Jump to content

[HOWTO] Boot Macs with Intel Chipset in AHCI Win7 Vista XP Linux


  • Please log in to reply
405 replies to this topic

#121
gugucom

gugucom

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
A user on Macrumors posted the following

.... changing the "Start" subkey value... to 0
in this key allows the AHCI driver to be loaded on boot:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci

.....

This is a description of what the Start subkey values mean:

[ Quoted From: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/103000 ]

Start	 REG_DWORD	 Start constant
Specifies the starting values for the service as follows:

START TYPE	 LOADER	 MEANING

0x0			Kernel	 Represents a part of the
(Boot)					driver stack for the boot
						  (startup) volume and must
						  therefore be loaded by the
						  Boot Loader.

0x1			I/O		Represents a driver to be loaded
(System)	   subsystem  at Kernel initialization.

0x2			Service	To be loaded or started
(Auto load)	Control	automatically for all startups,
			   Manager	regardless of service type.

0x3			Service	Available, regardless of type,
(Load on	   Control	but will not be started until
demand)		Manager	the user starts it (for example,
						  by using the Devices icon in
						  Control Panel).

0x4			Service	NOT TO BE STARTED UNDER ANY
(disabled)	 Control	CONDITIONS.
			   Manager


I have always had to do the MBR patch for Vista and Win7 on top of changing the registry sub key. Now I'm wondering if setting the sub key from 4 to 3 instead to 0 would avoid doing the MBR patch.


I also have an update on using AHCI mode on my uMBP. I managed to set the MS AHCI 1.0 driver successfully with the registry mod and the MBR patch method.

Of course I could not use the Intel driver because the chipset is Nvidia's MCP97. I had no luck to find an appropriate driver at Nvidia's web site, neither in manual nor in automatic mode.

At least I do have AHCI with the MS driver and perhaps someone can point me to a source for the proper Nvidia driver.

#122
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
Well I can tell you that unfortunately that will not do anything for you.
This is because it is not able to switch the mode at the hardware level.
This would only change what drivers windows is trying to load on top of the hardware.
The MBR and GRUB modifications make an on-the-fly change to the EFI firmware settings to put the controller back into AHCI mode before it tells Windows to begin the windows loader. You could see this as you make a change in your bios and every time you reboot your bios settings are reset (like having no battery inserted in the motherboard) and you have to make your change every time you boot.

Post a screenshot of this from your windows install on the mac and I can tell you for sure if you are in AHCI or not.

Attached Files



#123
cordroosen

cordroosen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello,

on january 20 2010 apple released the bootcamp update 3.1 - windows 7 support

is the ahci function enabled once the new bootcamp package is installed under windows 7 on a early 2009 nehalem mac pro machine?

any information or experience anybody???

thank you

#124
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
99.9% sure that it will not change the mode to AHCI for the 2009 MacPro.
This is because the system is set to legacy mode before booting when you are not using the modified booting procedure.
The update issued by Apple is only applied inside Windows. Sorry.

#125
Tony Martin

Tony Martin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I have a Macbook Pro 17" 2,1. It is a 2007 model. I don't see the controller hardware you specifically show at the top of this thread.

But the AHCI is not a hardware spec but rather an API spec for hardware. Thus it would be possible to create drivers for older hardware, so long as it meets the requirements of the AHCI spec.

Does anyone know if the hardware on older Macbook Pros such as mine has driver support?

My hardware is:
[codebox]
Model Name: MacBook Pro 17"
Model Identifier: MacBookPro2,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.33 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP21.00A5.B08
SMC Version: 1.14f5
Serial Number: W87060EWW0M
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled

Serial ATA:

Intel ICH7-M AHCI:
Vendor: Intel
Product: ICH7-M AHCI
Speed: 1.5 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.10 Supported
[/codebox]

#126
Slapy

Slapy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

99.9% sure that it will not change the mode to AHCI for the 2009 MacPro.
This is because the system is set to legacy mode before booting when you are not using the modified booting procedure.
The update issued by Apple is only applied inside Windows. Sorry.




Hey L,

I've spent the past two days reading and considering the threads on this matter.


This is my rig....


Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 3 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 6 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz



This is my SATA junk --- a single LG BD-RE BH08

Intel ESB2 AHCI:

Vendor: Intel
Product: ESB2 AHCI
Speed: 3 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.10 Supported

HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH08LS20:

Model: HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH08LS20
Revision: 1.00
Serial Number: xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Native Command Queuing: No
Detachable Drive: No
Power Off: No
Async Notification: No


Apple lied about supporting my machine being able to support 64-bit. I phoned Apple 'care' a week ago and they confirmed their betrayal. I think I'll sue them... but that's another matter. Lawsuits are, after all, the Apple Way.


So, my machine only allowed an install of Vista Ult 32 bit 'thanks' to Apple's weird EFI restriction.



From what I've read, there is no sure-thing install for the two extra SATA ports other than just losing one of the four HD SATA ports with a 10 dollar cable. I just want to play BD movies. All the solutions presented by members are hopelessly complicated, confusing, contradictory and daunting.


I can't deal with any of it.


I hope you can help me. I hope the solution could be very simple and Mac-like.



I hope to see a very elegant, simple solution to this issue once and for all.


thanks

#127
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
Please read the beginning of my first post on the topic the part in the beginning is what you need to do.
Just follow the intructions using Johnsock's script.
You have the first generation Mac Pro according to the information you posted... this means that the
modified MBR script code will work perfectly for you.

Basically you will pop open the side of the case and remove a hidden screw that will allow you to remove the fans from the front to make it
easier to access the 2 SATA ports that are under the fans. You don't have to remove this if you don't want to, I didn't remove it myself but others have.
You will want a long SATA cable to make it easier for you to do, and a short IDE to SATA power adapter cable (most likely included with the drive)
Move the original IDE drive to the lower bay to make installing windows again in the future easier on you.
Install the SATA BD drive in the top bay.
Plug in the SATA cable
Plug in the Power cable
Close the case.

Power up

Boot to Windows

Change Registry settings

Vista 32/64 Windows 7 32/64
- Run Regedit
- Navigate to "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\msahci"
- edit the "Start" key and change the value from what it is to "0"
- this will tell Vista to check for AHCI on next boot and install the AHCI driver if it is in AHCI mode
- after running script and if it detects that you are in AHCI mode then this installs the generic AHCI Microsoft driver and it is really a poor driver for your hardware and you will need the Intel ones to get full performance.


Reboot to OSX

Open TERMINAL
Run script using the SUDO command
ludacrisvps-mac-pro:~ ludacrisvp$ sudo -s
Password:
bash-3.2# /Users/ludacrisvp/Downloads/ahci.sh
AHCI Master Boot Record Patch 1.0
Type /Users/ludacrisvp/Downloads/ahci.sh -h for command line options.

Scanning drives...
Windows partition found on /dev/disk4
Do you want to use this drive? (Y/N)n
Enter drive to use: /dev/disk1
Backing up MBR from /dev/disk1 to ./backup.mbr
MBR backup complete.

Detected Windows Vista Master Boot Record.

Are you ABSOLUTELY sure you want to write the modified MBR to /dev/disk1? (Y/N)y

Modified MBR written to /dev/disk1

If it fails to autodetect you can follow this below to manually choose your drive.
Open "Disk Utility"
Find the drive that has the OS you have installed the AHCI device drivers too.
Right click or Command click on the part of the drive that says how large it is and choose "Information"
This will tell you what drive to use when running the script.
Disk order can and does change randomly with each boot.

You will see DISK0 or 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 or 5 or 6 depending on how many drives you have.

Reboot to Windows

Drivers will auto install for new hardware detected (it found your AHCI SATA controller and the 2 extra SATA ports)

Download and install the updated Intel Matrix Storage Manager drivers (this will give the proper performance for full SATA 3.0Gbps)

Reboot to Windows again, and you should be good to go.

#128
nh3ave

nh3ave

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello everybody,

i have completed the modification on my Mac Pro 1,1 as described in this thread.
AHCI under Windows 7 works now. Thanks for this!
But now i encounter the problem that i cannot choose the start volume anymore. Neither in OSX (doesnt find any other patition besides the OSX partition) setting nor with the Boot Camp tool (error when starting it) under Windows.

Did anyone have this issue yet? How could i set my second HDD as the start volume so that Windows is started automatically again?

edit: Problem bypassed by using rEFIt. -> Solved!

#129
Paisaverde

Paisaverde

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi,

Thanks to Pipomolo42 (macrumors), Ludacrisvp, Johnsock, and everybody who has contributed.

I have a MacPro 1,1. Running: Snow Leopard, Vista 32, and Windows 7

I was able to follow the ludacrisvp procedure (outlined on March 27, 2010) and succeeded booting Vista in AHCI (have not done Windows 7 yet).

But:

Have not been able to install the updated Intel Matrix Storage Manager drivers (now called Rapid Storage Technology). I have tried versions 8.8, 8.9, 9.6 (latest), and receive the following message:

"This computer does not meet the minimum requirements for installing the software"

Device Manager shows (view Devices by Type):

ATA Channel 0
ATA Channel 0
ATA Channel 1
ATA Channel 1
ATA Channel 2
ATA Channel 3
ATA Channel 4
ATA Channel 5
Intel® 631xESB/6321ESB Ultra ATA Storage Controller - 269E
Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller

=============================================

Device Manager shows (view Devices by Connection):

Intel® 631xESB/6321ESB Ultra ATA Storage Controller - 269E
ATA Channel 0
SONY DVD RW DW-D150A ATA Device
ATA Channel 1

Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller
ATA Channel 0
Western Digital 250GB ... ATA Device
ATA Channel 1
Maxtor 500GB ... ATA Device
ATA Channel 2
Maxtor 500GB ... ATA Device
ATA Channel 3
ATA Channel 4
ATA Channel 5
Hitachi 2TB ... ATA Device

=============================================

Any suggestions on why I cannot install the Intel drivers? Will it make a noticeable difference?

I copied a 4.2GB file from one of the internal Maxtor disks to the external Hitachi 2TB disk. Vista reported max transfer of 60.2 MB/sec, and it took about 80 seconds.

Also, it takes about 2-3 minutes to go FROM chooosing windows logo in rEfit, TO Windows Boot Menu (1. Vista 2. Windows 7)! It used to take about 10 seconds.

Any help is appreciated.

#130
cayblood

cayblood

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I would love to hear if anyone has had success cloning a multiple-boot setup after creating it. What software do you recommend for it? Is there a way to make a single image of the entire drive or is it necessary to make one of each partition? Any advice you guys have would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Carl Youngblood

#131
StormEffect

StormEffect

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi! This guide helped me enable AHCI on my Macbook Pro 2007 model.

After setting the appropriate registry key, I ran the script in OSX.

I rebooted and Windows successfully detected and installed the Generic Microsoft AHCI driver.

I rebooted after that installation.

At this point I went to Intel's Website to download the Intel Storage Matrix Manager (I think it's at version 89, version 85 is linked in post 1). I downloaded the Windows 7 English version and it installed successfully. It then prompts me to reboot.

On reboot, Windows loads for several seconds and then immediately bluescreens. I think the error is an 0x7B error.

After this, I have to run a system restore to the point before I installed the Intel driver to get windows to boot again.

I tried going BACK into OSX and redoing the script, but it states that "It appears as though the MBR has already been modified".

Any ideas? I'm already pretty happy that I finally get AHCI, but it'd be great to install the Intel driver because you guys say it performs better.

#132
joevt

joevt

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
The steps for Windows XP driver installation could use a little more explanation. There's a lot of buttons to click to perform the steps:
- Update the driver for 2680 with one labeled 2681 (ESB2 SATA AHCI Controller)
- You will need to uncheck the box that limits you to only known supported drivers for your hardware
It's not clear what buttons to push (we're talking about Windows here) and the link for the Intel Matrix Storage Manager is out of date. I think we need an unmodified Windows XP to write down the exact steps.

Anyway, the reason you get a blue screen when you restart windows without having johnsock's AHCI MBR patch properly applied is because the device is still running as _2680 (IDE) but the_2681 (AHCI) driver is assigned to it. It's also possible that some utilities like bootsect.exe or bootrec.exe or EasyBCD may overwrite the MBR fix causing you to boot in _2680 mode again.

So what you need to do after booting with _2681 is restore the driver for _2680 back to the _2680 driver. Do the following:
1) Create a .bat file on your deskop with the following commands:
set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
start devmgmt.msc
2) Double click the .bat file to run it. The Device Manager will appear. The "Show hidden devices" menu option can now be used to show all hidden devices and not just network controllers.
3) Find the disconnected _2680 device under "IDE ATA/ATAPI controller". It might have the name given by the _2681 driver "Intel ® ESB2 SATA AHCI Controller" so double check the Device Instance Id in the properties.
4) Update the driver. It should find the _2680 driver and assign it to the _2680 device and the device will now be named "Intel® 631xESB/6321ESB Chipset Serial ATA Storage Controller - 2680".
5) The currently connected _2681 device and driver should remain intact.

Now you can boot with the AHCI MBR or a normal MBR as long as your drive is not connected to the 2 extra SATA ports.

What we need is a method of installing the drivers without having to mess with the current device driver.
http://www.insanelym...showtopic=38998 talks about a utility called DPInst.exe. The latest version (supports all Windows up to Windows 7) is available in the WDK a 650MB download... Just install the Tools part.

Steps:
1) Download the Intel Matrix Storage Manager, run the setup in a cmd window with the -a option to extract the drivers. The driver files iaAHCI.cat, iaAHCI.inf, iaStor.cat, iaStor.inf, and IaStor.sys will end up in a folder in \Program Files\Intel
2) Copy DPInst.exe to that folder.
3) Run DPInst.exe. It will install the 2 driver inf files, iaAHCI for device _2681 and iaStor for device _2682 (RAID).
4) Boot into Mac OS X and apply johnsock's AHCI MBR patch.
5) Boot back into Windows. You should be running with AHCI mode. I haven't tested this step myself because I've already modified my Windows XP partitions and Vista partitions with the older steps.

These steps should work with XP or Vista or Windows 7 (not verified). Just make sure to use the correct version of the drivers and DPInst.exe.

I wrote a script (attached - just change the extension to .sh) to keep track of MBR's, VBR's, active partitions, Windows partitions etc. on all my disks and partitions because getting stuff to boot in Windows is a pain. The MBR type needs to match the VBR type which needs to match the boot loader. rEFIt is nice that it sets the active flag of the selected partition. The problem though is that it doesn't clear the active flag on the other disks so that the Mac's legacy boot loader may still use an MBR on a different disk than the one you selected so I have to use the reinit command in fdisk to clear the active flags of disks I don't want to boot. EasyBCD is a nice utility but it will reinit all MBR's on all disks (even Apple Partition Map disks!) and it may write on HFS+ partitions if they're in the MBR so I just use it for editing BCD stores for the Vista/Windows 7 boot loader and use bootsect.exe for other tasks.

I've added some hashes for some custom MBR's. Basically, I have a different MBR for each disk with a different "Missing operating system" message for each to identify which disk the legacy boot loader is starting from if it fails. If you have a hash not in the list, then add it yourself to more easily detect if something overwrites the MBR or VBRs of your disks.

Attached Files



#133
jev1313

jev1313

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
I just got a brand new mid 2010 macbook pro. i tried these instructions and they did not enable AHCI in windows. I do not know alot about what the mods of the MBR do on a very technical level but it would seem they only work on one type of controller, the intel 2681. Is there any way that support could be added for the new intel controllers in the new macbook pros?

#134
danroliver

danroliver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I just wanted to give thanks to johnsock, ludacrisvp, and pipomolo42 for putting this all together. You guys are awesome! Without a doubt, you are lifesavers. I just had to create an account to express my gratitude. Keep up the good work.

#135
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

I just got a brand new mid 2010 macbook pro. i tried these instructions and they did not enable AHCI in windows. I do not know alot about what the mods of the MBR do on a very technical level but it would seem they only work on one type of controller, the intel 2681. Is there any way that support could be added for the new intel controllers in the new macbook pros?

Well after looking into the data sheets for both the controllers (the ESB2 controller from MacPro 3,1 and the latest intel 5 series/3400 series chipset family 4 port serial ata storage controller that comes with the mid 2010 MacBook Pro) to compare how each controllers are written to the PCI configuration space there is one difference that concerns me but I have tried to verify that it will work without an issue... the MP3,1 uses a 8-bit register for the AHCI selection mode and the MBP uses a 16-bit register.

I have modified johns script to write the new data to the register.
I HAVE NO MBP OF MY OWN TO TEST THIS ON FIRST SO I WILL NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE IF IT CAUSES ANY ISSUES.
Both machines write to the same PCI configuration space according to the datasheets
Basically a code written to offset 0x90h with a value of:
0x80 will enable RAID on MP3,1 but it doesnt work properly
0x40 will enable AHCI on MP3,1 and it functions normally

0x60 Should enable AHCI on MBP mid 2010 - This is what this new script is set for ----It will not work on a Mac Pro----
0xA0 Should enable RAID on MBP mid 2010 - most likely would not work properly nor be needed on a laptop

One more reminder this is not for the MAC PRO it should only work on the MAC BOOK PRO

This link should be the proper drivers for this chipset according to intel for the i5 3400 series chipset

Intel Rapid Storage v 9.6 This is the latest version of the AHCI drivers and storage manager console that replaced the Intel Matrix Storage Manager - Installing this in Win7 or Vista will confirm without a doubt that you are using AHCI, it will refuse to install on an IDE system.

Intel i5 - 3400 series drivers This is most likely a Generic Version of the Apple "Boot Camp Drivers" I would suggest testing these before using them on your main install

EDIT: SCRIPT REMOVED PLEASE SEE UPDATED POST #137 FOR FINAL RELEASE (WORKING VERSION) OF SCRIPT

#136
summerayu

summerayu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Well after looking into the data sheets for both the controllers (the ESB2 controller from MacPro 3,1 and the latest intel 5 series/3400 series chipset family 4 port serial ata storage controller that comes with the mid 2010 MacBook Pro) to compare how each controllers are written to the PCI configuration space there is one difference that concerns me but I have tried to verify that it will work without an issue... the MP3,1 uses a 8-bit register for the AHCI selection mode and the MBP uses a 16-bit register.

I have modified johns script to write the new data to the register.
I HAVE NO MBP OF MY OWN TO TEST THIS ON FIRST SO I WILL NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE IF IT CAUSES ANY ISSUES.
Both machines write to the same PCI configuration space according to the datasheets
Basically a code written to offset 0x90h with a value of:
0x80 will enable RAID on MP3,1 but it doesnt work properly
0x40 will enable AHCI on MP3,1 and it functions normally

0x60 Should enable AHCI on MBP mid 2010 - This is what this new script is set for ----It will not work on a Mac Pro----
0xA0 Should enable RAID on MBP mid 2010 - most likely would not work properly nor be needed on a laptop

One more reminder this is not for the MAC PRO it should only work on the MAC BOOK PRO

This link should be the proper drivers for this chipset according to intel for the i5 3400 series chipset

Intel Rapid Storage v 9.6 This is the latest version of the AHCI drivers and storage manager console that replaced the Intel Matrix Storage Manager - Installing this in Win7 or Vista will confirm without a doubt that you are using AHCI, it will refuse to install on an IDE system.

Intel i5 - 3400 series drivers This is most likely a Generic Version of the Apple "Boot Camp Drivers" I would suggest testing these before using them on your main install


I tried this script on my new 2010 macbook pro 13 inch with nvidia mcp89 chipset and it doesn't work. I didn't see any change when i applied this patch in MACOS and rebooted into windows. I don't know if there is any way to make AHCI work on my new macbook pro

#137
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
An update to the following post:

0x60 Should enable AHCI on MBP mid 2010 - This is what this new script is set for

This link should be the proper drivers for this chipset according to intel for the i5 3400 series chipset

Intel Rapid Storage v 9.6 This is the latest version of the AHCI drivers and storage manager console that replaced the Intel Matrix Storage Manager - Installing this in Win7 or Vista will confirm without a doubt that you are using AHCI, it will refuse to install on an IDE system.

Intel i5 - 3400 series drivers This is most likely a Generic Version of the Apple "Boot Camp Drivers" I would suggest testing these before using them on your main install

Successfully implemented on a Mac Book Pro 6,2 (mid 2010) using the Intel i5 chipset and also confirmed to work on the i7 version as well.

Testing provided by Jay V. Thanks for being willing to risk your brand new machine!

Will not work on 13 inch Mac Book Pro (mid 2010) with Nvidia chipset Intel Core 2 Duo.
Will not work on Mac Mini (mid 2010) with Nvidia Chipset Intel Core 2 Duo - the latest generation as of this post.

I have overhauled the script to provide you with basic instructions on how to get it done quick and easy using Windows 7 and Windows Vista
Attached File  ahci_MBP_i5.sh.zip   3.17KB   666 downloads

I tried this script on my new 2010 macbook pro 13 inch with nvidia mcp89 chipset and it doesn't work. I didn't see any change when i applied this patch in MACOS and rebooted into windows. I don't know if there is any way to make AHCI work on my new macbook pro

Sorry this will only work on Macs that use an Intel chipset for the northbridge/southbrige.
So any Mac using Nvidia chipsets such as the 13 inch MBP and new Mac Mini will not be able to use this because they are using Nvidia MCP89/MCP99.
The reason for this would be that Nvidia has not released any datasheets for their chipsets to the public, unlike Intel that has full disclosure of all commercially available chipsets.

#138
runebinder

runebinder

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham

An update to the following post:

Successfully implemented on a Mac Book Pro 6,2 (mid 2010) using the Intel i5 chipset

Testing provided by Jay V. Thanks for being willing to risk your brand new machine!

Will not work on 13 inch Mac Book Pro (mid 2010) with Nvidia chipset Intel Core 2 Duo.
Will not work on Mac Mini (mid 2010) with Nvidia Chipset Intel Core 2 Duo - the latest generation as of this post.

I have overhauled the script to provide you with basic instructions on how to get it done quick and easy using Windows 7 and Windows Vista
Attached File  ahci_MBP_i5.sh.zip   3.17KB   666 downloads

Sorry this will only work on Macs that use an Intel chipset for the northbridge/southbrige.
So any Mac using Nvidia chipsets such as the 13 inch MBP and new Mac Mini will not be able to use this because they are using Nvidia MCP89/MCP99.
The reason for this would be that Nvidia has not released any datasheets for their chipsets to the public, unlike Intel that has full disclosure of all commercially available chipsets.


Hi there, was trying to follow the old instructions with the original script, as it didn't work stumbled across this thread. I have an i7 MBP, I take it the Intel chipset for it is the same as the i5?

Edit: Tried it anyway and happy to say it works. Thank you ludacrisvp.

#139
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Hi there, was trying to follow the old instructions with the original script, as it didn't work stumbled across this thread. I have an i7 MBP, I take it the Intel chipset for it is the same as the i5?

Edit: Tried it anyway and happy to say it works. Thank you ludacrisvp.


That's good. I was hoping / assuming that it would work since it wouldnt be cost effective to have the i7 as an option if it didnt also work on the i5 board.

#140
qreed

qreed

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Hi there, was trying to follow the old instructions with the original script, as it didn't work stumbled across this thread. I have an i7 MBP, I take it the Intel chipset for it is the same as the i5?

Edit: Tried it anyway and happy to say it works. Thank you ludacrisvp.


Same for me (i7 MBP); the script of the first post didn't work for me. Had to restore the backup mbr and did it again with the i5 script. Works! :)

Thanks!!

Any ideas why Apple doesn't support this out of the box?
Also is there a way to enable the Intel IGP this way? (Sorry if this sounds noobish, but I'm completely lost why AHCI has to be enabled in the mbr instead of the bios in the first place)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy