Jump to content

Broadcom BCM5787M/BCM5784M - A solution


  • Please log in to reply
245 replies to this topic

#21
CharredPC

CharredPC

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts

did it ask you to reset all your devices (router, modem, etc) a lot? It recognizes ethernet on my 5620 now, but i get stuck on that loop, and it still fails to connect in the end


In my circumstance, it appeared to connect, but wouldn't actually transfer any data until I enabled promiscuous mode. I tested it using the first method (leaving the console open), then rebooted and installed the startup script as instructed. I didn't have to edit anything manually at all, as my Ethernet is already en1. Just follow all directions exactly and you should be good! I now don't even have to think about it, it simply works as it should. The 5620 turned out to be excellent for OSX :blink:

#22
collit99

collit99

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

hi, here is the last hexedited version of the AppleBCM kext, this one is specific for BCM5787M 14e4:1693

there is an huge readme included, please read it, it explain everything.

you can have your mac address with this one and i encourage you to set yours

it has been tested on some different configurations and it seem to work, i'm using it to post right now

if it don't work for you,be sure you have a 14e4:1693 device then report here, thanks

good luck



The script on this package works great!

Keep up the good work pal!

Hope we can run this on non-promiscuous mode :P

Thanks again!

#23
achille91

achille91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ragusa,Italia
works for me!!!very good job!

#24
anurag

anurag

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:India
The KEXT and the script just works.. i had almost given up the hope to get my Hackbook online.. Many thanks dear...

#25
bozon42

bozon42

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
Hello, hello,

The Solution for BroadcomBCM5787M is cool - and working on Acer Extensa 5220 with 1.73GHz,533MHz FSB.
Thanks so much.
Kind regards,

bozon42

#26
benni134

benni134

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
This driver will not working on my Aspire 5920G.
I have installed the kext but when i type ifconfig i have only lo0, gif0, fw0 and not en0.
I have ideneb v3 installed on my notebook.
Can everybody help me.

Sorry for my bad englisch

#27
bozon42

bozon42

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
Hello,

I connected the ethernet cable.
Remove all bcm5701/5751 kexts from /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext (rm -rf ....)
first I have chosen in System Preferences --> Network the Ethernet option, set it's IP, netmask, DNS and router, saved it
(locked with the lock button).
Then unzipped and opened the BroadcomBCM5787M on the Desktop, changed the default MAC (BA:AD:FO:OD:BA:AD) in
/Users/<user>/Desktop/Broadcom5787M/AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleBCM5787MEthernet
to my values of MAC with hexeditor 0xED.app (changed to owerwrite the values).
Then applied the KextHelper_b7 for this kext and rebooted.
After that opened a Terminal and set again the ip: sudo ifconfig 172.xx.xx.xx netmask 255.255.255.0 up
and then applied the:

sudo tcpdump -i en1 (since en0 was for wifi) and it is working.
Regards,

bozon42

#28
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

This driver will not working on my Aspire 5920G.
I have installed the kext but when i type ifconfig i have only lo0, gif0, fw0 and not en0.
I have ideneb v3 installed on my notebook.
Can everybody help me.

Sorry for my bad englisch


try the steps i've suggested to another guy
here..
http://forum.insanel...&...st&p=906162

and report back if you see errors.

bozon42's suggestion is right,follow it, just be sure to not erase the whole IONetworkingFamily kext!!

#29
benni134

benni134

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
It Work!!!!!
I have installed this
PCCard.10.5.2.Beta2.pkg.zip and then i have installed the driver.

#30
collit99

collit99

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts
Hmmm... My laptop can't sleep with this kext, it freezes.

I gonna do more testing and check my configurations.

Be right back.

#31
yahor

yahor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
The problem does not work acer 5920g tcpdump: BIOCSETIF: en0: Device not configured ifconfig lo9, fw0

type"cd Desktop" type "cd Broadcom5787M" type "chown-R root:wheel AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext"

type "chmod-R 755 AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext" type "kextload AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext" does not work

PCCard.10.5.2.Beta2.pkg.zip WORKS 5920G THIS DECISION

THANKS CLEVER PEOPLE))!!!

#32
quinielascom

quinielascom

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 749 posts
  • Location:M�xico
please post terminal ouput and cut & paste only your network devices, with this command:

lspci -nnv

example:

AcerMac:~ user$ lspci -nnv

01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5787M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express [14e4:1693] (rev 02)

if the command is not available install OS X tools or pci tools.

#33
mimmolinox

mimmolinox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male

Do i need to remove the AppleBCM5701MEthernet.kext from IONetworkingFamily.kext's plulgins folder.

I just installed the driver you attached,and thanks for that.

i do what you said in the readme file,
the network card had recognized correctly with the right mac addresses,
when i copy the Start_Promisc folder to /Library/StartupItems/ and reboot,but macosx crashed.
is that any possible to not copy the Start_Promisc file to that folder?or should i just remove the Start_Promisc from that folder.
i gotta have one more try.

thanks in advance.you did a great job.


THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUU :D

#34
magnat2

magnat2

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal

hi, here is the last hexedited version of the AppleBCM kext, this one is specific for BCM5787M 14e4:1693

there is an huge readme included, please read it, it explain everything.

you can have your mac address with this one and i encourage you to set yours

it has been tested on some different configurations and it seem to work, i'm using it to post right now

if it don't work for you,be sure you have a 14e4:1693 device then report here, thanks

good luck


You are THE MAN!!! Works perfectly! I have made a script to put in the user scripts folder, placed the scripts icon in the top bar and now when i want to connect I simply go to the icon in the top bar and connect, Ill post it so if someone wants to use it, this way you dont have to go to terminal, or to have the terminal window open... Again, THANK YOU!

Attached Files



#35
heneng

heneng

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
it seem's not working on my acer 4710
i used 3rd way

There is a folder called Start_Promisc within the archive, copy it in /Library/StartupItems then open the file
start_promisc you can find into the folder with TextEdit, changing the two variables at the top INTF and KEXTPATH
(i do
set INTF="en0"
KEXTPATH="/Library/StartupItems/Start_Promisc/AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext")


and it's appear to my laptop
but can't require IP address. it gets 169.254.63.93


help me~

#36
Cris900

Cris900

    iDeneb Team Maker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,246 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teramo
WORKS WITH MY ACER 5920G....
I love you.... :rolleyes:

Cris900

#37
Detosx

Detosx

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 924 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
WOW@@

My eyes almost popped out when this finally worked for me. With my Acer 4720z I needed to install PCCard.10.5.2.Beta2.pkg.zip, firstly. benni134, thanks for the pointer. <_<

Big thanks to nobb1x for spreading the happiness. Hope you're glowing with the whole good feeling thing ;)

#38
quinielascom

quinielascom

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 749 posts
  • Location:M�xico

You are THE MAN!!! Works perfectly! I have made a script to put in the user scripts folder, placed the scripts icon in the top bar and now when i want to connect I simply go to the icon in the top bar and connect, Ill post it so if someone wants to use it, this way you dont have to go to terminal, or to have the terminal window open... Again, THANK YOU!


I have a stupid question, where is the user scripts folder ? how install/execute the script ?

In my case the network card is en0 is necessary edit the script for that works ?

Thanks.

#39
ulin

ulin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Ahh finally! It was hard to believe! It works!
Big thank you to the authors

:)

#40
ulin

ulin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
btw, as a working solution, this deserves a sticky.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy