Jump to content

Broadcom BCM5787M/BCM5784M - A solution


  • Please log in to reply
245 replies to this topic

#1
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
hi, here is the last hexedited version of the AppleBCM kext, this one is specific for BCM5787M 14e4:1693
there is an huge readme included, please read it, it explain everything.
you can have your mac address with this one and i encourage you to set yours
it has been tested on some different configurations and it seem to work, i'm using it to post right now
if it don't work for you,be sure you have a 14e4:1693 device then report here, thanks
good luck

Attached File  Broadcom5787M.zip   110.89KB   14328 downloads

N.B. these kexts are intended for Leopard, up to 10.5.8

--EDIT
See this post for BCM5784M - thanks to Boombeng
http://forum.insanel...&...st&p=963461

--EDIT
UPDATE

Snow leopard (10.6.2 & 10.6.3) Broadcom 5787M kext - do not use this with Leopard 10.5.8 and older.

Attached File  5787M_32_64Bit_AppleBCM5701.zip   167.93KB   3419 downloads

INSTALLATION: use kext utility to install, or do it manually if you know how.

This kext don't read the MAC address of the card, you need to set it manually if you need, to do it open a terminal
session and type "sudo ifconfig en0 (or en1 if you have more than one card) lladdr YO:UR:MA:CA:DD:RS
it works both on 32 and 64 bit modes.

-EDIT
UPDATE 2

Snow Leopard 10.6.3 only (untested on 10.6.2 and earlier)

Attached File  10.6.3.5787M.zip   180.79KB   6633 downloads

This is the last version, and it come from 10.6.3. FINALLY IT SUPPORT MAC ADDRESS FROM THE CARD, no more
needs to set it manually.
Features:
Read mac address from the nic
support 32 and 64 bit modes
support sleep/unloading

To INSTALL, update to 10.6.3 and replace the original Apple kext into IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins
fix permissions and reboot.
(N.B. this has been tried only on the 5787M 14e4:1693, please figure yourself how to modify to work with other BCM card, i can't test)

#2
quinielascom

quinielascom

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 749 posts
  • Location:M�xico
Hey, the Snow Leopard 10.6.3 kext works so far 100% in my laptop Acer Aspire 4320.

T H A N K S - Y O U ! ! !

Edit: the 10.6.3 driver version works in Snow 10.6.3 and up.

#3
proosje

proosje

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
It seems to me that this is too much fiddling to get it working.
I use the kext from Rubydream in another thread about the broadcom card.
http://forum.insanel...&...st&p=903347
This works right away, no installing extra scripts to get it to work for the same BCM5787M 14e4:1693 card.
Also claiming you can have the MAC address but only by hardcoding it in the driver.
I would like to see a driver reading the MAC from the card.

#4
Xdor

Xdor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
It works here on ACER EXTENSA 5220. Very nice!

I don't know how many forums I have read about and now I'm connected with my notebook. Thank you.

PS: The KEXT of Rubydream UNFORTUNALEY does not work for me but I saw a post where people said it does. REGARDS.

#5
achille91

achille91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ragusa,Italia
on my acer it say device not configured when i do tcpdump

#6
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

on my acer it say device not configured when i do tcpdump



Device not configured is because you are trying to do a tcpdump on an unexistant interface, check the output of ifconfig, does it load for you?

#7
achille91

achille91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ragusa,Italia
when i type ifconfig it say :
lo9,fw0 and if i try tcpdump -i lo0 or fw0 it return ipv4 adress non assigned

#8
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

when i type ifconfig it say :
lo9,fw0 and if i try tcpdump -i lo0 or fw0 it return ipv4 adress non assigned


Then, it not load at all, you must have a en0 or en1 interface, try the following
unpack the kext into your desktop so you have a folder called "Broadcom5787M"
open a terminal window and type "sudo -s" then type your password (without quotes "")
type "cd Desktop"
type "cd Broadcom5787M"
type "chown -R root:wheel AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext" (write only the inital letters "Appl" then press TAB it will autocomplete)
type "chmod -R 755 AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext"
type "kextload AppleBCM5787MEthernet.kext"
if it don't crash type now
"ifconfig"
and look if an en0 interface is there, if there try now "tcpdump -i en0"
fw0 and lo0 are the firewall and local interfaces, not ethernet
If it load try to read again the readme for better instructions.

#9
quinielascom

quinielascom

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 749 posts
  • Location:M�xico
Your kext works fine but i have some questions:

1.- About mode promisc, exactly what function have it in the driver ?

2.- If i try use the autostart script (Start_Promisc folder) in /Library/StartupItems no start and network no works but if i write in terminal sudo tcpdump -i en0 works, or the script folder go in /System/Library/StartupItems ?

3.- What happen if network cable is not connected and is executed the autostart script ?

Note: I already changed enX to en0 (bcm5787m) in start_promisc file.

Regards & thanks for your help.

#10
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
Hi, here is the answers
1) the original driver has been patched to remove some of the checks, it has been writed for a 5701, and c++ sources has never been released, the patch affect the transmit/receive data and it only work when forced in promiscuous mode, i'm still looking at it, with bad luck until now.
2) are you sure about file permissions? did you read the readme? are you using the rtc fix as explained in the readme? it must be in /Library/StartupItems
3) nothing happens, maybe the tcpdump running in the background stole you a few cpu cycles

Your kext works fine but i have some questions:

1.- About mode promisc, exactly what function have it in the driver ?

2.- If i try use the autostart script (Start_Promisc folder) in /Library/StartupItems no start and network no works but if i write in terminal sudo tcpdump -i en0 works, or the script folder go in /System/Library/StartupItems ?

3.- What happen if network cable is not connected and is executed the autostart script ?

Note: I already changed enX to en0 (bcm5787m) in start_promisc file.

Regards & thanks for your help.



#11
frenewang

frenewang

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Do i need to remove the AppleBCM5701MEthernet.kext from IONetworkingFamily.kext's plulgins folder.

I just installed the driver you attached,and thanks for that.

i do what you said in the readme file,
the network card had recognized correctly with the right mac addresses,
when i copy the Start_Promisc folder to /Library/StartupItems/ and reboot,but macosx crashed.
is that any possible to not copy the Start_Promisc file to that folder?or should i just remove the Start_Promisc from that folder.
i gotta have one more try.

thanks in advance.you did a great job.

#12
frenewang

frenewang

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
it works dude,
i finally got my card working ,
thanks man.thanks for you amazing job.

#13
mccar

mccar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kiev, Ukraine
It's working. Thanks!!!!

#14
quinielascom

quinielascom

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 749 posts
  • Location:M�xico
Only a feedback:

Sleep in Acer aspire 4320 that before worked after of this driver only go to black screen (system hang) and have that poweroff/restart.

Regards.

#15
CharredPC

CharredPC

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
Simply works when nothing else would. Didn't think I'd ever get Ethernet working on my Acer Extensa 5620. HUGE thanks! The auto-start script makes this truly seamless :P

#16
givisok

givisok

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
it's WORKING. I'm happy!!!! Thanks!!!!

#17
Api

Api

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
Works perfectly with the Promisc-Script on an Acer 5220!
I've been waiting for this solution for almost a year...

Thanks you guys!!!! Great work!

#18
brnppprs

brnppprs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Simply works when nothing else would. Didn't think I'd ever get Ethernet working on my Acer Extensa 5620. HUGE thanks! The auto-start script makes this truly seamless ;)


did it ask you to reset all your devices (router, modem, etc) a lot? It recognizes ethernet on my 5620 now, but i get stuck on that loop, and it still fails to connect in the end

#19
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

did it ask you to reset all your devices (router, modem, etc) a lot? It recognizes ethernet on my 5620 now, but i get stuck on that loop, and it still fails to connect in the end



this driver works only on promiscuous mode, are you sure have you tried to run a tcpdump to force the adapter in promiscuous mode?

#20
dell700m

dell700m

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Great job, man. Thanks a million.
Works perfectly on my ThinkPad R61.

Now i have left is the AD1984 sound card.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy