14 replies to this topic

osmthi

osmthi

InsanelyMac Protégé

• Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
(Note: I've never used OS9 before...)

As mentioned in the OSx86 Installation forum, my brother's friend gave me a PowerBook G3 with OS9. It has a lot of...stuff...on there and I was wondering how I could get rid of all the files and make it like new. Keep in mind that I don't have any install CDs, just the PowerBook. Thanks!

blackentangled

blackentangled

InsanelyMac Sage

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 339 posts
how bout, getting rid of os 9 permanently and install os x. hint hint

macgirl

macgirl

Stargate's Pharaoh

• Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
The fast way is to re install Mac OS 9 directly from the CD, erase the destination Disk.

Pu7o

Pu7o

InsanelyMac Sage

• Donators
  • 351 posts
macgirl, he did mention that he doesn't have an Installation CD.

Other than grabbing an install CD off p2p or something I don't see a way you can get around to that osmthi...

macgirl

macgirl

Stargate's Pharaoh

• Retired
  • 7,612 posts
Certainly, he need an OS 9 installation CD, which is as easy as OS X to obtain, I think is even easier since it is smaller.

berehon

berehon

InsanelyMac Protégé

• Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Using some tricks you can install even Mac OS X up to 10.3. Having a RAM 128 or more it is pretty usable.

Escape311

Escape311

InsanelyMac Protégé

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
To be honest, finding OS9 is not easy. BUT, I think there is a website called MacDomain which is a DOT ORG site that MIGHT(wink wink) have what you are looking for. I THINK(wink) you may need Nero though. Hope that helps ya. I just had the same problem and using the install disc for a clean install is the only way to go. :)

rohde

rohde

InsanelyMac Geek

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts