Success - Gigabyte EX58-UDP5 i7 Snow Leopard

ericschmerick

1 post in this topic

Hi All -

I am a complete newbie with osx on non-mac hardware, and just went through the install process over the last few days. It was not smooth, and in the course of working through this I feel like I learned a few things that I thought I'd share.

I have a couple of general thoughts on the process:

1. Even though there are guides out there that make it look like a straightforward "step-by-step for success" process, and even with the same hardware in those guides, it seems like it is possible to have an unsuccessful outcome. I take this from the fact that a) I had problems using the exact same board that apparently the author of the guide I used (digital_dreamer's excellent 10.6 for EX58-UDP guide) didn't experience, and :( you can tell from the follow-up posts to the various guides that many many people seem to have various issues that others aren't seeing even on the same hardware.

2. There is a ton of information out there, but it's really really hard to access and understand. I'm relatively savvy with computers, but without a great deal of research and time it will be difficult to fully understand what all the various terminology means. Most guides/posts use terms / language that isn't understandable to people without experience with this stuff, and rarely offer a full and clear top-to-bottom explanation of those terms or concepts. The sites that are often linked or referred to, like netkas etc, offer virtually no explanation of what their tools/kexts/etc do. So, I wouldn't recommend this to someone who isn't pretty computer savvy, and would warn anyone that you may face problems, and then your will experience information overload, confusion, and possible head-explosion (your head).

My config:

EX58-UDP5 mobo

6GB ram (I guess OCZ 1066)

i7 920 2.66ghz

Initially tried XFX 9800GT 512MB, and COULDN'T GET IT TO WORK NO MATTER WHAT, so I went back to an MSI 9400GT