Jump to content

Security Update 2008-005 Version 1.0


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1
macciti

macciti

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MacCiti, USA
Security Update 2008-005 Version 1.0 is available through software update. Those of you who are brave and actually installed it, can you please give us an update if its safe or not? Thanks!!!


P.S. I will be installing it myself on my test partition. I will post the results later. Peace!

Great day to you all!!!

Posted Image

#2
P.Balentong

P.Balentong

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I just installed it. It didn't bricked my hackintosh. -_-

#3
macciti

macciti

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MacCiti, USA
I have just installed it as well... everything works ok. Restart, Shutdown etc. Didn't brake my install ether.

#4
NMAC

NMAC

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winter Springs, Florida
so far so good....

#5
Espionage724

Espionage724

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleroi, PA 15022
OMG my computer died! Ahhhh! Jk....I'm trying the update now i'll be back soon unless my computer really died -_-

EDIT: Ok back..it worked fine on my system, I don't notice anything wrong with my system yet....

#6
3Dman

3Dman

    a3Dman

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 490 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt
It's Working safe update :D

#7
stopthebus

stopthebus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
a little warning,

After the update my computer will not wake up from standby. I have to either reset or power off and on again.
It usually just turn off the monitor and will come back on when I move the mouse, NOT ANYMORE. There's no power to the mouse or keyboard (usb).

leaopard 10.5.4
9.4.0 kernel

#8
MacNutty

MacNutty

    Mad for Mac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
I think there wont be any issue. I am going to try it today and will let you know.

#9
chevy2410

chevy2410

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 420 posts
I just updated my hackintosh and no issues to report. Everything is running smooth. Before that I did the 132 boot w/ a retail dvd install.


Cheers,
Chevy

#10
Siro

Siro

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
Updated and everything working fine no problems at all till now.

#11
loukaniko

loukaniko

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
working fine here.

#12
supermx3

supermx3

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
killed mine, but could be a AMD thing

#13
Dmitrii

Dmitrii

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia
After update my system won't boot.
AMD Kalyway 10.5.2 -> 10.5.4 (ASU 0.5) + modbin 9.4.0 kernel.
My opinion:
AMD users - don't install it!

#14
teknojunkie

teknojunkie

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Corona, California USA
  • Interests:Computers, Coding, Skateboarding, Snowboarding, Video Games
Working fine here. Look at my sig for specs

#15
gandalfke

gandalfke

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
It's working fine

OS leopard 10.5.4 Intel core duo 2 2.42
Video NVIDIA GForce 6600 Full Working
Motherboard Azus P5w DH deluxe
Memory: 6 GB
Vanilla Kernel, Guid
Boot: OSX Dongle (Boot123) :)

#16
macciti

macciti

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MacCiti, USA
so i guess its not safe for AMD users?

#17
Christmas

Christmas

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
intel = yes
amd = no

edit:
On AMD, keep your old /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CoreGraphics.framework/Versions/Current/CoreGraphics

works.

#18
stopthebus

stopthebus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Kill my sleep...the computer sleep that is.
It's in a state where the fan's still running no video, no mouse, no keyboard nothing will wake it back up.
Could you guys tell me how to rollback/uninstall an update?

Thanks

Intel Q9300
10.5.4
9.4.0

#19
pino72

pino72

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
Success! FOR AMD USERS:

Use Zephyroth'S 0.5 Software updater to patch the pkg security update:

Should say something like this:

Applying cpuids for SecUpd2008-005.pkg ...
21:56:37 Maxxuss Mach-O Binary Patcher v1.0

Patching file: ./System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CarbonCore.framework/Versions/A/CarbonCore
14 of 14 patches applied


Statistics:
1 of 1 visited files were successfully patched.
14 of 14 found patches were successfully applied.
21:56:38 Recreating SecUpd2008-005.pkg ...
21:57:08 SecUpd2008-005.pkg recreated.

And...a wonderful reboot with my AMD 10.5.4 System...no trouble as of yet....once again it was very wise to check for these cpuid's on EVERY Softwareupdate before installing it.

Anyone tryed the ITunes 7.7.1 update...AMD update tool gives a script error....hmmm.

Good luck!

#20
macciti

macciti

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MacCiti, USA
iTunes 7.7.1 update was safe for me, but now again i am an intel user :(





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy