Jump to content

[BOOT-132] Legacy AppleHDA


  • Please log in to reply
231 replies to this topic

#1
stickpin

stickpin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel

Legacy AppleHDA for BOOT-132.
Updated: 13.10.2008


Thanks alot for hard work to: Taruga, Kabyl, Munky, CycloneFr and all Chameleon Team.
Thanks alot to THe KiNG (XyZ) for great research and AppleHDA - Knowledge Base.


Update 13.10.2008 V5: System profiler fixed, no more fake values. Codec verb fixed. Digital In removed.

Update 4.10.2008 V4: Changed override method to one that CycloneFr described here. More inputs and outputs working now. No more snow leo kexts needed, using leo ones now. Problem that not fixed yet is System Profiler, for now just use mine HDAEnabler, included into archive, its fakes PinConfigutaion. ;)

Posted Image


Requirements:
1. Mac OS X 10.5.x Leopard with ORIGINAL AppleHDA.kext.
2. BOOT-132: USB Stick / FAT Partition / EFI Partition.


How to install:

1. Download kexts for your Sound card.

2. Extract them to your CUSTOM Extensions folder (ex. /Users/MyName/Desktop/Extensions).

3. Change permissions
chmod -R 644 /Users/MyName/Desktop/Extensions
chown -R root:wheel /Users/MyName/Desktop/Extensions

4. Create Extensions.mkext with all your kexts!!!
kextcache -a i386 -m /Users/MyName/Desktop/Extensions.mkext /Users/MyName/Desktop/Extensions

5. Copy Extensions.mkext to your Booter.
im using EFI Boot so my folder for Extensions.mkext is: /Volumes/EFI/System/Booter/Extensions.mkext

6. Change permissions again
chmod 644 /Volumes/EFI/System/Booter/Extensions.mkext
chown root:wheel /Volumes/EFI/System/Booter/Extensions.mkext

7. Dont forget to remove Extensions Folder on your Booter.
rm -rf /Volumes/EFI/System/Booter/Extensions

8. Restart with -f flag.

9. Post your result. :)


TODO List:
1) All Line Outs + Front Mic In to work.
2) Create Universal LegacyHDA for ALC88x series.
3) To support all ALCxxx series codecs.


Device Mapping:
Blue: Line In - Working
Green: IntSpeaker - Working
Pink: Mic In - Working
Black: Line Out - Working
Orange: Line Out - Work in progress
Gray: Line Out - Work in progress

S/P-DIF In: - Removed
S/P-DIF Out: - Working

Front: Headphones - Working
Front: Mic In - Work in progress


Downloads:
Realtek ALC882 Address 0: BETA V4 | BETA V5 Comming soon
Realtek ALC882 Address 2: BETA V4 | BETA V5 Comming soon

Realtek ALC883 Address 0: BETA V4 | BETA V5 Comming soon
Realtek ALC883 Address 2: BETA V4 | BETA V5 Comming soon

Realtek ALC888 Address 0: BETA V4 | BETA V5 Comming soon
Realtek ALC888 Address 2: BETA V4 | BETA V5 Comming soon
Realtek ALC888: ASUS M50SV by THe KiNG

Realtek ALC885/889A: BETA V4 | BETA V5

Sigmatel 9200: Legacy Sigmatel 9200 by sonotone
Sigmatel 9205: Legacy Sigmatel 9205 by Brandon2004

#2
titooo1

titooo1

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 197 posts
Congratulations & thanks.
I goot a noob question. Does it need Alcinject?
I mean I have sound with ALC660-VD with applehda+alcinject. Will your method work with my sound card? Or it's only valid for those who don't need alinject?

Thanks!

#3
stickpin

stickpin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel
titooo1, for now it works only for sound card specified here.
No ALC660 support yet.

#4
3Dman

3Dman

    a3Dman

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 490 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt
Thanks stickpin, I also hope that there will be AC97 support :P

#5
roidm

roidm

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
Ok, succesfull install using EFI BOOT

Posted Image

Digital out & Internal Speakers: work
Line out: doesnt work
Rest: N/T

Great Work , congrats... :P

edit:

system.log

Oct 2 09:35:26 p35-ds4-de-roisoft kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == entry" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 2363 goto Exit
Oct 2 09:35:26 p35-ds4-de-roisoft kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == entry" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 2363 goto Exit
Oct 2 09:35:27 p35-ds4-de-roisoft kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == entry" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 2363 goto Exit
Oct 2 09:35:27 p35-ds4-de-roisoft kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == entry" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDAEngine.cpp" at line 2363 goto Exit
Oct 2 09:35:27: --- last message repeated 1 time ---
Oct 2 09:35:27 p35-ds4-de-roisoft kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != widget->setUnsolicited ( true )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDACodecGeneric.cpp" at line 830 goto handler

.....

Oct 2 09:38:52 p35-ds4-de-roisoft kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != widget->setUnsolicited ( true )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDACodecGeneric.cpp" at line 830 goto handler
Oct 2 09:38:52 p35-ds4-de-roisoft kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != widget->setUnsolicited ( true )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDACodecGeneric.cpp" at line 830 goto handler
Oct 2 09:43:59 p35-ds4-de-roisoft kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != widget->setUnsolicited ( true )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDACodecGeneric.cpp" at line 830 goto handler



#6
sonotone

sonotone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,151 posts
Second succes here. Thanks a lot.

#7
THe KiNG

THe KiNG

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired Developers
  • 779 posts
  • Gender:Male
Those sound assertion errors are normal if u have on plist wrong input/output
I managed to have just one(appear twice) and thats internal mic that dosent work, no matter what i tried, unless someone figure out how to create hda codec verbs u cant get rid of them and have 100% working codec ^_^

#8
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
Actually you don't need to use Snow Leopard kext in any way.

You can just use some Plist so whenever 10.5.6 is out and if it has a new AppleHDA, it'll use AppleHDAPlatform + Controller from 10.5.6 and NOT from Snow Leo !

Just edit your plists accordingly to mine (alc883) : http://www.mediafire.com/?onz2nm30yn1 so the structures remains the same.
Just take the plists from these 2 kexts you are using RIGHT now as a base and edit them so the main structure (everything except IOKitPersonalities, which has all the infos about your codec) remains the same as mine.

Enjoy !

EDIT : don't forget to use HDAEnabler.kext. Not the one from the topic, this one has been edited it seems and only works with ALC889.

#9
THe KiNG

THe KiNG

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired Developers
  • 779 posts
  • Gender:Male
I can confirm that works, no need for snow kexts!
just take those ^^^ and do the same plist job!
Thanks for pointing me on how to make it CycloneFr! ;)

#10
stickpin

stickpin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel
Thanks alot cyclonefr for your research!!!
New version comming... Finally got Speakers + Headphones + Line Out working! :D

#11
stickpin

stickpin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel
Updated... check first post. Please post your results. ;)

#12
i_Geek

i_Geek

    iGeek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
what about Realtek ALC662 ?

regards

#13
stickpin

stickpin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel
greyMD, as i said before... For now im working only on this codecs: 882, 883, 888, 885/889A.
If ill get confirmation that this codecs works, ill try to modify others.


p.s: @ALL: Added ALC882, please test.

#14
i_Geek

i_Geek

    iGeek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
thanks for quick reply

looking forward finding good news from you regarding our issue!

#15
AlainTox714

AlainTox714

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 208 posts
@stickpin

I got working LegacyAppleAHCIPort.kext and LegacyIOAHCIBlockStorage.kext.

But i am completely stuck with AppleHDA, i analyse the way you mod those plist file and try to do the same for my mobo.

I analyse also "THe KiNG for ASUS M50SV", little bit different and also try to do the same.

I can't definitely get it working, here is a log error.

Oct 4 09:02:50 localhost kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == pathMap_aDriverInstance" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDADriver.cpp" at line 1653 goto Exit
Oct 4 09:02:50 localhost kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != createAudioEngines ( fPathMap_aDriverInstance )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDADriver.cpp" at line 108 goto Exit
Oct 4 09:02:50 localhost kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 == pathMap_aDriverInstance" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDADriver.cpp" at line 1653 goto Exit
Oct 4 09:02:50 localhost kernel[0]: Sound assertion "0 != createAudioEngines ( fPathMap_aDriverInstance )" failed in "/SourceCache/AppleHDA/AppleHDA-157.1.24/AppleHDA/AppleHDADriver.cpp" at line 108 goto Exit

Of course i use HDAEnabler and get partial SystemProfiler Audio report.

Here is attached my lattest try close to your method, if you like to help i will be very glad.

http://forum.insanel...t...st&id=35456

#16
stickpin

stickpin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel
@AlainTox714, you codec is Sigmatel 9227... i dont know if possible to use such method for your card. I think this trick works only for ALC88x cards. Sorry.

@ALL, Added ALC888, please test.

#17
AlainTox714

AlainTox714

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 208 posts

@AlainTox714, you codec is Sigmatel 9227... i dont know if possible to use such method for your card. I think this trick works only for ALC88x cards. Sorry.

@ALL, Added ALC888, please test.


My Codec is SigmaTel STAC9274D

If i check AppleHDA binary Sigmatel is supported but for 7680 mine is 7621

otool -tV /Users/caytam/Desktop/AppleHDA.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleHDA | grep 8384

0001d713 cmpl $0x83847680,%eax
0001f2f3 cmpl $0x83847680,%eax

If i check AppleHDA binary Realteck is supported but only for 262 and only 885

otool -tV /Users/caytam/Desktop/AppleHDA.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleHDA | grep 10ec

0001d6df cmpl $0x10ec0262,%eax
0001d6e6 cmpl $0x10ec0885,%eax
0001f2bf cmpl $0x10ec0262,%eax
0001f2c6 cmpl $0x10ec0885,%eax

I even try to build an entirely patched AppleHDA.kext in S/L/E load but don't works.

Thanks anyway.

#18
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY
Stickpin,

This works great and the instructions are great and straight forward. Working here on my ALC885.

Thanks and keep up the great work,

-Stell

#19
MadTux

MadTux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
Great!

#20
stickpin

stickpin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel
@AlainTox714, ill take a look to another codecs letter, its should be another codec verb there, maybe another device mapping, i have no Sigmatel device to test here, so all i can to its to follow blind here.

@Stellarola, thanks alot for report, if you can please report if all submited inputs and outputs works for you.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy