Subscribe to our RSS news feed
AAPL 275.62 (0.56)

Mobiteh, direct purchase from korean warehouse., A no-go or the real deal? (Sells apple hardware)
***
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 29-December 05
  • Member No.: 18,792
http://www.mobiteh.co.uk/items.php?id=12964789

Anyone have experience with them? I called them and they are a asian business, now with a office located in London near redbus. Serieusly this looks pretty suspicious.
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 15)
Group Icon
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 3,708
  • Joined: 5-July 05
  • From: Chicago
  • Member No.: 4
Yup, too good to be true. You can't click on the VeriSign thing at the bottom, which is never a good sign.
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
***
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 29-December 05
  • Member No.: 18,792
Yesh, I have reported it to verisign. They will make contact if it is really registered or not.
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
Group Icon
  • Group: X Lab Developers
  • Posts: 837
  • Joined: 17-August 05
  • From: Montreal, QC, Canada
  • Member No.: 6,603
maybe they specialize in stealing huge containers at the docking stations in korea and resell the stuff inside.

(you never know...)
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
**********
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,326
  • Joined: 2-June 06
  • From: Seattle, Washington
  • Member No.: 41,704
If their business is based on stealing, why wouldnt they steal your money and not send you anything?
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
*
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 3-June 06
  • Member No.: 41,899
maybe they do but we just dont know about it yet...i dont think the reviews are actually from their customers since some of them were referring to apples educational discount, then again other feedback seemed legit.

should i find and buy the cheapest thing on the site.....
if they are stolen would i get sent to prison for buying anything?
they could be fakes
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
*
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 3-June 06
  • Member No.: 41,899
They seem to have stolen the entire website format and reviews from Tiger Direct- some of the reviews even say TD in them!
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
***
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 29-December 05
  • Member No.: 18,792
Thanks people, now I am really sure it is fake. Besides if you go the the "secure" checkout there is still a http connection instead of a secure http connection.
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
Group Icon
  • Group: X Lab Developers
  • Posts: 863
  • Joined: 3-August 05
  • From: Orlando, FL (U.S.A.)
  • Member No.: 2,959
The biggest problem with the site. that to me indicates a fake, is how much they "oversell" themselves... The live "web cams" of their office?!? Come on! That just screams of trying to make themselves look legit when in fact they aren't.

Shame... those were good prices.

Actually this should be a give away too:

International Customers
Western Union Money Transfer (http://westernunion.com)

MobiTeh.co.uk currently ONLY accepts international payment via Western Union.
International credit cards and checks are not accepted.

Ahh western union.. the choice scammers world wide.
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
*
  • Group: Newbies
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 24-August 06
  • From: Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • Member No.: 52,580
Hi,

I think you should be very careful guys.
Here is another site looks exactly like mobiteh.co.uk and uses the same data and office camera.
I think it is scam so becareful.
http://eastelectronics.co.uk/
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
*
  • Group: Newbies
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 24-August 06
  • From: Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • Member No.: 52,580
Here where they get the live camera shots:
http://www.expansys.com/cam.asp

Take care
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
Group Icon
  • Group: X Lab Developers
  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: 22-April 06
  • Member No.: 35,733
http://www.mobiteh.co.uk/phone5.gif

http://images.tigerdirect.com/mastheadus/phone5.gif

They even stole the file names of tigerdirect..
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
*
  • Group: Newbies
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 30-August 06
  • Member No.: 53,502
[font=Arial Black][b]

I was on the site and was going to buy a canon eos 350d for €366, all i saw was the bargain. Luckily for me i dont have a credit card, so they asked for western union money transfer. But as soon as i clicked on the western union option, they gave me my confirmation details. Which made me a bit suspicious. So i did a bit of research and they used to go by the name dexdigital or something, it is a complete scam, utter and complete scam. If you have given them any money it is gone.

Spread the word.
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
Group Icon
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 3,708
  • Joined: 5-July 05
  • From: Chicago
  • Member No.: 4
Thanks for the info, Jovan.
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
*
  • Group: Newbies
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 30-August 06
  • Member No.: 53,555
Hi all,

Is there anybody who has experiences with MobiTeh, I mean who has actually ordered, payed and got someting (or nothing)??

Thanks.

Adam
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
Group Icon
  • Group: X Lab Developers
  • Posts: 1,425
  • Joined: 5-February 06
  • Member No.: 22,629
I found this

http://heim.ifi.uio.no/~gisle/blog/?p=62
PM Profile Card
Go to the top of the page
+ Quote Post
Reply to this topic Start new topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2010 - 02:16 PM