the memory detect. i think maybe the video bios was integrated into MB bios, the remap address could be changed but Mac OS fail to detect video bios.

this could explain when i delete GeforceGA.Plugin but keep NVDARESMAN.kext in my system, it can boot up normally but report only 32m memory, which means it worked on VESA mode.

thanks for giving me the useful link. i will read it after my exam.

following is the information Lenovo gave:

Reserved Area The following conventional memory addresses are reserved by the BIOS and others. (When Intel Turbo Memory is installed in your system, conventional memory addresses are reserved 12k bytes more.) nVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M models

  • C0000-CEFFF : Reserved for Video BIOS
  • CF000-D0FFF : Reserved for Option ROM of Ethernet (*1)
  • E0000-FFFFF : Reserved for System BIOS
nVIDIA Quadro FX 570M models

  • C0000-CF7FF : Reserved for Video BIOS
  • CF800-D17FF : Reserved for Option ROM of Ethernet (*1)
  • E0000-FFFFF : Reserved for System BIOS
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator GM965 models

  • C0000-CFFFF : Reserved for Video BIOS
  • D0000-D1FFF : Reserved for Option ROM of Ethernet (*1)
  • E0000-FFFFF : Reserved for System BIOS
Note: (*1) This area becomes free by disabling the Internal Network Option ROM option under Config and Network in BIOS Setup Utility. This choice will disable PXE and WOL features.


Usable Area The following memory address can be used by the memory manager such as EMM386. nVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M models

  • D1000-DFFFF
nVIDIA Quadro FX 570M models

  • D1800-DFFFF
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator GM965 models

  • D2000-DFFFF
Note: Certain addresses in this area will be reserved for CardBus Controllers or others by Operating Systems. The addresses vary and depend on the design of each Operating System.


I am curious what will happened if i do COPY memory content from C0000-CEFFF to other place. will the video card work then?
can anyone please tell me some information about this? thank you.

#7
nicus

nicus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
keep up your work! would be great to have the 140m working!

#8
Takuro

Takuro

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired
  • 1,162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
It's been a full year since people have been messing with Thinkpads with 140m's trying to get QE and CI working in Leopard. I think this problem is long over-do for a solution, so I'll definitely cheer you on. :huh:

I'd like to go back to college in my spring semester with one of the only fully functional installation of Leopard on the Thinkpads my school gave us. Hehe...

#9
nicus

nicus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
are there any news? hope someone get this thing to work :)

#10
Defender666

Defender666

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
any progress to this? I'm also really desperate with my nvs140m

Anyone tried the new 10.5.6 ??

#11
Kabal74

Kabal74

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

any progress to this? I'm also really desperate with my nvs140m

Anyone tried the new 10.5.6 ??

I'm a T61 (7663) owner and I tried this morning with IPC OSX86 10.5.6 but it doesn't work !!

#12
Defender666

Defender666

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

I'm a T61 (7663) owner and I tried this morning with IPC OSX86 10.5.6 but it doesn't work !!


:-( Thank you for your feedback

#13
Jeezoflip

Jeezoflip

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Interests:Computers of course!
guys.........

please get this to work. i took leopard off my t61 for now because the sound kext would always {censored} out, no sleep support, and the graphics obviously. if you could get the graphics to work, i would most likely put 10.5.6 on and just learn to live without sound and sleep support for now.

#14
nicus

nicus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
i would like to help but i think i don't have enough knowledge :(
i have a t61 with the graphic-chip mentioned above.

i have no idea where to start building a driver for a graphics card.

#15
pfor

pfor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Any progress in this problem? Is there any information? Many Thinkpad users are on the same boat :)

#16
f0rcegr0wn

f0rcegr0wn

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
Again, any news guys?

I managed to install Snow Leopard 10.6.2 on T61p. Back in 10.5.7 even with the framebuffer I was getting acceptable performance opening and closing windows. Now it's dragging quite a bit.

How can I determine how much memory is reported to OS X ?

Any ideas how to speed things up even in framebuffer?
Currently screen is running slower than in a vmware image...

Thanks

#17
hiqu

hiqu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts

Again, any news guys?

I managed to install Snow Leopard 10.6.2 on T61p. Back in 10.5.7 even with the framebuffer I was getting acceptable performance opening and closing windows. Now it's dragging quite a bit.

How can I determine how much memory is reported to OS X ?

Any ideas how to speed things up even in framebuffer?
Currently screen is running slower than in a vmware image...

Thanks


Just use vanilla kexts and remove NVDAResman.kext. Then use any method (efi, injectors) for 8600GT or something
and set NVRAM to 256MB. You should get good performance.

#18
cdyFlorian

cdyFlorian

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
Good News! Install mountain Lion and you have full Graphics Support on a T61p with Nvidia Quadro 570m!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy