Jump to content

Broadcom BCM5787M/BCM5784M - A solution


  • Please log in to reply
245 replies to this topic

#81
bastop

bastop

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
I need a driver for the Broadcom Netlink BCM5784M !

I really need your help and I'm quite a newbie!!!

Thanks

#82
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

I need a driver for the Broadcom Netlink BCM5784M !

I really need your help and I'm quite a newbie!!!

Thanks


Oh my God!! the driver is here, look the first post in this thread, basic skills are required to install, try to read the readme and/or ask the help of a friend. i can't try it because i don't have a 5784, but success are reported here.

#83
bastop

bastop

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
it say device not configured when i do tcpdump using 1 for X
0 Works but i thinks thats Wifi, because it shows different network adresses, stopping doing that, as i turn of Wifi...

After doing everything as the Readme says using 0for X, there is no error, but also no working network device?

Where would it be shown? Pc Cards?


And I did this:
bash-3.2# cd Desktop/
bash-3.2# cd Broadcom5787M/
bash-3.2# chown -R root:wheel AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext
bash-3.2# chmod -R 755 AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext
bash-3.2# kextload AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext
kextload: extension AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext is already loaded
bash-3.2# ifconfig
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
fw0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 2030
lladdr 32:4f:c0:00:38:87:f8:70
media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
en0: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet6 fe80::222:69ff:feb1:8a17%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
inet 192.168.2.6 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
ether 00:22:69:b1:8a:17
media: autoselect status: active
supported media: autoselect
bash-3.2#
Any suggestions?
Thanks a lot!!!

Bastian

#84
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

it say device not configured when i do tcpdump using 1 for X
0 Works but i thinks thats Wifi, because it shows different network adresses, stopping doing that, as i turn of Wifi...

After doing everything as the Readme says using 0for X, there is no error, but also no working network device?

Where would it be shown? Pc Cards?


And I did this:
bash-3.2# cd Desktop/
bash-3.2# cd Broadcom5787M/
bash-3.2# chown -R root:wheel AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext
bash-3.2# chmod -R 755 AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext
bash-3.2# kextload AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext
kextload: extension AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext is already loaded
bash-3.2# ifconfig
....
en0: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet6 fe80::222:69ff:feb1:8a17%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
inet 192.168.2.6 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.2.255
ether 00:22:69:b1:8a:17
media: autoselect status: active
supported media: autoselect

Any suggestions?
Thanks a lot!!!

Bastian


Please, you said in your first message you have a 5784M and in this message you are trying to load the 5787M kext, what card you have? Both kext are different and works only with the specific card.
be sure of that you have, if you have installed by mistake the 5787M kext, remove it and download the 5874M version, if this is your lan card. The 5784M driver is not mine but the one made by Boomberg.

As far i can see,your system recognize only one lan card, it may be the wifi, not the broadcom.

#85
Boombeng

Boombeng

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
Hi Nobb1x,

The hexedited kext for the 5784M is still named 5787M, i didn't manage to change its name, it's only the zip file which is named 5784M, so nevermind, it works for the 5784M... if you tell me how to change the name i'll do it ;) (i tried to simply rename the kext but it seemed it didn't work like that...)
But maybe Bastop used really the wrong one! :rolleyes:

Thanks again for your work



@Bastop

the way you first asked for help IS NOT A GOOD WAY, what do you think ? Nothing obliges us to help you! And give us more details about your airport card and your hack!
If you folowed all the instructions it should work, as you prooved us you simply are not able to find the good post in a topic which contains only 5 pages, how do you want us to believe you took time to read the instructions and done all in the good way ?
So come on , clean your extension folder or use a back up, and try once again, take your time

#86
bastop

bastop

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
Hi Nobb1x,

You were absolutely right. I have installed the wrong kext. File.
I will try again with the one from Boombeng for my 5784M

Trying to remove the old kext file, I'm hanging.

I restarted, pressed F8, then -s
The readme sais, I should manually mount the /Volume.
How do I do that?

Not doing that, the next step is: rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/AppleBCM578..... .kext

The system sais I had a readonly file system!


Thanks for Help!

#87
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

Hi Nobb1x,

You were absolutely right. I have installed the wrong kext. File.
I will try again with the one from Boombeng for my 5784M

Trying to remove the old kext file, I'm hanging.

I restarted, pressed F8, then -s
The readme sais, I should manually mount the /Volume.
How do I do that?
Not doing that, the next step is: rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/AppleBCM578..... .kext
The system sais I had a readonly file system!
Thanks for Help!


Well, if your system start as usual you can remove the kext from the finder, anyway if you want to remove from the
-s (single mode) console you have to do a '/sbin/mount -uw /' command,type it without ' ,this give you a readwrite filesystem.
Then the 'rm -rf etc.etc...'
Hope it works for you, good luck

#88
duke3000

duke3000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
Finally an ethernet solution for ACER 4310 laptop Gigabit ethernet card!!!!!! Just follow the instruction on dumping by typing on terminal sudo tcpdump -i en1 or en0

REjoice and thanks to nobbi1x!!!!! tsup tsup tsup! I have a faster Transmission download with ethernet setup hehehehe.
Just don't change any MAC address or anything. Just follow the instruction on dumping.

Go Pacquiao!!!!

Im reproducing the readme below...

Broadcom 5787M driver by nobb1x v 0.3 - an hexedited version of the original Applebcm5701 kext


Thanks to

various peoples on insanelymac forum, this kext has been hacked so many times that is impossible
keep track of all of them, the last hint to make it working come from Loepere, thanks guy!!
Thanks to Omegax, Collit99 and Pocopico for testing.

Disclaimer

This kext has been tried ONLY on the Broadcom 5787M and is proved to work with it, do not try on other
Broadcom cards until you know what you are doing.
Broadcom BCM 5787M is 14e4:1693 device

Installation

Just use Kext Helper b7 app or do it manually if you know how, is not the scope of this readme teach how to install kexts
Be sure to remove any other bcm5701/bcm5751 from your Extensions folder if you have altered its Info.plist files

This driver only work in promiscuous mode, at least with my router (3com) it seem setting promiscuous
mode in Macos is a shame or a secret, or at least i was unable to set it,neither was able to find docs on google, to have
the driver working you have 3 options

1)
open a terminal window and type:

sudo tcpdump -i enX where X is the number of your BCM ethernet interface, it could be en0 or en1 it depend
on how many lan cards there are in your pc.
You can minimize the terminal window but not close it or the driver will cease to work.

2)
Another way to run tcpdump would be like that :
sudo nohup tcpdump -i enX > /dev/null &
terminal window can be closed in this case.

3) (thanks Pocopico)
There is a folder called Start_Promisc within the archive, copy it in /Library/StartupItems then open the file
start_promisc you can find into the folder with TextEdit, changing the two variables at the top INTF and KEXTPATH
to match your setup. save it.
from a terminal window type:
sudo chmod -R 755 /Library/StartupItems/Start_Promisc
sudo chown -R root:wheel /Library/StartupItems/Start_Promisc

and you are all set, at next reboot you dont have to do a thing it will start tcpdump automatically.

#89
oyabun

oyabun

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I want to thank you guys for all your work.

I'm having a little problem. The BCM5784 kext crashes OSX totally. I had to use the install media to mount the drive and delete the kext from the extensions folder. I'm running XxX 10.5.5 . I tried modding for the mac address and using the kext as is and both find the adapter right away then crash. After rebooting it crashes before or right after loading. Most times it doesnt go past the grey screen.
Any ideas?
I changed permissions 755 and root:wheel before installing.


I have a Broadcom 5784 and the device id matches up
VEN_14E4&DEV_1698

Its a builtin adapter in a Foxconn G31AX motherboard.

Would reinstalling to a different version be worth a try?

#90
Boombeng

Boombeng

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
Hi oyabun, thanks for the feedback

The kext I hexedited is made for BCM5784M (ID = 14e4 1698) and Nobb1x's original one is made for BCM5787M, that's may be why it doesn't work for you if you have a BCM5784 (a non M one), can you find the ID of your card and give it to us, it would be helpefull to know it, to make a Warning for other with the same card who would like to try it...

bye

#91
oyabun

oyabun

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Thanks for the reply Boombeng - the motherboard's device specs dont include the M but the device string is the same - VEN_14E4&DEV_1698 aka 14E4:1698. Are you guys all laptop users?
It recognizes the device but right after loading it crashes. I was wondering if there could be other conflicts such as the version of Leopard I'm using.

#92
oyabun

oyabun

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Yeah its the same device with or without the M. http://www.broadcom....mine_driver.php
Its a Netlink and uses the same driver as the 5787 and other netlink adapters.
I'm gonna try to enable wakeonlan in the system's Bios to see if it might be that glitch some cards have seen where the device is put into some alternate mode when windows shuts down and can't come up. I checked out the .plist you modified and I can't see any place to correct any possible mismatch. Im going to install pciutils and verify everything is recognized the same as in linux and windows just to make sure.

At this point I really think there is a software conflict with some other kexts if it isnt a sleep state windows thing.

#93
Boombeng

Boombeng

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
Someone did report in the thread that the BCM5787M kext crashed his system on Tiger 10.4.8, what is yours ?
Well, good luck in your investigations

#94
oyabun

oyabun

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Im running Leopard 10.5.5. Yeah the only version I didnt try was the nobb1x 5787 driver. Everything else crashed OSX. I found a Realtek8139 in my garage with a bunch of old pci adapters and it works good so at least Im up. Something is probably conflicting in the XxX release I am using.
I changed permissions, tried via kextload and kexthelper, deleted the bcm kext in IONetwork. I'm sorta new to OSX - havent used it since 06 so maybe I'm missing some simple administrative issue. lspci shows the device as unrecognized but there. Its rev 10 at 2:0:0 and the same dev id. I enabled boot from lan in the BIOS just in case.

I still appreciate the work and replies. It was a good tutorial on kexts and driver troubleshooting even if it didn't work out this time.

#95
crazy_sumo

crazy_sumo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
hey guys tnx for ur work !

I installed the kext and PCcard

I have en0 in my ifconfig , but when i try the tcpdump it say that my network is down. Anyone know how to fix that tnx a lot

#96
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

hey guys tnx for ur work !

I installed the kext and PCcard

I have en0 in my ifconfig , but when i try the tcpdump it say that my network is down. Anyone know how to fix that tnx a lot


hi, please, your model of lan card? network down error looks like you try to load a kext for a card not yours.
Try looking in your /var/log/system.log and look for BCM7551Ethernet log entries, if the kext loads succesfully
you must see a row like this: BCM5751Enet: Ethernet address ba:ad:f0:0d:ba:ad

#97
crazy_sumo

crazy_sumo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
hey

here's what i found with grep

Dec 23 12:22:03 localhost kernel[0]: AppleBCM5751Ethernet: 0 0 start - mapping device memory failed
Dec 23 11:20:49 francis-forgets-mac-pro kernel[0]: BCM5751Enet: Ethernet address ba:ad:f0:0d:ba:ad
Dec 23 12:53:14 francis-forgets-mac-pro kernel[0]: AppleBCM5751Ethernet - en0 link active, 100-Mbit, full duplex, symmetric flow control enabled
Dec 23 12:55:12 francis-forgets-mac-pro kernel[0]: AppleBCM5751Ethernet: 0 4 setupCopperPhy - link is down
Dec 23 12:55:37 francis-forgets-mac-pro kernel[0]: AppleBCM5751Ethernet - en0 link active, 100-Mbit, full duplex, flow control disabled


Here is what i have in Windows proprieties :

PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_1693&SUBSYS_01211025&REV_02


When i saw that the interface was down, i tryed the following : ifconfig en0 up
I got no error message.

Then I did the tcpdump -i en0

Here is what I got :

12:53:28.597054 IP 192.168.1.1.4312 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 284
12:53:28.597994 IP 192.168.1.1.4313 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 293
12:53:28.598959 IP 192.168.1.1.4314 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 356
12:53:28.600952 IP 192.168.1.1.4315 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 348
12:53:28.604357 IP 192.168.1.1.4316 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 293
12:53:28.605319 IP 192.168.1.1.4317 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 332
12:53:28.607268 IP 192.168.1.1.4318 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 364
12:53:28.610044 IP 192.168.1.1.4319 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 293
12:53:28.610871 IP 192.168.1.1.fdt-rcatp > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 352
12:53:28.612735 IP 192.168.1.1.rwhois > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 358
12:53:28.614571 IP 192.168.1.1.4322 > 239.255.255.250.ssdp: UDP, length 346

But I was not able to go to internet , the network diagnostic of safari said Ethernet failed, BUT the ethernet option was not grayed out.

Heres what it say with ifconfig

francis-forgets-mac-pro:~ Francis$ ifconfig en0
en0: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether ba:ad:f0:0d:ba:ad
media: autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>) status: active
supported media: none autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <half-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control>


tnx for ur help

#98
MIZZ KIM

MIZZ KIM

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
OH MY GOD everything seems wonderful
but excuse me, is it possible that my wifi can work?

#99
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
@crazy_sumo: hmmm as far i can see your lan card seem working, do you use a dhcp server or is your IP set manually?

if your router can afford that, try to set DHCP in network preferences, if you can't use dhcp, be sure of ip address, dns, gateway. your problem looks more like a setting problem than a card problem.

Just remember that to browse the net with this kext you need to have a tcpdump session running in the background, if you stop tcpdump you are not able to go to internet.

@mizz kim: please?? this kext is only for a wired card, broadcom 5787m/5784m, if you have a broadcom wifi card look in the sticky thread on this forum.

Merry Christmas to anyone!!

#100
crazy_sumo

crazy_sumo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Hey

It's work now, I had to go to system preference, to catch the new driver.

Tnx a lot

Waiting for intel 4965AGN now !!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy