Edit AppleLPC.kext?

trwoolley

10 posts in this topic

Recently I upgraded my system below with GigaBoot 1.7 and now I find that I have no Options Tab in the Energy Saver Pane of System Preferences. Could it be that AppleLPC.kext perhaps has been disabled in my DSDT.aml for 1.7? I am not experienced in editing DSDT. Can someone walk me through it?

run kextstat -k from Terminal to see which kernel extensions are loaded.

Thanks! Terminal kextstat -k yielded no entry for AppleLPC.kext, AppleLPC, or even LPC. Actually I am not even sure if this kext is the culprit. It was mentioned in another thread but not regarding the Options Tab.

All I know is that having AppleLPC.kext loaded is a requirement for vanilla speedstepping, and that it will make 'restart on power failure' appear in the power settings.

Yeah, I know! And the source (mrjanek\AsereBLN) of my bootloader and Extras folder wouldn't futz with a kernel extension so critical. I am not savvy enough to fiddle with their work.

It occurs to me that I updated my BIOS a few days ago, and I also applied the latest Snow Leopard Security Update just before I noticed the omission from my Energy Saver Preferences. I wonder if either change had something to do with it.

• 2 weeks later...

You can edit the plist inside the kext and add the device ID of your LPC device, then the kext will load. Use LSPCI (or Windows Device Manager/Linux Live CD) to find it. Look for "ISA Bridge" with LSPCI.

There's also a LegacyAppleLPC.kext floating around that you can use in /Extra/Extensions. Check if it has your LPC's device ID in it before using it.

But to keep that vanilla flavor-goodness, the best way is to add the device ID to the LPC device in your DSDT.

You can edit the plist inside the kext and add the device ID of your LPC device, then the kext will load. Use LSPCI (or Windows Device Manager/Linux Live CD) to find it. Look for "ISA Bridge" with LSPCI.