ASUS P5KPL-AM Retail install guide

13 posts in this topic

This is my guide to setting up Snow Leopard 10.6.1 on the P5KPL-AM, I would think it would work for the other motherboards in the P5 series too. I got most of my information from this great forum but have tried to read up on as much material as possible via google searches and the like. One forum member here who's guide I based my install on is blackosx's guide here: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=180954 this is not favouritism folks I did read many a guide but this one in particular goes into great detail about exactly what is what about the install process and is a good example of how a guide should be done, so many thanks for all the hardwork that blackosx put into his guide. This is by no means an expert guide either, I am still a noob when it comes to OSX but this will get you a working install, the more I learn I will add to this guide.

So here is my list of hardware for this install:

ASUS P5KPL-AM (updated to the current bios 0518)

Intel Core2 Quad Q9300 (was previously using a core2 duo with this same install method)

2x Kingston 2GB DDR2 800mhz

INNO3D 9800GT 1GB DDR3 PCIe

Apple Airport Extreme (attached to a Mini PCI adapter)

3x500GB Seagate Barracuda SATA

And other needed item's:

Snow Leopard Retail disc

Empire EFI V1.085 R2

Chameleon RC5 pre8

Kext utility.app

DSDT for the motherboard

An existing Leopard/Snow install (preferably on a completely seperate HDD)

Needed kexts:

AppleIntelPIIXATA.kext

Disabler.kext

Fakesmc.kext

IOPCIFamily.kext

NullCPUPowerManagement.kext

NVEnabler 64.kext

OpenHaltRestart.kext

SleepEnabler.kext

VoodooHDA.kext

So, after all this has been collected together:

STEP 1:

Insert the Empire EFI disc and boot your system from DVD-Rom, you will be presented with the empire bootscreen.

img0037nn.jpg