Kalyway 10.5.2 Rosetta Fix

baddelini

19 posts in this topic

Hey all.

So I'd been having a problem with my .apps running (notably WoW) and had to do a lot of searching aroudn forums and reading replies to posts to figure out how to get it fixed, so I thought I'd put a post here so if you're having the problem, you have an easy spot to come to fix it.

Basically the problem is with a bad translate file preventing your hackin0sh from reading PPC apps correctly. (At least that's my understanding, I'm fairly new to this)

You can get a new translate file that iSynic has kindly hosted at the following link.

http://hosted.filefront.com/iSynic

Once you have translate.7z downloaded, you need to unzip it to a directory of your choice. For simplicity sake, I unzipped it straight to my "Leopard" drive.

Then you'll need to open terminal and execute the following:

sudo cp /Volumes/Leopard/(your folder, if applicable)/translate /usr/libexec/oah

Press enter, put in your password, and viola! You should be setup up and ready.

i don't get it, why doesnt kalyway just use the normal rosetta stuff? did they try patching it or something? or is it for AMD systems? the unpatched/real rosetta works on intel macs.

i guess that explains why a lot of ppl now don't get working rosetta (since kalyway is a 'popular' distro). its too bad really, the default stuff that comes from apple on the leopard dvd works with hackintoshes.

Odd, I am running Kalyway and the file archived on this thread is the exact same as the one already on my system according to the diff command.

I also have no issues running PPC games or programs, with the exception of Starcraft which just shows me a black screen and hard locks my system. :D

I'm not sure why some Kalyway's users have issues and some don't. In many cases the file seems to get corrupted. I've contacted Kalyway and he was clueless as well. I'll upload an installer tonight that should be more user friendly for you guys.