Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Google supports pirating?
InsanelyMac Forum > Discuss and Learn > Internet(s), Servers, and Networks
technilogica
So I was *cough* looking for my offical osx developers install cd in utorrent when I noticed something funny. My number one seed is 216-239-45-4.GOOGLE.com. And they're giving me 100 kB/s! Anyone else out there wondering why google is sharing this????
CyBrian
mind sharing a screenie?
EDIT: and for those who don't believe him, i was able to ping that address.
Swad
Interesting. Somebody at google is looking for their OSx86 fix...

...maybe it'll mean faster OS X Google apps! smile.gif
technilogica
Oh yeah this might prove it...




Well my internet speed has been declining since this afternoon, but googles still my #1!

Remember google's motto: Don't be evil..? heh.
Colonel
See. Google's not as bad as everyone makes them look.

P.S. This is my first post from my brand new Macbook! biggrin.gif
bliss
hehe maybe maxxuss now works for google ;-)
kerimeton
thats realyl interesting, kinda cool
I dont know what it means
maybe some dev at google doing some late night downloading
gwprod12
I think maybe it doesnt mean anything.

Someone at google uses torrents. He downloaded OS X.

Yay. So what?

If it was at Microsoft address, it would have the same lack of meaning. Not "Microsoft is secretly trying to get people to use OS X"
Wuzzie
Fanny you say this, because yesterday when I was on a website I'm probably not alowed to name or link (let's just say it's for those who can't afford to buy thier software tongue.gif ) and in the list of online users, Google.com was in there. But it didn't link to a profile sad.gif
NeSuKuN
weren't google offering ad-sponsored WiFi connections somewhere in USA? maybe that's just one of it's users.
weeneedhelp
QUOTE (Wuzzie @ Jun 26 2006, 12:46 AM) *
Fanny you say this, because yesterday when I was on a website I'm probably not alowed to name or link (let's just say it's for those who can't afford to buy thier software tongue.gif ) and in the list of online users, Google.com was in there. But it didn't link to a profile sad.gif



thats because a google spider is indexing that site at the moment.

Ask, Altavista, google, and other search engines use spiders to get data from websites, and for forums, they "make their self known" by being user "Google" or "AskJeeves"

dont worry, the first time i seen "google" as a user @ a forum, i was like O.o
fireshark
But Google would be supposedly be labelled as Googlebot/2.1, and also why would it be dowbloading?
gwprod12
No one said it was downloading. He said list of online users (If it's a torrent's site that requires subscription, it probably has a forum structure).

EDIT: In order for google to spider a site the requires membership, it would have to have a member account.
BRP
Uh, actually, the forum software usually just detects that google is there, and puts it into the memberlist. That's usually what's going on when you see that. Also probably explains a little about when you're late-night googling and suddenly you run into a blasted forum that wants you to REGISTER to read anything.

The torrent thing? Prolly someone bored at work. It's actually semi-amusing to check out the logs if you ever get slashdotted.

Oh, and just to throw evil links around: http://www.computerworld.com/blogs/node/2803
gwprod12
There's really no way of knowing what happened without asking the administrator of that forum. It's a complete red herring
lol
BRP
Orrr I know what I mean.
Sabr
QUOTE (BRP @ Jul 3 2006, 06:08 AM) *
Uh, actually, the forum software usually just detects that google is there, and puts it into the memberlist. That's usually what's going on when you see that. Also probably explains a little about when you're late-night googling and suddenly you run into a blasted forum that wants you to REGISTER to read anything.


Yeah, right now Google.com and AskJeeves are online on this forum, I can see it at the bottom of the forum, where is says "Online Users".
BRP
*inspects forum users*

ohmy.gif

They found me! *bolts*
AppleLegal
Your viewing hostmasks. That's easy to fake. I can make my hostmask appear as "osx86project.org" if i wanted to. Doesnt mean that Google's downloading anything.

And "google.com" browsing the forums is just google's spiders cache'ing the forums.

Was funnier when i pm'd someone with an Apple.com hostmask on IRC. Oh, and the guy with a Microsoft.com hostmask awhile back as well - he was disappointed his graphics card wasnt supported. Was pretty funny
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.