HELP I'M A NOOB!

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

Hagar

Hagar

Project Dogsbody

• Administrators
  • 2,352 posts
Note: this started out a s a brave project to help newcomers.. it never got completed. I've opened it in case it may be of use.

HELP!!! I'M A NOOB!!!!

It's OK, we've all felt like that at some point:

Can I run mac on my pc? will my hardware work? what machine works 100%, what hardware should I buy? what about this pc? wil it work can I run it? where do I get it? Can I run final cut & logic and does it have viruses, Is it stable?, Is it as good as a mac? Can I use my DVD?is it hard to install? Can I dual boot?

- yes it's all perplexing..

A lot of people solve this by getting an install DVD & having a go.. but alas , they are not cured....

I can't boot!, Can I use my soundcard?, No Internet!,
No Picture!, my windowz is gone!, The grey screen with twirly and a no-smoking sign!,It tells me to reboot in 100 languages!

:) DONT PANIC :)

Just take a deep breath & Start at the beginning:

I Have a PC and want to install OS X (if you want to build one, keep reading anyway)

Good.

First you must:

Know Your Hardware

Then you can answer for yourself:

Will this hardware work?

Hagar

Hagar

Project Dogsbody

• Administrators
  • 2,352 posts

Know Your Hardware!

Ask yourself: How well do I know my PC?

You need to know your:

CPU(processor):
AMD/Intel / number of cores

Its maximum sse level: sse2 is minimum, sse3 and above is good.

if you only have sse stop here & give up.

You can find this out with CPUZ in windows,

or by doing /cat/proc/cpuinfo in linux.

Motherboard Chips:
You can find this out from:
Your PC/laptop model - Google it, find the specs,
Your Motherboard model - Google it, check the exact specifications from the manufacturers site.

From these sources,
make a note of the names and vendor/device ID's of:
builtin disk controller,
sound,
network,
firewire
graphics chips
etc...

So at this stage you should have