Internal Mic (and External Mic) working for Gateway Laptops using Stac 9205 (reported working with Vostro and other DELLs)

xbc

83 posts in this topic

Working solution. On a Gateway M6843 and maybe similar models

After the autopatcher didn't work with linux codec dump. I started playing with a working AppleHDA.kext I found in the forums. The problem is that my internal mic was not working. I really do not like the idea of having to carry around extra hardware just to use skype. So I started playing with the plist configuration. After many, and let me stress the word MANY attempts, I got a working solution. I am posting the solution to give back to this community. I hope this helps you as it helps me.

AppleHDA.kext.zip

As it is it is not auto switching. This means you get two inputs, one for the external and one for the internal mic. Maybe I will figure this out later, but this isn't such a priority as getting the internal mic working. Also the method I used might work with other Sigmatel 9205 so fell free to post your dumps, and maybe I can help out.

Another tip. To get your Gateway 2.0 USB camera working, download Camtwist. It doesn't work for Ichat, but it works for flash, skype, yahoo, adium, photoboot.

I just hopes that this one works with my Sigmatel STAC9205x. I ve been trying lots of kexts and codec dumps and they aint working. Problem is the AppleHDA Patcher aint even doing the patching. It starts and a point it simply stops and just stays there.

Should i just install the APPLEHDA.kext with Kext helper? Do I need to do anything further?

Well, I have installed your kext on my Gateway M-6843 and still, no sound yet. I am gonna try a reinstallation of the MAC OSX86 with Kalyway 10.5.2. Maybe that will fix it. cos I am on 10.5.3 at the moment.

Very Simple I looked at the codec from my linux dump for this section

Node 0x0b [Pin Complex] wcaps 0x400181: Stereo
 Pincap 0x081737: IN OUT Detect Trigger ImpSense
Vref caps: HIZ 50 GRD 80